We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Beautiful and faultless!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
essex, uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful and faultless!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This has to be the most amazing place i have ever stayed ever!!!!
Myself and my husband were staying on the island after just getting married at the b52 resort and were looking for somewhere abit more luxurious to have our honeymoon, we couldn't have possibly picked better if we tried!! As soon as we arrived we were offered an upgrade to a villa by the pool number 29 and offered complimentary massages as it was our honeymoon!!
When we got to our room we were blown away it was stunning we had our own pool which we spent most of our time in and our room "wow" it was simply stunning beautiful bath and amazing big bed with beautiful drapes around it just perfect, i saw in another review someone complaining there wasn't any hot water you just request it at reception and they bring over a big tanks of steaming hot water and we had the most amazing bath. The breakfast is gorgeous i loved it and the bring it to your room so you can enjoy the beautiful balcony.
If you enjoy a spectacular view and outstanding sunset this is the place to go OMG the the most perfect location for the sunset, there is a bar opposite the resort called the amsterdam bar where people all gather especially for the sunset well the resorts has an even better view i was so impressed!!
I could go on and on about this place but one things for sure i highly recommend its paradise and we had the perfect honeymoon here its romantic, quiet, peaceful and beautiful, the staff are so friendly and always say hello and make you feel so welcome they speak perfect english and the manager is so lovely.
We would defiantly return without a doubt maybe for our anniversary and considering its only been open a few months its doing great theres only one thing that i will say thats a negative and that its very pricey drinks and food but that literally is it.
We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmat748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    98
    37
    7
    7
See reviews for
90
329
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

For those who are going first time to the island of Koh Phangan, the Kupu Kupu is definitely one of the best, if not the best, hotel property on the island. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights in our beach front villa, and wished we could have stayed MUCH longer.

The staff attention to detail was excellent. We truly felt that we were waited on hand on foot. Everyone greeted you with a smile, and great attitude.

The property and accommodations are gorgeous. We had a truly comfortable stay ...two very big thumbs up there. Also, on an island where everything is so exposed (beaches are full public access), we felt very safe around the clock.

The one thing I will say is that the beach by the property is not the best for swimming. Being west facing, the beaches are mostly coral reef and very shallow making beach swimming very difficult. I would encourage anyone staying here to rent one of the properties motorbikes and explore the north east side of the island for this. It will also give you a chance to sample some of the great food and nightlife that the island has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

A hard 5 for this romantic oasis. A high class designed place to relax and calm down. Great sea view with wonderful beach. Nice breakfast with friendly service. If there would have been a KUPU KUPU beach bar, we would have been more often in the evening at this luxurious part of the world.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banko01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We came to Kupu Kupu after 2 hectic days in Bangkok. From the minute we arrived We couldn't have been better looked after. The warm welcome by the staff and the peaceful resort immediately maked feeling us like in paradise.
We stayed 5 nights and especially our kids were absolutely happy with this huge main swimmingpool and as well the private Pool which they could jumped into almost from their beds.
the manager who is always around and his team care about the wellbeing of their guests at any time.
We had a seaview pool villa and it has been absolutely Amazing to look onto to the ocean whilst laying in bed. Looking through palms you can enjoy almost every day a stunning Sun Set.

Breakfast is delicious and can be served to your villa free of charge.
Staff at reception knows well the area and helps to find good trips.

Room Tip: Villa Nr 19 if looking for the best seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were there for two nights at the end of February. The property is beautiful and quiet. It is far enough from the craziness of Haad Rin, and it's a nice walk into Thang Sala, where there is a great night market with a lot of stalls serving tasty/cheap food.

The resort has a really nice mix of guests. The staff are super friendly and helpful. We had a delicious dinner one night at the hotel restaurant--the food was mostly Thai, but with some innovative twists. I loved the look of the villas, which were big and airy, with high pitched roofs, dark wood, and perfect transitions from public to private space. The beach is a bit narrow, but the pool is very pretty and relaxing.

Overall, we had a great stay and would happily go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KARL-ALVIN-WILMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in Villa 26 on the beach for 5 nights this week just passed and it was the most relaxing beautiful room and villa we have ever stayed in. Yes the resort is new and there are a couple of small issues which will work themselves as time passes but the location and the intention of the staff more than makes up for it. Its worth paying the extra money to be on the beach and if its couple time you need request villa 26.The location is 5 minutes from Thong Sala Pier which has a great food market and everything you need.I was concerned that we would be too close to the full moon madness on the island but the resort is situated on the opposite end to Hadd Rin and a short bike ride from Hadd Salad. Thankyou Kupu staff, we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: All rooms have great seafront views but 26 is the closest to the beach with a larger balcony.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had a nice stay at Kupu Kupu. Facilities are nice and view from the room was awesome. The resort opened about a month ago and they were not ready.

Staff is still shaky on understanding basic English requests. Lighting in rooms is not very good. No hot water for beautiful bath tub and sinks. Small hot water heater for shower was adequate.

We made it clear we had a gluten allergy issue, manager who is American and purports to be head chef, said he totally understood and would serve accordingly. Each morning we were given wheat toast and I suspect pad Thai containing soy sauce, which contains wheat. Waiter could not understand request to poached eggs and brought an omelette. No bar and no safety railings at resort. Not friendly for anyone that has a handicap of any sort.

Staff was very warm and friendly, just not yet well trained and lack language skills. If you are running a high end resort, you need proper staff that can work with people from around the world.

We think the place has potential but needs to immediately address some basics and should have done so before opening in late December. A soap dish would be nice and more than one trash can in the large room would be good.

We had a nice meal at a funky little Thai restaurant down the beach and really enjoyed the Same Same Cooking School not far from the ferry dock.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
3.6 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#2 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baan Manali Resort
Baan Manali Resort
#9 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
7.3 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
6.6 mi away
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
6.5 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane

Property: Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Address: 69/13, Moo 4, Nai Wok beach | Nai Wok beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280 , Thailand (Formerly Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane Kupu Kupu Phangan is a quaint, 33 pool villas and 3 Suites resort that takes its influence in design and architecture from Thai culture, with a hint of Balinese charm. The traditional style villa using ceramic and Balinese wood is a trade mark of Kupu Kupu Resorts. Absolute Facing West, the resort offers an amazing sunset on the Gulf of Thailand. The Spa by L'Occitane incorporates two double treatment rooms facing an infinity pool with unparalleled sea view. It offers a customized menu of well-being and beauty rituals delivered using modern expertise to nurture the body, mind and spirit. Signature rituals, inspired by Provence, also address the effects of modern living using natural ingredients and the intuitive art of touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing