We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here, great staff, party's, great pool bar, fun times!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda Backpackers
Sheffield
1 review
“Stay here, great staff, party's, great pool bar, fun times!!!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed here for the full moon party. The staff were excellent, and English speaking. They offered great advice and really knew what they were talking about. They also sold us tickets for the jungle party do we didn't have to queue up. and organised a taxi to the full moon party.
Special thanks to 'dribbles' who went out of his way to make sure we had a great time. He made me feel Really welcome and had tips and advice for the jungle n full moon party which ate worth listening too. He also sorted out my transfers and resorts and trips for my last week in Thailand.
The pool bar always had a dj and a great party vibe every night with friendly bar staff. It's Really easy to make friends with other backpackers at pool bar and in the dorms.
The dorms were secure comfy, and had lockers in. Overall I really recommend this place!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattburden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hi Matt
Many thanks for your compliments and also taking the time to write such a good review. It was a great pleasure having you as a guest. We love it when guests soak up all this amazing island has to offer. Again, whooping positive expletive roars and "high fives" all around from Dribbles when he saw your review..
Thanks again.
David D,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    17
    10
    10
    16
See reviews for
Families
0
25
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Had a fantastic week at the Backpackers! My gf and I stayed in a double room which was very good value especially with access to the resort facilities! Staff were happy to help with Dribbles at the travel desk in particular making our stay awesome!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jono S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hey Guy's
It was a real pleasure having you here over the Full Moon, always smiling and happy, taking full advantage of the sometimes crazy nightlife. Dribbles had a fantastic time with you also. We would welcome you back anytime.
Cheers again.
David D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Great times are to be had at the hacienda. Anything from great nights out, to amazing day trips around the island all coordinated by the staff (an excellent group of people). It's Close enough to the nightlife that it is easily accessible but far enough away that you can have a nice nights sleep. Great food, nice pool, and so on and so forth. Extra special thanks to Dribbles for some great times!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hello mate,
Thank you for the glowing review, you are a champion ! You came here for two days and stayed for nearly three weeks, you cracked me up laughing every day with your phrase " can I stay just one more day". It was a real pleasure having you here and the communal area just didn't seem the same without you for a while after you left. I'm sure you can imagine Dribbles response when he saw his name on your review. We all hope to see you again soon.
Sincere thanks.
David D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Great service from all the team at hacienda backpackers, they all went above and beyond their jobs. The rooms were great couldn't have asked for anything else, will definitely go back! And a special mention to Dribbles who organised our transfers accommodations and activities, he i awesome :)

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amelia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hi Amelia
Thank you very much for your compliments on our facilities and service. It was our pleasure having you as our guest. Dribbles "hit the roof" when he saw his name mentioned. We can't wait to welcome you back.
Thanks again.
David D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I told the guy from reception if anyone will be there to give me back my passport the next day at 6:00 am, he said yes, for sure!
I waited from 6:00 to 7:13 am (my boat, was leaving the island at 7:00am). So I lost the boat and I had to take the next one at 12:30pm, I lost all day because the guy from the reception did not wake up.
Also the opossite side of the road there is a bar with live music every night, so I am not going there again, for sure!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Carles Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hello Carles.
Again, I sincerely apologize about this incident. If you ever find yourself in this part of S.E. Asia again, we would be more than happy to compensate you for your loss of time. New procedures are now in place to ensure this never happens again.
The Kareoke bar you mentioned regarding the late night music is no longer there.
Sincerely.
David D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matane, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Sweet and helpfull staff, nice spot, nice food and awesome scuba diving courses !!Many Facilities close to the hacienda, local people around are friendly and night market not too far, easy to take a roundtrip ride to go to the full moon party.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PamArcand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hi Pam.
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It's great when guests take full advantage of all of our services as you did by getting your P.A.D.I. Open Water Diving License, congratulations again. We would love to welcome you back any time. Maybe next time you will see a Whale Shark !
Thanks again.
David D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nice and friendly staff, especially Paul (the most awesome manager/receptionist from Hacienda). Great beds w/ ac and hot showers for a super reasonable-overly-cheap price, and nice to be able to use the resort facilities, pool and bar, etc. One piece of advice: the bar across the backpackers are quite loud at night, singing thai pop songs till 2am, so bring your ear plugs!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hi Michelle.
A very nice review, thank you for taking the time to do so. Paul was especially happy with your comments. We would love to welcome you back any time.
Great news; the bar across the road has closed down, so no more late night music!!
Many thanks.
David D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
2.6 mi away
Infinity Beach Club
Infinity Beach Club
#71 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bunk Up Hacienda
Bunk Up Hacienda
#118 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nidhra Boutique Resort
The Nidhra Boutique Resort
#16 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Resort Hacienda
Beach Resort Hacienda
#85 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Toelzer Huette Gaestehaus
Toelzer Huette Gaestehaus
#88 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Boutique Hostel
Red Boutique Hostel
#48 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Backpackers

Property: Hacienda Backpackers
Address: 99/39 Moo 1 | Ban Tai Road, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 362 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hacienda Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers Hacienda is a well established, safe and secure friendly western managed hostel. With five room types to choose from we can cater to everyone's taste and budget. Located in the heart of Koh Phangan, we are just a short walk from the town center yet still close to the beach. Centrally positioned between all of the best parties, we are about 15 minutes by taxi to the world famous Full Moon Party and less than ten minutes to all the other major parties (Half Moon, Black Moon, Jungle Experience). Everyone staying at Backpackers Hacienda Koh Phangan has full use of all the facilities at Beach Resort Hacienda which is only a two minute walk away. Here customers have access to the beach, swimming pool with pool bar, free fitness center, free use of kayaks, free pool table, as well as a gourmet restaurant, travel agency, motorbike and car rentals, scuba diving and much much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hacienda Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing