We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Colchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at Kupu Kupu for one night earlier this month. We had decided to treat ourselves on the last night of our stay on Phangan. I highly recommend this hotel - we have stayed at Kupu Kupu In Bali too, and both hotels have the same excellent service, food and attention to detail.
Our room was spacious and very comfortable.
We turned up at reception at 8am, without a reservation. The ladies didn't bat an eyelid, and had a room ready and a cot for my toddler in no time at all.
There was a private plunge pool and the swimming pool was only a few steps away. The restaurant was excellent (we only tried their breakfast though), and the service extremely efficient and polite.
This is a small resort, but worth a visit if you want luxury, quiet and to be looked after properly. My only suggestion would be for more lights in the bungalows, as they were quite dark at night, which made packing difficult.
This stay made a lovely ending to our holiday and I would recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: We enjoyed a bungalow looking onto the pool. Really excellent bed and blackout blinds made for a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerryColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear BerryColchester,

Thanks for such a great comment. Walk-in guests are always welcome at Kupu Kupu and we are glad you felt a consistency in service and product as your last visit in our sister property in Bali.

You comment about the light has been took into consideration as our team of engineers have added extra spotlight for a better ambiance at night in the villa.

We thank you again for you stay in our resort and hope to see you again soon for a future visit in Phangan.

Regards

Fabrice
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    116
    40
    7
    8
See reviews for
102
373
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed at Kupu Kupu for 3 nights and booked a sea view villa for our time in Koh Phangan for the Full Moon Party. It was definitely the right decision to stay further away from Haad Rin where the party was held as it is very busy and noisy! the taxi to Haad Rin is around 20 minutes and is 200 bht per person each way.

We enjoyed the tranquilness and the villas are built using wood which looked perfect in the area as it is full of coconut and palm trees. As its in the wild there were lots of wildlife such as birds, butterflies and you can here the crickets in the evening. One piece of advice is do not eat in the villa as we had quite a few ants with opened packets of food but it was no big deal. You expect to see that in the tropics so all you need to do is just eat your food outside and bin them straight away!

We loved our private plunge pool and spent most of the time there! The private beach is not really that great for swimming as the water is not that clear and there are quite a lot of seaweed however, the hotel pool is amazing with lots of lounges and they even had lounges that were in water! The tide was really low one day and managed to see lots of sea urchins and some amazing coloured seashells!

The food at the restaurant was amazing and very reasonably priced. The breakfast menu was extensive and had some great dishes including fruit platter and hot/ cold items (see photo for the menu). Joe at the bar makes amazing cocktails and he also gave us information about the island. There's happy hour 2 for 1 cocktails from 5-7pm!

We booked our transfer from Koh Samui to Koh Phangan through the reception of Kupu Kupu. It was 1000 bht per person which included taxi from koh samui hotel to ferry, the ferry ticket and also the taxi from ferry port to Kupu Kupu. Yes you can get it a little cheaper if you book it yourself but the price difference was not huge and it just makes your life a lot easier when you have luggages etc!

We are missing Kupu Kupu and would definitely recommend it! Really looking forward to our next stay there!

Room Tip: go for ones with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear poppy425,

Thanks for such a nice and extended comment about your stay!

We are sincerely glad you enjoy being among us. From the check in to the restaurant, passing by the product, we are glad we reach your high standards of holidays.

Our team work hard to provide the best service and we are glad you enjoy it.

We thank you again for your comment and we hope to see you again in a very close future in our resort.

Regards

Fabrice
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The resort was great. The restaurant had amazing food, the staff were very friendly and they organised scooters for us (100baht more than in town but no risk of being scammed). The views were fantastic, the happy hour 5-7pm (half price) cocktails has us running for the sunset bar. The pool was one of the best on our trip, but I have to say the best experience overall was the amazing service from the local waiters at the restaurant who were the best. The only negative thing about this resort is the air conditioning. We were in the apartment which is three bedroom and only 1 room was cool enough to comfortably sleep in. Other guests had the same issue regarding the heat and trying to sleep each night. Thanks Kupu Kupu for a great end to our holiday, well be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank witwicky87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear witwicky87,

Thanks for such a great comment about your stay. Our service and staff are our main area of focus and providing to the guest the best experience possible is our daily objective. We are glad you recognize it and the most important, you enjoyed it!

Regarding the air conditioning, the resort is currently updating the different units in order to provide fresh air in our villas and a better stay to all our guests.

Looking forward to welcome you for your next trip, we thank you again for your comment.

Fabrice
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great overall experience in a luxury pool villa resort. The staff were polite and always ready to help. Great pool and the room itself was good but was too darkly lit at night. The AC units were unable to sufficiently cool the room in the sunset pool villa so after a lot of complaining and checking out other villas, was offered an upgrade to a seaview villa. The AC in this villa was great and the pool was even better. The view of the ocean was breathtaking and the sunsets were beautiful. The breakfast was good but the dinner was fantastic; one of the best steaks I've ever had. The Tom Yum Kung soup was outstanding as well. This is definitely the resort to stay at if you want a bit of luxury on Koh Phangan without being stuck way out in Thong Nai Pan.

Room Tip: Get the seaview or beachfront villa....the rooms are essentially the same but the pools are much big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Steve L,

Thanks for your feedback about your holydays in our resort. We sincerely appreciate your feedback about the quality of our cuisine and service, as our Chef Bruno strive for the best in making European and Asian food.

When it comes to the air conditioning in our villa, most of our villas are made in 90% wood, making the villa itself more natural, and in the same time less insulated. Our high ceiling of 6 meters up, are as well another factor. However, are villa are cooled as per standards in our industry, but our resort being eco-friendly, we do not want to provide over cold temperature inside the villa wile outside it is a tropical paradise. Power consumption and Eco impact are a major concern for us.

In all the case we understand your issue, and we take not of it. We are however happy that you find the deluxe beach front perfect to end your holiday with us.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you soon for your next holiday trip in Koh Phangan.

Regards

Fabrice
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed two nights at Kupu Kupu had the best time ever on Koh Phangan! Got an upgrade with villa on the beach and private swimming pool. The service was excellent especially Joe in the bar who gave us some great advice. The place is incredible, really really special. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Sinken,

Thank you for your very nice feedback for your stay in our resort. We will pass on your comment to Joe our bar supervisor.

We are glad our resort satisfy all your stay requirements and we hope to see you soon for your next visit in Koh Phangan.

Regards

Fabrice
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

this is an amazing hotel, the rooms are beautiful, the location is sensational, the restaurant is extremely picturesque and a nice change from the local thai places (which I love). the pool area is very very nice. however on asking for a transfer to the ferry, ferry tickets and a private taxi to a hotel, which I was assured they were not taking any commission on we were ripped off by being overcharged and not given a private taxi. the journey which we should have been charged 1200 baht due to a shared taxi was charged at 2000 baht.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Graig B,

Thank you to share your comment about your stay in our resort. We are glad our resort setup and restaurant atmospher satisfied your high expectations.

When it comes to the transfer, you asked us to book a ferry transfer for you. Our reception team did inform you about the price and the fact that this price was per person.
We never book a ticket without guest permission and information before proceeding. As you accept the charge, we did the booking for you.
When it come to the rate, the rate of ferry transfer are commisionable as we provide this service.

We do apologize about this minor incident in your stay.

We wish to see you back during your next stay in Koh Phangan.

Fabrice
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here for our Honeymoon at the end of March through to the beginning of April. After a mess-up with the airline, we couldn't have wished for any better after being blown away by the beauty of the resort. The mess-up also meant 4 extra nights here! First impressions were very good, everything well maintained with a very quiet, peaceful setting which is exactly what we wanted.

The villas are very spacious and tastefully decorated. The only issue we encountered was a faulty DVD player, but this was swiftly replaced. In truth the position of each villa offered its own benefits and beauty, but we were fortunate to stay in the deluxe beach villa.. heaven!

The food here was absolutely delicious - a selection of Thai and western foods to satisfy most peoples needs along with a specials board which was usually catch of the day.

The only negative really was the building work that was going on throughout the resort, however its clear this hotel is keen on improving the resort - fortunately there was no excessive noise so it wasn't much of a problem.

The best part of this hotel was simply the staff and service as both were exceptional. Everyone was very approachable and attentive. On our last night we took the challenge of the honeymoon dinner and wow were we in for a feast! The dinner included 'personalised' food that we had favoured throughout the holiday and I thought this was a superb touch.

All in all we had a perfect honeymoon and we are looking forward to coming back to see how this resort has developed further.

Many many thanks!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda_0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KKB_Management, General Manager at Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Lucinda,

Thank you for your comment about your stay.

We pay a lot of attention on our accommodation and food and beverage. We are glad you had the perfect honey moon in our resort.

When it comes to the small challenges you had, we had a maintenance within the resort that is now over. The DVD player within your room has been replaced already.

We thank you again for your time in posting this comment for us and we hope to see you again soon in our resort.

Regards

Fabrice
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
3.0 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
3.6 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
656 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
6.5 mi away
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
6.5 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane

Property: Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Address: 69/13, Moo 4, Nai Wok beach | Nai Wok beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane Kupu Kupu Phangan is a quaint, 33 pool villas and 3 Suites resort that takes its influence in design and architecture from Thai culture, with a hint of Balinese charm. The traditional style villa using ceramic and Balinese wood is a trade mark of Kupu Kupu Resorts. Absolute Facing West, the resort offers an amazing sunset on the Gulf of Thailand. The Spa by L'Occitane incorporates two double treatment rooms facing an infinity pool with unparalleled sea view. It offers a customized menu of well-being and beauty rituals delivered using modern expertise to nurture the body, mind and spirit. Signature rituals, inspired by Provence, also address the effects of modern living using natural ingredients and the intuitive art of touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing