We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great holiday Destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I can recommend this hotel to any traveller whishing to visit Koh Phanang. It is situated on a lovely beach and the facilities are excellent. The staff are extermely friendly and helpful especially Peter and Banana and they went out of their way to assist us in any way they could. If you want a totally relaxing holiday this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elainej234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    234
    42
    13
    6
See reviews for
291
732
43
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We just returned from a 3 week trip to Thailand where we visited Bangkok, Koh Tao, Koh Phangan and Koh Samui and had the pleasure of staying at Buri Rasa for 3 great nights. My trip was made even more special as I got engaged here and the staff was great! Our van transportation was waiting for us at the pier when we arrived from Koh Tao and took us on the 45 minute ride to the hotel. The road was very bumpy with several patches unpaved but the driver handled it well and made up time when he could on the paved parts.

Arrival at the hotel was great and check in was fast. We were traveling with two other couples, they in the beach front terrace rooms and us in the pool terrace room. We checked out their rooms first, #19 and #20. They were upstairs of a two story building and had a view directly looking at the beautiful beach and ocean. Our room, #49, was just past the pool on the 2nd floor of a three story building, overlooking the pool. The room had a great view of the pool and you could even see the ocean, best of both! Our room was nearly identical to #19 and 20 except that it was smaller. Less walk room in the hall and in-between the table and the bed. For the money, I probably would have upgraded for the additional $30 a night but we decided to stay in our room. The overall construction of this hotel reminds you of an older, strip style hotel but what the hotel buildings lacks in character, the surrounding area, decor and beach make up for it.

The hotel room was very nicely decorated and definitely a modern, beach feel to it. I only wish I would have been able to find the cool blue mirrors they had on the wall to take home! The shower with rainfall showerhead was great and all the amenities in the bathroom were nice. Two bottles of water were placed in your room each day, though they were never cold. The AC was cold and the bed was soft. Wifi in the room was adequate. The small details in the room didn't go unnoticed either. The details to the colors and wall textures were a nice touch. The lighting was great with a couple of neat lamps that helped set the mood and the turn down service was great. Can't say I liked the taste of the treats they left but the attention to detail was great! Additionally, the bars out on the patio to dry wet swimsuits was great. How come every hotel can't think of these details?!?

The bay this hotel is located on seems super private with some of the best hotels on either side of it. The one to the right, can’t remember the name, has an incredible singing duo that came and sang every night we were there and they were fantastic! We had dinner there one night and the service was great. The beach is great with nice white sand and you can walk probably 100 yards out into the ocean and it’s still waist deep! We eventually just had to plop down to cool off! Other reviews mentioned sea lice but we didn’t have a single problem with anything being in the water. The restaurant onsite was great and had some great western food as we were getting pretty tired of Thai food by this point in our trip. Service was at times, a bit slow but it was great to sit and enjoy the view so we didn’t mind. The public bathrooms were all very nice and kept very clean. The property grounds were immaculate and everyone was super friendly. The pool is smaller than you would expect for a resort this size but it was never too busy and the built in bench was great. No pool drink service though. We were able to get drinks on the beach delivered to us though and their caipirinha cocktails were fantastic! Additionally, we had a chance to try their spa out and had a fantastic time! The spa is in one big room, with a very tall ceiling with a full bathroom and separate shower and two massage tables. My fiancé and I enjoyed a pineapple body wrap that was great! We also opted for the head, shoulder and back massage the next day out in the ‘quiet zone’ on the way to the beach and it was literally, the best massage I had in Thailand. Thank you Am!!! I was a little worried to be out in the open, getting massaged and having people walk by but once she started, I literally forgot where I was. The spa prices were incredible since they were having a summer special. I believe each service we had was 400Baht, which is about $14USD.

The town just behind the resort is cute with probably 20 shops in total. You could definitely get through them in one evening so if you planned several days at this resort, you might get a bit bored with the area. After reading all the glowing reviews of the Tanaporn massage house, I was really sad that they were completely booked upon our arrival so make sure you book in advance!! We also ate dinner at a great restaurant just up the road called Luna Lounge. Definitely check it out. Very nice atmosphere and friendly owner. Great food too.

As I mentioned previously, this was the spot that my then boyfriend decided to propose to me. The staff helped the rest of my family with the preparations while we took a sunset cruise and I was told they were great with helping to setup the candles, flowers and champagne on the beach. They even supplied a beautiful bouquet of flowers on the table when my family couldn’t come up with any local floral shops. They also arranged to have a private dinner on the beach to help us celebrate and though the wind kept blowing out our candles, they continued to try and make it perfect for us. I appreciate all their help and effort to make that moment so special for us.

We did take a day trip down to the famed 'Full Moon Party' Beach. It was definitely a change of pace from our tranquil little bay to the north! The island overall seemed less developed than Koh Tao or Koh Samui and I was glad we weren't staying in that area. Even though we had purposely booked our stay on this island to attend the party, the transportation to the party seemed confusing through the hotel and we didn't feel comfortable taking a long tail boat around the island, in the dark, with potentially drunk people. There were only certain times that the van would bring you back (12, 2 and 4) and for me, nothing is worse than being stranded somewhere and unable to leave. Rather than take the risk at the party with no ride back, we opted to skip the party and just enjoy our little slice of paradise, minus the hangover the next day.

One of the biggest things that stood out to me about this was resort, besides our engagement, was something fantastic as we were leaving. As we got into our van to leave the resort, many of the people who had helped us over the last three days were standing outside our van and waved goodbye to us. I’ve never had that at any other hotel and thought it was a great and memorable moment I’ll never forget. Thanks Buri Rasa!

Room Tip: Room #49 has a great pool and of the ocean without the ocean front price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ahardacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Located in the quiet thong nai pan area of koh phagnan. We took the noon thong nai pan express boat from Mae nam, koh samui to get here, cost 350 bhat and took 1 hour , 30 minutes. Amazing trip, with beautiful views of koh phagnan. The view of thong nai pan is breathtaking when you arrive and welcomed into the lovely hotel.
The hotel is beautiful, new, clean, rooms are nice. Swimming pool is great, we had it to ourselves sometimes, and the beach is just a step away from the room. Food was very good. Giving this hotel 4 out of 5 purely because, personally thong nai pan is too quiet for us, but if you want to go here and relax it would be 5 out of 5 no problem.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dundeebat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We as a family recently travelled to Thailand for my brothers 30th bday. We have been to Thailand a few times before and chose Ko Phagnan to try and experience something new. We spent 8 nights at Buri Rasa and I can say without a doubt that it is the best hotel experience we have had in all our years of travelling to Thailand. The hotel is set on a gorgeous beach with lovely views and perfect calm water to swim in. If you want to get away from it all and experience true relaxation this is the place for you. The rooms were very well appointed and perfectly clean. The rooms on the beach are the best the property has to offer and allow for a perfect beach experience. The hotel is rated 4 star but I would give it a 5 star thumbs up. The staff are the friendliest we have ever come across and nothing was too much to ask. The breakfast allows for a large range of food and everything is fresh every day. The hotel restaurant, the Beach Club, is also excellent and very affordable. We had my brothers bday dinner on the beach and they went above and beyond to arrange a special table for us with a flower arrangement/cake etc and no extra charges whatsoever. The massage ladies are also excellent and I would highly recommend a massage every day while staying at the resort. The village may be small but if you want to get away from it all this is the place to do so. We would go back in a heartbeat and I will be sure to recommend Buri Rasa to anyone going to Thailand. To Banana and her fabulous team thank you for making our stay so memorable. We hope to be back soon!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliakobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

A delightful new resort on a beautiful quiet beach in the north of the island. we stayed in one of the rooms overlooking the beach and so had lovely views of the stunning beach. The rooms have been laid out around the swimming pool and set in tropical gardens that have been well designed. There is also a gym which had amazing views but we didn't try...just looked! The room was very spacious, nicely decorated and included all the facilities that any 5* hotel would have. Buri Rasa is a 4* property which has just opened and is the sister property to Buri Rasa on Koh Samui which we have stayed at before and loved. The staff at Buri Rasa Koh Phnagan were fantastic...especially Banana, Peter, Boy and Patsy..they really looked after us and nothing was ever a problem. The other staff are also lovely too and so friendly and really sets this hotel apart from so many others we have stayed at in Thailand. The food was very nice and in the evenings there is a seafood bbq on the beach which is very good and a lovely setting. The hotel itself is set in the Buri Rasa Village where there are a number of small shops and coffee shops, juice bar which leads onto the main small village of Thong Nai Pan Noi where there are plenty of other local restaurants and massage places. The village has a lovely feel to it and unlike so many other places in Thailand, it is not very touristy - no 7 elevens or Tescos to be seen anywhere so great for anyone looking to get away from the crowds!

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the beach if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maisey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We loved our stay at this hotel. If you're looking for a quiet, secluded beach on koh phangan, it's perfect. The staff is very nice, and provides great transportation services. We were very pleasantly surprised at how affordable the spa and restaurants were at the resort. It was a beautiful, quaint property!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nlg826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our first impressions of the hotel was like arriving on a Disney set, the main reception looked like an Wild West outpost. The rooms were small, immaculately clean and welcoming, and the fact that they delivered little goodies to eat each night was great. The hotel was right on the beach which was gorgeous. The staff were great and the food at the restaurant was really good and great value.

Room Tip: We got a deal off Agoda so we were towards the back of the hotel but there were much larger rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CatherineM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
5.9 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
7.4 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#9 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#14 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
6.4 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
0.4 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buri Rasa Koh Phangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buri Rasa Koh Phangan

Property: Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Address: 55 Moo 5, Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Buri Rasa Koh Phangan 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buri Rasa Village is a luxurious boutique resort which blends traditional Thai architecture with contemporary design, creating an elegant holiday haven that shines out from the crowd.Our resort simply exudes luxury and comfort. Enjoy a relaxing break on Koh Phangan in the unique and laid-back surroundings of a tropical paradise, on the beach at Thong Nai Pan.Experience a highly personal level of service - all of our staff are hand-picked and renowned for their friendly and caring approach. They'll pamper you as if you were in paradise itself!Each of our modern suites has a balcony or terrace, and is lavishly equipped with a flat-screen TV with international channels, a DVD player, and has an en-suite bathroom with rain shower plus bathrobes and towels. There's a fridge and mini bar with complimentary bottled water replenished each day, and there's a daily housekeeping and turn-down service. Room service is also available, and there is free WiFi throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buri Rasa Koh Phangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing