We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great design, some hick-ups on service and room layout”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Ranked #6 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Great design, some hick-ups on service and room layout”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent here one week in April 2013 & were happy overall with our choice. If possible we would give 3.5 stars. For a place aspiring to set itself apart from other resorts on the island we have some comments however.

First what we liked:

- beautiful, puristic design of the hotel, including outside areas. Buildings, plants, lighting, colours are all perfectly matched

- outstanding swimming pool / bar right on the beach. Perfect place for a lazy day which makes you think twice whether you really want to go anywhere else on the island

- good gym room

And for our critical remarks:

- missing storage place for luggage and clothes. In a hotel like this I don't want to look at my backpack standing in the corner for a week

- same thing in the bathroom, way too little place to put cosmetics, toothbrush, towels, so you are constantly fighting chaos :)

- When we arrived we liked the floor to ceiling windows a lot. However, during our stay the lower half was covered with a semi-transparent film, apparently for 'privacy' reasons. For us, it somewhat destroyed the airy feeling of the room.

- During our stay the hotel was quite empty so noise was not a big issue. The room doors, however, have very poor sound insulation.

- The aircon was placed so it was blowing directly on our bed, also we found it hard to set it properly, so our room would neither turn into a fridge nor a sauna. Perhaps coming from cold northern Europe we are not professionals dealing with these things :)

- Service: most of the staff are friendly, however English is often an issue. Also we did not have the impression that staff receive much basic professional training. Barman having to check what his cocktails are made from, cups and glasses at the pool not getting cleared away for a long time, staff at breakfast sometimes seemed to be somehow frightened when you talk to them. Room service was impeccable, though.

- Compared to our experience at other hotels in Thailand, breakfast is mediocre, not much on offer beyond white toast, muesli, some fruit and eggs in different variations. We need to have our cholesterol checked after this stay :)

- The hotel restaurant in principle also does lunches and dinners, however this service was practically in come while we stayed at the Coast. To even see the menu you have to explicitly ask for it at the restaurant counter. In any case the restaurant looked so dead that we never considere eating there for lunch/dinner.

So, to sum it up once again, a beautiful hotel that does not quite fulfil its potential.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KonstantinBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Konstantin thanks for the feedback and the suggestions for improvement. We’ve already acted on the storage suggestions for the bathroom by adding shelf space there but we feel that a second wardrobe within the room would be excessive. Regarding the semi-transparent film used to half-covered the windows this is from months of collected and reviewed feedback from guests and so our solution allows light to enter the full height of the room and affords you privacy while you relax in bed. Unfortunately the aircon issue is easily resolved by using the aircon remote-control to set the temperature, fan speed and fan direction as well as many other different modes and features offered by our ac system. I advise in future if you ever have any such issues then call to reception from your in-room phone and ask for assistance; I’m sure that wherever you’re staying the staff-team will be happy to help, for sure our team are. As for your comments relating to service at the restaurant I’ve used your review as a case study to our team that they cannot let their standards drop for even a moment as without knowing it they can really affect the feeling and experience of guests; so we’re training them to always be mindful. We’ve also taken on board your comments and made our breakfast more varied; including adding wholemeal bread and a wider selection of fruit. Thanks for the review and we’ll ask TA if they can add an extra half-star to our scoring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    203
    73
    11
    4
See reviews for
85
518
44
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed for 6 days at The Coast Resort. The Villa 1 was stunning. Modern Lounge Style Rooms with superb beds. Great view over the pool, the secluded beach and the sunsets. You can even watch it from your bed! The breakfast every morning was full of fresh fruits, Müsli and you could order egg and any extras you need - just sit back and enjoy the place. It's a 10min walk to the main party fullmoon beach Haadrin. So this place it perfect to relax or chill at the pool bar escaping all the mad party people over at Haadrin. And if you want action you simply walk down to Haadrin.
We really loved the huge palm trees surrounding the pool. Especially watching the sun set with a cocktail and all the reflections right from the pool bar. Looking forward to come back soon!

Room Tip: Villa 1 is worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Nils & Co.
Thank you so much for your support and kind words; and for the 5/5 rating for all areas. You've made us a proud team knowing that we gave you and your friends a perfect stay.
Hope you had a great time in Kanchanaburi too and got some more great shots.
I believe you'll be back with us in about 3 months so let us know and we'll make sure that the Villa's reserved and prepared for your return in the summer!
Take care and please pass on my thanks and regards to the rest of the guys and girls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed in a deluxe pool view for three nights in April and had a great time. The hotel is very relaxing and a great place to recharge. The rooms are brand new and have a very comfortable bed, nice flat screen tv with English channels, and wifi (had a very weak signal in my room though). I would highly recommend the pool view room as it had its own nice little deck that had a great view of the pool area and the beach. The location of the hotel was not too bad. It’s about a 15 minute walk to haad rin which is fine when its dusk or dark but during the day the sun was so bright and it was so hot that it’s almost unbearable. My only complaints about the hotel were the beach and the a/c. The beach was not very nice and hurt to walk on it with bare feet. They also have a nice storm drain and drain from the restaurant that empties out onto the beach and was pretty disgusting when we saw water flowing out of it. It’s a good thing that they have a really nice pool. The a/c worked very well but the digital screen on the unit inside the room was very bright and would light up the room at night. I had to put my shirt over it to get the room dark. Nevertheless, the coast is probably one of the best hotels on Koh Phangan and I would stay there again and recommend it to friends....I just wish the beach was better and then it might be perfect.

Room Tip: Get a pool view or sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerNYC123j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Mr. Martin, thanks for your positive and detailed review; in return I’d like to give you a detailed response with reassurances for the issues mentioned so that you may be more comfortable for your next stay. I’d like to first respond to your thought that we were pumping waste-water into the sea and at the beach; this pipe is actually a storm drain so empties only rainwater into the sea. We are environmentally conscious here even down to our biodegradable bathroom amenities and so we have invested over 3 million THB in our own underground waste-water treatment plant (300m inland from the beach and resort) where we treat all our restaurant and resort waste-water to approved levels before releasing it underground to support the areas natural vegetation. We trust that this information gives you a much better feeling.
For the WiFi we actually pride ourselves on providing one of the most stable systems on the island, we regret that you experienced a weak signal in your room and if we’d have been informed during your stay then we could have resolved this for you. We’ve since checked the signal strength for your room and have made the necessary adjustments to the transmitter so next time you stay you’ll have better a connection. Finally for the AC light issue unfortunately this may have been missed when we guided you to your room as we normally inform our guests of key features available with the AC Control one being the “Light” button which switches off the digital light on the unit whilst the AC continues to run. Despite these few areas of misunderstanding and miscommunication we’re happy that you we’re happy to hear that you had a great time and that you’d join us again. We’d be very happy to welcome you back and would show our thanks for your support here on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel is new, nice, modern, clean, and simple with very friendly staff. Adam was a great help and will go above and beyond to ensure you have a nice stay. The sunsets from the infinity pool are beautiful and the food at the hotel is great. The hotel is only a ten minute walk to town and Haad Rin beach. Adam recommended a tour company to take us to Ang Thong Marine National Park which was so nice! There were only 5 of us on small speedboat and after the Thale Nai lake stop, we had lunch on the beach where we were the only ones there. This is rare in Thailand as many places seemed to have multiple tour companies at one beach. I also took tours from Ko Samui where they pack 25 people on a large speedboat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTtravels8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
"Frank Llyod Wright" the owners (also being the architects) will be pleased with such a distinguished comparison just as I am pleased with the kind recognition you have given to myself and the team in going above and beyond what you would usually expect. It's certainly our goal here and we recruit all our team with this mindset. We want to help our guests to fall in love with Thailand, Koh Phangan .... and of course The COAST Resort :) Happy that we succeeded in this and thanks so much for your support !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week here when we were in ko phanghan for the full moon and it was perfect, with a great location only 5 mins walk to haad rin beach but far enough to escape the madness.

The rooms were spotlessly clean and tidy and hotel facilities were brilliant with a gym, shop, amazing swimming pool, bar and resturant.

We ate at the resturant one of the nights and would definitely recommend the massaman curry as it was delicious.

The hotel has a wicked vibe and the atmosphere the day of the full moon was great with a dj and a chilled party atmosphere. We would definitely stay here if we came again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarmadukeMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Marmaduke Mar firstly may I thank you for your support and 5/5 review across the board as well as your kind words. Secondly I would like to ask you to please contact us directly so we know who to show our thanks to personally as I cannot solve the puzzle of the alias :) Glad we ticked all of the boxes for you and hope its enough to see you again at The COAST Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

i could write an essay on how good this place is!

we stayed for 4 nights during full moon. The staff, the people, the atmosphere was just perfect - paradice!

the hotel is on the sunset beach and around a 15 minute walk from had rin and the full moon party. The beach is pretty empty which makes it brilliant and the view from the best infinity pool i've ever swam in was immense. They play some excellent chill out music until around 3-4pm when they crank it up a bit, nothing offensive on the ears but just the right blend. Around this time the pool area was at it's busiest and the atmosphere was 10/10, everyone seemed to make friends instantly and on full moon night most stayed in the pool until 7ish.

food was brilliant and drinks were lovely, more expensive than other areas but we expected this!

rooms were modern and very clean and wifi was very good. the whole area, the gardens and beach infront of the hotel were clean and neat.

staff helpful, i like the mix of thais and western staff and looks like they all get on.

finally the facebook page has some awesome pictures and one i'll never forget :)

if you're travelling or flash packing and don't mind spending a bit more i would recommend this place every day of the week!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 488BenH488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi Ben I'm guessing that the sunset in the background isn't the only reason you wont forget that picture on our Friends-Of The-Coast Facebook page ;) Anyway thanks for joining us on there and for contributing with your comments and of course thanks so much for your support here on Trip Advisor. Seems like we got everything just right for you so we hope to see you back for another stay with us. Take care and keep posted to our FB page for uploads of our live DJ sets from our Sunset Sessions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Wow, great service, AMAZING DJ and the SUNSETS... the Party Sexy mood at the pool every sunset...WOW... the definetly know what they are doing, the location is Great and the Hotel stands out... the only problem is that it does not have room service (Cant understand why)...other that is EXCELLENT and the best choice in Pagan

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliette f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamBoulton, General Manager at The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hey Juliette great to hear that you loved our Sunset Sessions. We like to create the perfect atmosphere to warm up for the island's key events. Regarding the room service, although we have created are rooms to be as comfortable as possible our resort concept is to try to get our guests from out of their rooms into the fresh air and to join each other beach-front and poolside; we hope that this will create a better atmosphere and experience at The COAST Resort and we hope that you felt this unique atmosphere when you were with us. But as with all things we are continuously reviewing our facilities and our services to continuously improve and ensure that we give our guests what they want; so thanks for this comment and we'll keep it in mind along with other guest requests. Regardless, it sounds like you had a "Excellent" time here and were more than happy to know this. Thanks for your support and hope to see you back here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
2.9 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#9 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#25 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
6.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
7.2 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan

Property: The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Address: 117/21 Moo 6, Ban Tai | Haad Rin Nai (Sunset Beach), Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contact us direct for the best rates available. Stylish and contemporary, our design is based on outdoor living bringing Koh Phangan's picturesque sunset beach and the tropical atmosphere into our resort, making it a special place for everyone to relax, enjoy and remember.Retreat to the peace and relaxation of our Sunset Beach after enjoying the island's colorful nightlife.Be our guest, make friends and experience the unique island of Koh Phangan with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing