We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good experience”
Review of Sweet Cafe

Sweet Cafe
Ranked #184 of 399 Restaurants in Ko Pha Ngan
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: European, German
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not good experience”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Common atmosphere is terrible. They asked to remove bottle of water we bringed with. They afraid we will drink not theys own water! Also a lot of flies there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergei D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    16
    4
    2
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, coffee and hosts!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I popped into Sweet cafe by accident, as I was next door in the travel office. I was glad I did!

They do amazing German meatballs (didnt expect that on Ko Phangan!) as well as delicious coffee/shakes and Brownies.

The owner Irene, is a lovely lady and I spent a while chatting with her. Sabine is also really nice and both gave some god advice on the island and surrounding area.

The location is good, as its right next to the port and I waited here for my ferry to arrive.

I will most certainly return when I come back to Ko Phangan in October.

Keep up the good work! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ispoono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not again better at Nira's bakery”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We hear lots about this place, mostly good words, so we decide to try it one morning.
But never again was our conclusion we will stick with Nira's bakery. We find the German lady is loud, obnoxious and very in your face! We order our meal and only get one fruit shake at the time 15 min apart we oder only 2 then 45 min later we decided that it was too long for a pancake, so we paid for the shakes. The German lady tried to blam us that that we should tell her we had to catch our ferry (we went in 9.45am boat leaves 11am) then we said to her but the big group of 6 came after us got served first?!

Tip.. If you must eat here make sure you know which table ordered before you otherwise she would make it your fault! And you must have load of time waiting for your meal.

We read bad reviews about this place afterward and agree with them mostly!

Helpful?
Thank Mint D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Soothing!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

A Great Little sanctuary close to the Pier yet far enough away to chillll! Good Food & clean - fast Internet!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Do not eat here!!!!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I used to live in Phangan for over 3 years,so I visited this place numerous times. Its always been a 'very' expensive place to eat. However recently I returned to Phangan, and unfortunately visited this 'restaurant?' again. From the get go the staff were rude and ignorant, then the female German owner joined in, despite the fact we were sat on the outside table, in 40c heat, the owner approached us and very abruptly demanded that my younger brother put a shirt on. This I could understand if we were in an a la carte restaurant, but this is cafe! Next we placed our orders for various breakfast type meals. Out of 6 meals ordered only 3 and a half were delivered, after a long wait. What was described in the menu as a 'Dutch Breakfast' is actually a small sandwich, on white sliced bread bought from Tesco, with a sliver of ham and an egg. My Wife's continental breakfast was only half delivered and 2 other meals were never seen. I eventually approached the owner and told her what I thought of her service, the quality of her food, and the wholly inappropriate pricing, and the fact that she's been charging these ridiculous prices for years. Her reply? This is a restaurant, things go wrong?? Sorry but you employ waiters to take orders from customers, then deliver these to the kitchen, who prepare them, and then its back to the waiters to deliver the food. I know I've over simplified this, but should it be that difficult?? Please, please, please save your time and effort and more importantly DO NOT GO TO THIS CAFE.....its just not good and the owner obviously has no idea how to run a cafe.....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Cafe also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Sweet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing