We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Solace”

Nantakarn Bungalows
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nantakarn Bungalows
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Having few reviews, and running out of time, we hurriedly booked this lodge with worry. We needn't have. The Service was fantastic. I cannot remember the name of the man who owns it but he was so lovely, and his young kids are adorable. The room is basic, but a great price. Very tasty food is just a 5 minute walk along the main road and taxi's run past all the time. We grabbed one to Haad Rin for the full moon party, and we were happy to be able to rest again on our veranda. The view is so picturesque, especially at sunset.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_auger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Wow, even though our Thai is baaaaaadddd! Their English wasn't great either but they were so friendly and not worried about anything! We arrived late at 630pm. We rented a scooter off them and as it was late and all our stuff was in our room formalities were resolved once we had eaten with regards to the room.
It is basic. You have a bed. A toilet you can sit on.( no loo roll though ;-) ) a mosquito net and peaceful surroundings.
More ideal for the backpacker wanting a rest or like us, wanting to experience the highs and the lower end scales of thailand accommodation stars.
You settled up everything at the end, bottles of water etc noted in a book.

We only stayed 1 night on koh phagnan but for what we paid, which was under £5! To stay (less that 500 baht for scooter,room and water) it was excellent value!

Beware though, ferrys to and from
Koh phagnan can rip you off. Search around for the cheapest!! Or I'd you pay more, pay the little extra for a shuttle the other end to your next base- we saved quite a bit as we couldn't get to the cheaper ferry in time(left it too late) but we did get our transfer to our next base for half the cost of a taxi :-)

Koh phagnan itself was quite rural. We went exploring in the late evening but without going down to haad rin, it's a relaxing place, not partying on nights that aren't a dedicated 'moon' party night. We went on the night after a black
Moon party, and everywhere was quiet but we didn't go down to haad rin. That we heard was a bit livelier!

All in all I'm glad we stayed here. If you do stay here, give the ginger cat some affectionate attention from us, poor old dab.

A lot cleaner than most of these types of places, but remember, it's on a beach front, if you can't cope with bugs, don't bother with any beachfront place.

The best thing here are the family that own it, and also the fact that the beach is on a shelf, so you can walk out really far before it drops, and you can watch the older ladies of the local area fishing. Very idyllic!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fizzlelems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Thank flora000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,567 reviews
0 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Hat Rin
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
0 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
0 mi away
The Coast Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nantakarn Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nantakarn Bungalows

Address: 14/2 Moo 8, Sithanu Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 406 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $26 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nantakarn Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nantakarn Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing