We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden little gem in KP” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceanus Resort

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oceanus Resort
Battambang, Cambodia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Hidden little gem in KP”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for the full moon party and we felt right at home here. The owner and her dogs (I think?) treated us like family from the minute we stepped in the door and she was really helpful every time we came to berate her with questions about the area and surrounding islands. We got the AC room which I'd HIGHLY recommend this hidden little place, as it gets scorchingly hot on the island. Just one piece of advice; when traveling with taxis etc... Tell them you're staying at B52 which is right next door and much more known to locals. Oceanus seems like it's actually trying to be hidden, which I kinda loved.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joey613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed in a non-air conditioned bungalow 'Turtle' for 3 days over the Full Moon Party this month.

We were welcomed in by the owner who was a very sweet lady, she gave us lots of accurate and helpful information about the island and her English was excellent.

The bungalow was comfortable, with an open air toilet at the back. Iit was basic, but kept in good condition.

The surroundings of the accommodation were a bit like a lovely jungle, and the back of the resort lead onto a quiet beach. We expected the room to be unbearably hot, as we had no air-con, but luckily the canopy of trees that sits above all the bungalows provided plenty of shade.

The location of this resort is brilliant, very easy to access everything you need. Lots of restaurants and shops within easy walking distance, although we hired a bike so we could explore the island further.

The best part of the accommodation was the friendly and helpful nature of the owner, she even took us in her truck the short distance to the pier when it was time to leave.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy_J_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Booked this place a couple of moths in advance because we wanted to stay at koh phangang at end december beginning of january for the full moon party and new years.

We were looking to stay near the beach, but somwhere where there were things to do, at night but not in the middle of haadrin where there is partynoize all night long and where the beach is dirty from all the partying. We prefer small places, like guest houses or bungalows, and not to expensive. Allready a lott of place were full booked in july.

Oceanus location is good, it's on coast road were all the resorts and bungalows are. As it is located in the middle of the island the location is ideal to explore both North and south of koh phangan. Cab to haadrin 20 min 100 bath, cab to North 150 bath.Quite to sleep at night, but just a 10min walk form tongsala town and its delicious food market. They only have 5 bungalows and it feels like you are staying in the jungle. The bungalows are well maintaned, we had a fan and AC. In the front there is a little terrace and at the back the open air bathroom. he bathroom was really ok and there was always hot water. They provide toilet paper and towels.

Upon arrival to tongsala try to walk to the resort, or make sure you dont pay too much for a cab there as it is only a 5 min drive! Cabs dont know the resort and as it was dark we did had some problems finding it. Just tell the cabdriver to leave you at B52, just on the left of B52 walk through the gras, dirt road and you will see the oceanus water tower.

When we arrived there were problems with our reservation. But the lady was really friendly and everything got solved. She runs the place with her mom. They dont serve foord or have a pool or loungers on the beach, but for that you can go to one of the places next door. When are friends arrived unexpected everything on the island was allready full booked and the lady let them sleep on the big porch of the reception, which was really friendly.

The beach is ok, atlhough after the full moon and new years party you even see rubish floating untill here. But on the other days it is ok. Another place i would really recommend for young people is 2 places further and called phangan villas.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed here for the Full Moon Party in July. Was warmly welcomed by the owner, and shown to our bungalow which was simple, but had everything we needed. Hot water, western toilet, and air conditioning (worth every cent extra!!!).

Very convenient location; we walked to the pier when it was time to leave!

On arrival tell your driver to take you to the b52 resort, because they don't know Oceanus! It's right behind b52; you'll see the sign once they drop you off :):)

Room Tip: Get the air con; that island is HOT! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank venismecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
B 52 Beach Resort
B 52 Beach Resort
#75 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
#13 of 128 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Toelzer Huette Gaestehaus
Toelzer Huette Gaestehaus
#77 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
O Sole Mio Beachfront Resort
O Sole Mio Beachfront Resort
#206 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.0 mi away
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
#1 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.7 mi away
Reefers Bungalow
Reefers Bungalow
#159 of 352 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanus Resort

Property: Oceanus Resort
Address: 94/2 Moo 1, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 352 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Class:1 star — Oceanus Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oceanus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing