We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hostel on the island!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
1 review
“Very nice hostel on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nice and friendly staff, especially Paul (the most awesome manager/receptionist from Hacienda). Great beds w/ ac and hot showers for a super reasonable-overly-cheap price, and nice to be able to use the resort facilities, pool and bar, etc. One piece of advice: the bar across the backpackers are quite loud at night, singing thai pop songs till 2am, so bring your ear plugs!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hi Michelle.
A very nice review, thank you for taking the time to do so. Paul was especially happy with your comments. We would love to welcome you back any time.
Great news; the bar across the road has closed down, so no more late night music!!
Many thanks.
David D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    17
    9
    10
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
25
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

For 100B a night, we were expecting cockroach infested rooms and brown water in the taps but it was quite on the contrary.

Pros:
-Cheap. 100B a night for dorm room.
-Comfy beds and bedding
-Clean rooms
-Can use resort facilities (pool, gym etc)

Cons:
-Right by main road so noisy if you're on the North side of the building - like me!

Would happily stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tom982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hi Tom
Short, sweet and to the point. We appreatiate you taking the time for the good review.
We rarely get complaints about the road noise / traffic but if and when we do, we will happily move any guests ( space permitting ) to a different room.
Many thanks
David D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

PROS:
-Close to beach but not too close (set back from the parties / noise)
-Quieter and more secure than the resort
-Good AC in the private rooms
-decently large private rooms
-fridge (but it turns off when you leave the room..)
-helpful manager (but he seemed pretty condescending at times.. possibly just his way.. and the staff aren't so great)
-organized parties at the resort and organized transport to big parties (jungle party / full moon party etc)
-good wifi
-close to a few good restaurants (best were @Milk for pastries, small meals and awesome fruit shakes w great service and Ando Loco which is a fantastic mexican restaurant) and a 7-11
-pool at the resort is nice and has a nice view out over the beach
-the bartenders (Jess and Ally, if they're still there) were really awesome!
-All you can drink / eat party was great value for the drinks but you can avoid the food part.. the buffet was LAME. (just opt for the all you can drink only)
-they pick you up from the ferry
-have a small outdoor gym

CONS
-no real security on the premises (doors lock and can put a padlock on the door as well but the doors are pretty thin / easy to break and anyone can walk into the building)
-not much going on in the area other than parties AT the resort
-bit of a sketchy walk to the resort at night
-food / drinks REALLY overpriced at the resort
-the water in the bathroom smelled awful (kinda nasty to shower in stinky water)
-one of our windows was right in the stairwell, and the other faced a hallway so we had to keep the curtains closed at all times.. kinda odd
-staff at the restaurant / bar are really inattentive
-no safe in the rooms, only small lockers at the reception desk (no way to get in after hours so if you need your stuff, too bad.. or you have to leave it in the lockers at the main resort)
-mattress is covered w a leather casing but there's no mattress pad between that and your thin sheet (feels weird)

Room Tip: Stay at backpackers, not the resort as it's quieter and safer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JALD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Jald,
Thank you for your good review, easily the most opinionated and detailed I have ever seen. We appreciate constructive criticism as this helps us to improve our operations.
The Hotel is on the main road and all of the building is well lit at night. The doors are very strong and are made of solid wood. Breaking one of these would wake the whole place up.
There is no history of any break-ins at this property.
There are so many things to do in the area, even a very busy and popular night market.
The sketchy walk you refered to is now completely lit at night.
Food and drinks are always more expensive at resorts however you were staying at the Backpackers hotel with our attached restaurant with some of the best value food and drinks in the area.
Had you of notified reception of your water problem, we would of rectified the issue.
There are now 24 hour lockers available.
Thank you for your review. David D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for full moon in April 2013, I stayed in the all girls dorm which doesn't have bunk beds (like other dorms to in thus hostel) but individual cubicles with own light, sockets and self. It was very clean when we arrived however they didn't clean it whilst I was there (5 nights). The staff very helpful and friendly. I also found it easy to get to know other guest and we have plans to meet up. Over all a good friendly clean hostel would stay again. Although its 100bht each way to full moon party.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula280986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hi Paula,
Thank you for the compliments and the review. We love to hear our guests had a great time socializing and partying together.
Customer feedback benifits both parties and we have since changed our room cleaning policies.
Hope to see you back again some day.
Many thanks.
David D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Arrived at koh phangan and was suggested this hotel. Firstly the guy wanted to keep our passports. A photocopy would have been sufficient. The room was fairly basic and you got what you paid for. The staff were not helpful at all. The next day when checking out, the receptionist attempted to charge me for a missing towel. That was there the whole time. The only good thing about the hotel was the actual other hotel joined to it down the lane, where it had a great pool, and a lovely bar area to chill.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garbolives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hello Garbolives,
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
It is quite typical for resorts and hotels on Koh Phangan to hold a passport for safe keeping and as a security deposit.
You were a group of four with two rooms and four towels. When the first room was inspected there was only one towel. When the second room was inspected there were two towels. One of your group left the missing towel in the second room out of immidiate sight. Had we known that you were sharing the rooms and facilities we would have done a more thorough inspection, we didn't hence the hic-cup at reception which was easily resolved.
David D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Unlike the previous review, the reception was almost omnipresent even for late hours, the staff is lovely, adorable actually.
I stayed in hacienda more time than I did on anywhere else in the island.
The location is in between the chaos of Haad rin and the calm area.
It's just a walking distance from Baan tai pubs with a wide range of good restaurants just nearby, or a 10 minutes walk towards the food market.
The reception can as well be a handfull of informations with recommendations of places to go to, and since your passport is already with them you might as well rent a bike from there which would be an easier way to go around the island.
The resort's beach and pool are couple of minutes away by feet.
If you have a party you intend on going to, you can also buy it ahead at the reception rather than waiting in line at the party.

It's an unforgettable ambiance with lovely positive vibes.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShantiSapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Backpackers, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi ShantiSapan,
Thank you very much for what can only be called an excellant review.. The whole team really does appreciate you taking a little time to make us feel proud of our efforts.Come back and see us anytime and the first beer is on me.
David D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Bunk Up Hacienda
Bunk Up Hacienda
#110 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Midnight
Blue Midnight
#53 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Indy Home Cafe
Indy Home Cafe
#41 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach Resort Hacienda
Beach Resort Hacienda
#80 of 129 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Four Resort
The Four Resort
#104 of 129 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.4 mi away
West Side Story
West Side Story
#47 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Backpackers

Property: Hacienda Backpackers
Address: 99/39 Moo 1 | Ban Tai Road, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 354 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hacienda Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers Hacienda is a well established, safe and secure friendly western managed hostel. With five room types to choose from we can cater to everyone's taste and budget. Located in the heart of Koh Phangan, we are just a short walk from the town center yet still close to the beach. Centrally positioned between all of the best parties, we are about 15 minutes by taxi to the world famous Full Moon Party and less than ten minutes to all the other major parties (Half Moon, Black Moon, Jungle Experience). Everyone staying at Backpackers Hacienda Koh Phangan has full use of all the facilities at Beach Resort Hacienda which is only a two minute walk away. Here customers have access to the beach, swimming pool with pool bar, free fitness center, free use of kayaks, free pool table, as well as a gourmet restaurant, travel agency, motorbike and car rentals, scuba diving and much much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hacienda Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing