We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phangan River Sand Resort
Nearby Hotels
$67
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$221
$206
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palita Lodge(Ko Pha Ngan)
$54
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cookies's Salad Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)(Great Value!)
$46
$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Havana Beach Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
$66
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$321
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$130
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Cove Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
$41
$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveler rating
5
3
2
2
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
3
2
2
6
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 18 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel wasn't quite what I was expecting. It pretty much feels like living in a tree house, which is all fine, but your belongings don't feel too secure. There is no glass in the windows, just wooden bars, and the floor has cracks in it (we were concerned about snakes!). However, having said that, for backpackers without many valuables with them, the place was clean, the bed comfortable, mosquito nets provided, and the lady who runs it is a hoot. It is RIGHT next to a small patch of beach, so the views are good, and the wifi is pretty good in most parts of the location. The hill up to the road is a bit tricky on a scooter, so be careful, and there is no light in the car park to find your scooter in the dark! Overall, if you are looking for basic and clean and you aren't taking laptops etc. with you, this is adequate. If you are looking for privacy and security - this is not the place for you. Oh, and you can hear a lot of the music blaring from the clubs nearby at night, so take ear plugs!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leaturner18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

the bungalows/rooms r at the right price and its by the beach and fish and thips, is a good restaurant and good parking but always remember that this island is no 1 party island AND no1 rip island and u are the buffalo so u need to be careful. Suggested improvements to the rooms:

1 the wooden floors have gaps so ur stuff can fall through to the floor (u or the cleaner) a safe area by the bed say 18 inches by 4ft, easily addressable with a piece of plastic or ply wood.

2 the windows r not real windows breaking in is a easy, however the landlady does lives in.

3 the coffee/beer area looks unfinished, no hammocks, no colour scheme, boring

My opinion is that if u bring a small safe with u and use ur own padlock on the door (sorry Ms cleaner) and BOOK DIRECTLY BY THE DAY, as i did, the venue works fine.

After a week if the sheets need changing move to a fresh bungalow (asking for towels is no problem) or move resorts.(hey its ur passport and visa card!)

so Mrs landlady think about cost effective solutions for items 1 and 3

ps kite school is cool, run by a guy called danny

pps in view of earlier review dont give em ur real passport number just make something up

Room Tip: nearer the sea the better
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have stayed on Phangan several times, sometimes for Months at a time and it is our favorite island in Thailand.
I booked on line for 5 nights as i wanted confirmation that the room would be available for my wife who was arriving one day before me and the island was busy as it was the regular full moon party time of the month.
I have stayed in this style of bamboo hut many times and these were just as basic as was expected. Problem was that the resort is very close to the main road and the road was busy with party traffic all night. So it was impossible to sleep.
My wife had already complained and asked to be moved to another hut further from the road but nothing was done.
After the second night i asked to be moved to a hut away from the road or we would be checking out as we couldnt sleep at all with the noise. The owner (Kitja) said she could move us to another room but demanded full payment upfront for the whole 5 nights. I advised that i would pay for one night and if we could get some sleep we would stay and pay for the full term of check out if not. Kitja refused and agressively and rudely demanded full payment. So i just said we would check out there and then but would pay any comission she had to pay to any third party agent i booked through. Again more verbal abuse from Kija and threats to call the police. Also calling the owner of the resort next door and asking the owner to come over and punch me !!!
My wife who is Thai heard every word. The police were never called although we wanted them to come, another hour of agressive rude verbal abuse and threats and we paid her 1360 baht. The amount she said was the comission she would need to pay the online booking agent.
I would not reccomend stayin here to anyone. Im sure if you are here for the Full Moon party and so drunk you can sleep anywhere then you will be okay. Apart from that, avoid this place at ALL costs. I personally would rather have slept on the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews