We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Design hotel with a few cut backs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Ranked #6 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Luneburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice Design hotel with a few cut backs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

We booked the resort because the reviews at tripadvisor are positive.
The hotel is directly at the beach. The colours of the hotel (grey and orange) are really nice integrated in nature. There are a lot of trees and flowers, creating the atmosphere being in a small resort, but actually it is a really big one. Our room was close to the pool. The infinity pool is fantastic. Not heated, but due to the black stones and the burning sun really warm. The pool bar is nice, but the sound of the mixer is really loud, especially if many people want shakes.
The staff is really friendly, but very loud. If you lay at the pool, you can here them talking so loud from the restaurants towards the bar. And they don't seem to care or realizing their loudness (talk from the desk at the restaurant towards the bar attendants).
The breakfast was ok. A variety of juices, coffee, tea and egg variations. The pineapple were very sour, but the watermelon sweet. You could eat fresh salad with different dressings and warm Asian food. There was also cereals available. We missed a second option of jam, cheese, and sliced cold meat. But to be fair, when we asked for cheese, they offered 2 slices.
The food in the restaurant throughout the day was good and big portions.
The beach is nice, no stones, shells or algae. Once, we had a little green snake in the pool 8-).
Unfortunately, nights are really loud as well. You can hear every word from outside the room and from your neighbours. Without ear plugs we woke up a couple of times at night, while people got back from partying at Haad Rin.
Last but not least we stayed the few days before fullmoon party determined by young people. Most of them arabic speaking. They also screamed in the pool, had their mobile phone on loud speakers, while talking, heard loud music and acted really impolite.
The double twin bed as the worst part of the stay, compared to all the other hotels on our trip. It was a thick mattress, but you could still feel the springs. We asked for a second layer to put on top of it, but unfortunately on our third night.
The staff at the reception is really friendly and tries to help.
We used the gym a several times. It is very good maintenanced and up to date.
The room is with A/C, water and towels are provided.
The next City is Haad Rin. It is a 15 minutes walk away. Very touristic, lots of young people and nice bars. We can highly recommend Monna Lisa. The best Italian restaurant with an Italian owner.
Resume: we were happy that our stay was over, after 4 nights. The hotel itself is really nice, but due to critical points named above we are not giving more than 3/5 and we are definitely not returning.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thanks for your feedback; the compliments as well as the couple of suggestions of where we can improve. We greatly appreciate that the resort and facilities were to your liking and that you found the service team friendly and helpful; this is what we hope is unique about our resort.

Part of creating this friendly atmosphere is to encourage our team to be chatty and approachable in order to create a slight buzz of friendly conversation in the public areas whilst maintaining a peaceful setting. It appears that during your stay that this has gone too far to the point where it has disrupted moments of relaxation. We have since passed your comments onto the restaurant team; particularly with respects to calling across to each other from the bar. Thanks for this feedback as it has helped the team be more aware.

Regarding the noise level of other guests we can only apologize on their behalf if they caused you any disturbance. We do control the noise and behavior of our guests for the benefit and feelings of all staying with us but I hope you appreciate that Full Moon Party periods bring a more livelier group of holiday makers. Those that join us are still relatively peaceful as they choose us so that they are close enough to the party events but far enough that after they can escape to peace and quiet. We do however recommend guests looking for 100% peace and quiet to come to Phangan outside of Full Moon as this is when the island returns to its natural state; becoming one of the most peaceful, relaxing islands in Thailand.

Finally regarding the problem you felt with your mattress it is unfortunate that you did not inform us of this problem immediately. We cannot service our guests fully or solve their problems if we do not know their issues. If we had have been informed on your first night then we could have acted on that first night. The same may be said for any night time disturbance from guests. We do have 2 security guards walking the grounds at night. Your noisy neighbors may have been silent when our guards have walked by but if you'd have called to reception from your in-room telephone then we could have spoken to these guests directly.

We hope that knowing this may put the view of your stay in a different light. If so and you do then reconsider to visit Phangan (not during a Full Moon period) then I hope that we can welcome you again.

Take care

Adam and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    203
    73
    11
    4
See reviews for
85
518
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Bottom line - we liked the place a lot!
Everything was super clean, brand new, and the staff were extremely helpful.

Location:
Note that I wouldn't consider that as a walking distance from the center of the Haad Rin, or its main party beach. however, the hotel was (relatively) isolated from all of the noise, thus supplying a very nice, and calming atmosphere.
Despite that - you're only 5 minutes of took took taxi drive away from the center (shouldn't cost more than 50-100 thb)

Staf:
Staff was super kind!
We had a confusion with our beds preferring and the staff did the maximum to help us and make sure we will be happy.
We also used them for recommendations and other small stuff.

Pool/beach :
Pool is amazing!
Literally on the beach, while having bar access from the pool itself.
Beach was relatively isolated, very quite and relaxing.

Food:
Kosher / vegetarian eaters wouldn't have too many option.
Me and my friend who doesn't eat kosher/vegetarian ate there almost every day.
I tried a lot of their vegetarian dishes, and frankly didn't like most of them. I think that eventually the thing I liked the most was there cheese and ham sandwich (ask them to make it "ham free"), and their onion rings which were delightful.
The waitress are very nice, forever it always took ages for the food to be served!

Cons / suggestion for improvement :
* it's but reasonable to serve the food after so many time.
* guests needs to get priority for the beach beds, as there aren't many beds, and often they were occupied by strangers walking on the beach.

Room Tip: Book one of the four upper floor beach side rooms and you won't regret it! Note that the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shishos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
I think that everything positive we're trying to offer and do for our Guests here has been picked up by you and your friends. Location, atmosphere, staff, pool and the beach !
It seems that there were one or too imperfections with the restaurant but the fact you guys "ate there almost every day" says that this too was generally to your liking :)

Thanks for your review and positive support !

All the team here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here for the half moon party in November 2013 and we couldnt have had more fun! Definitely wish we would have made our stay longer instead of jetting off to Phuket. Koh Phangan is so much more than a party island and there is so much more to explore! The hotel grounds and pool are absolutely breathtaking and literally steps from the beach. It was really nice to stay a little ways away from the parties at Hat Rin Beach. We spent all day at the pool/bar where the bartenders mixed amazing off the menu drinks and caught a beautiful sunset lounging on the beach. Rooms are very clean, very comfortable and spacious. Full bathroom amenities. Doors shut loudly though. Restaurant onsite is good, but not many options close by. Need to walk about 1 mile/15 min to Hat Rin.

Fully recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi Danielle & Co

As a long time resident of Koh Phangan it's heartwarming to hear people say that it is so much more than a party island and there is so much more to explore. It truly is and the world is starting to explore this beautiful island and I hope that resort's such as ours are helping to project KP in the right way adding to this paradise !

Thanks for appreciating our island and thanks for appreciating us :)

Adam and all of Koh Phangan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We originally booked 3 nights here, and ended up extending for a 4th after we realized how awesome this place was. The rooms are extremely clean and modern (they even have flat-screen TVs and HBO!), and the pool and beach are both great. The location itself also couldn't be better, as it's on the sunset side of Haad Rin, meaning that it was very quiet and somewhat secluded and yet not too far from any action. We were frankly surprised that the pool area was not completely overrun with partying farang in the evenings, so we had the pool area virtually to ourselves after 6pm. I also can't say enough about the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.

I would say that you'll pay a premium to eat and drink at the restaurant vs. other places on the beach, so be sure to explore options outside of the hotel if you're trying to save money. I'd also mention that this hotel attracts couples and groups in their mid-late 20s/early 30s (us), so if you have a family, this may not be the perfect place for you. Safe to say, if we ever go back to Koh Phangan, we'll be staying here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BudzBudz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hi Bud

Thanks for your 5's all round and of course taking the time to offer us your online support. It is particular fitting that you have give us the title of 'living up to the reviews' as in being lucky enough to have received such positive feedback and support to date also raises the expectations of our future guests and so it is great to know that we continue to meet people expectations and keep making people happy :)

Take care and we hope that you do indeed come back to Koh Phangan and to The COAST Resort

Adam and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here over new year and everything was perfect. The breakfast buffet, lunch, dinner, gym, pool, bar, room! Cannot rave about this place enough! All the staff are so lovely and very welcoming and helpful! Food from the restaurant was always great, quick service and so tasty! The cocktails served from the funky bar were lush and happy hour was the best.. The whole design is very modern. The rooms are all you would want with comfy beds and a lush bathroom. Very clean simple and modern. Try and get a room as close to the pool and beach as possible!

Room Tip: near the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Hey Charlie

Great hearing that you found "Paradise" here with us !

Thanks for sharing New Year's Eve with us and wish you all the best in 2014 as your support has helped us with a positive start to the year.

Take care
Adam and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 9 nights and each was more amazing than the one before. Such friendly staff serving you and ensuring your stay is excellent. Rooms are brand new with state of the art design. I love this hotel and recommend EVERYONE going to Koh Phangan to stay there. Worth every penny!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmed10nir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Ahmed

"Wow" must also be said about your review; all positives and seems that we gave you such a great feeling ! We're proud to have done so :)

Thanks for your recommendation to "EVERYONE" and we hope you take your own advice and join us again next time you visit our beautiful island.

Everyone of us here at The COAST Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Coast truly exceeded our expectations! We are not into the crazy party scene but wanted a fun place to spend a few days over Christmas and my husband's birthday. The Coast was perfect; lively, fun pool area but not so crazy that you can't relax in a sun chair. Our room was quite comfortable with a large bed and good hot water pressure, and fast, free wifi. The fitness room is clean and the machines work well. The restaurant food is very good, both for dinner and the buffet breakfast. Every request was met with a smile and the staff went out of their way to take care of us. The shuttle picked us up on time at the Thong Sala pier and we took the free shuttle for our return trip from Haad Rin pier. If you have the choice, Haad Rin pier is closer. You can rent motorbikes and have laundry done right across the street, the owner is lovely. We wanted to stay longer and would highly recommend The Coast!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elbrew24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Erin and Merreck

Firstly may I thank you for choosing us to help you celebrate not only Christmas but Merreck's Birthday as well. We're so happy to hear that we didn't let you down but in fact we exceeded your expectations.

Secondly thanks for your positive comments regarding all our facilities and services and especially for your appreciation that our team are willing to go out of their way to take care of our guests; I hope that the smiles show that we're genuinely happy to do so.

Finally thank you for taking the time to give us your support. Such vocal online support proves to us that we're doing right in taking care of people and keeps us smiling.

Cheers from myself and all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
2.9 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#9 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#25 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
6.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
7.2 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan

Property: The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Address: 117/21 Moo 6, Ban Tai | Haad Rin Nai (Sunset Beach), Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contact us direct for the best rates available. Stylish and contemporary, our design is based on outdoor living bringing Koh Phangan's picturesque sunset beach and the tropical atmosphere into our resort, making it a special place for everyone to relax, enjoy and remember.Retreat to the peace and relaxation of our Sunset Beach after enjoying the island's colorful nightlife.Be our guest, make friends and experience the unique island of Koh Phangan with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing