We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Adeje, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived for 5 nights as a family of 7, we had 2 beach front rooms and two at the back of the resort. Both rooms were identical in size although the back rooms only one had a small view of the sea but was over the road , ours just had a terrace with no view a all. We were number 34. The room was darker but cool and was no problem at all, although next time I may ask for a room that overlooked the pool areas.
The staff could not do enough for you, they were always smiling and helpful, the rooms were immaculate, and we got the little deserts every night.
The pool I agree was small but the beach is big enough to cater for everyone although we had quite rough sea whilst we were there and so beach was smaller than usual. Ko Phangan especially the areas of Thong Nai Pan is the most beautiful and relaxing place, still regained its Thai character unlike parts of Ko Samui, and would say come hear for a true Thai experience whilst you can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sassysarah85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,107
    243
    46
    14
    6
See reviews for
321
786
48
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We booked Buri Rasa for 5 nights through Pointshound.com so that we could earn United frequent flyer miles for our reservation. For $90 USD we got a room on the 3rd floor towards the back of the room. While we did not have a view of the ocean, we were very happy with the room and enjoyed the short walk to the pool/beach.

I was with my family (wife and 16 month old daughter) so we wanted somewhere nice and clean but not overly expensive (like some of the other Phagnan resorts). Buri Rasa was perfect for our trip.

The place has amenities for children (high chairs, small shallow area at the pool, toys). The beach is also very calm most days though it can get very deep suddenly so be mindful.

There are also a handful of excellent local restaurants in the village outside the resort. We ate out 4 out of 5 nights for dinner and every lunch. Breakfast was included in our rate so we ate at the resort in the mornings.

As people noted, the resort is somewhat new (built in 2012) and you can tell the staff is still getting experience. They try very hard and have a great attitude, but coming from Bangkok, you can notice the small differences in experience.

For example, I booked a speedboat transfer from USM airport to Buri Rasa for 2 people. When we checked out, they forgot to include the charge. I reminded them to charge me because it would have been dishonest to not pay for something we used.

Also, one night a lamp hanging from the ceiling of our room suddenly fell. I called to inform them, and they just said, "OK, no problem." We left it on the floor.

But as I said, it was a perfect getaway from the hustle of normal life. Some tips for future guests:

1. Breakfast closes around 10:30AM.
2. The resort is very kid friendly so expect families with small children.
3. The speedboat transfer isn't worth the extra cost in my opinion. When we took it on arrival, the water was too rough to approach the Buri Rasa shared pier so we only got the speedboat to the south side of Koh Phangan and take a van for 30 minutes to the resort.
4. I didn't think it was worth it to pay up for the rooms facing the water. The staff tries to reserve the sun loungers outside for those guest in those rooms, but many times, other guests will just take them and staff has a hard time denying guests.
5. Housekeeping is great and you have to leave a note with your tip or else they won't take your money.
6. Wifi is free but spotty some days. The 1st day was 100% great. The 2nd day was horrible. The 3-5th days were great. However, note that the signal is never strong enough to have a clear Skype call.
7. Beers are the same price as buying from the convenience stores outside, so no need to leave the resort.
8. For departures, book your shuttle at least 1 day in advance. And note, they will give you a voucher that you will take to the Ferry ticket office and exchange for actual tickets. Be mindful if you're on the Seatran ferry or the Lomprayah ferry company.

Room Tip: Having a oceanfront room means you'll have people walking around right in front of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Songer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Cannot speak highly enough of this resort! I was so happy my husband and I chose to go to Koh Phangan 2nd after Koh Samui because anything after Buri Rasa would have been a let down.
The beach is shared with a handful of resorts but since it is set in a cove with no direct route from other beaches it stays fairly calm. (no heckling from vendors etc.) When it was sunny the water was a sparkly turquoise but even when it was raining the view was stunning with the waves against the rocks and plentiful Palm trees swaying in the breeze. We barely left the resort the 4 days we were there.
When we arrived we were met by iced tea and a cool towel. I was very impressed with how much English the staff spoke. (don't necessarily expect that in Thailand!)
As for transportation, it's about a 45 minute ride from the ferry. We took a local taxi there (songthaew: benches in the back of a truck) which was a bumpy ride but you can arrange with the hotel ahead of time for transportation. The cove is by a strip of restaurants and small shops. Not too much shopping if that's what you are looking for but plenty of choice in food around. We chose to eat mostly at the resort. The resort restaurant overlooks the beach and has seating right on the beach also. The prices are reasonable for food but a little more spendy for alcohol. The breakfast buffet was plentiful with options in the morning. They make the coffee fresh for each order. Lunch and dinner has the same standard menu but they add fresh seafood BBQ options at dinner. You can eat at their cafe around the corner during the day also. (same food cheaper prices,just doesn't have a view) If you spend your day on a sunbed they will attend to you there.
The rooms are beautiful. I realize the hotel is new but they do an amazing job cleaning and stocking the room. The beds are so comfortable- soft but supportive. They have a pillow menu for your preference. They also have English channels to choose from on a flat screen t.v. and dvds (somewhat limited) to borrow. I usually don't use hotel products with my sensitive skin but I loved the shower gel they provided.
Only complaint I had was when we added an extra night onto our stay we had to move rooms. I had checked to see if our room was still open a 4th night and I said I would take it however I used my bank's website to pay for that day so it took a few hours for the confirmation. During that time they gave the room away and we had to switch. However, the staff arranged to move our bags and our new room had a bit of an ocean view so in the end it wasn't so bad.
As for transportation back the hotel booked us a taxi. They even gave us complimentary breakfast boxes to go with pastries and fruit. We booked our ferry ride and transfer from an travel agent office just around the corner. I advise choosing ferries ahead of time to coordinate with flights since we ended up having to leave very early in the morning which wasn't ideal on vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joelle_es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

First of all: We had a great time at Buri Rasa Koh Phangan. The resort is brand new, and you can tell. Rooms are really nice, although not huge. Nice amenities. We had a beach front room, and could walk straight out on the beach to our sun chairs and the water. The staff are nice, smiling and attentive (for the most part). Breakfast was good, as the restaurant itself. Small nice touches, like new local desserts delivered to your room every night. Nice beach. Also loved the area and the restaurants.

The drawbacks: The resort only has a small part of the beach. Unlike on the neighbouring Anantara Rasananda, which occupies most of the beach, the beach chairs are piled onto each other due to little space. This also was a problem with having a beach front room - the chairs were lined along our terrasse only a foot or two from the room. Also, the swimming pool is more or less a joke. Around 2x5 metres, with 6 (or 8?) chairs in total. It was (understandably for the time we were there, with high waves and tides in the ocean) occupied by the few families with small kids who were at the resort. I expect a "luxury resort" to have more to offer with regards to the swimming pool area. We were also not impressed by the staff at the restaurant, and it was not well enough organized. We often had to ask for coffe at breakfast both two and three times, it was often hard to get attention from the staff (at both breakfast, lunch and dinner), even though there seemed to be plenty of them.

However, as stated, we had a great time - but it would have been even better without the mentioned issues.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dusin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is located in a shore to the north-east of the island, so it's a quite place without any parties etc.
The plus side to that is that you can relax at the beach or the pool, without anyone bothering you.
The hotel is quite small, only about 70 rooms, but it has all the needed amenities.
The staff was very lovely and tried to fulfill our every wish, the room was great and even the breakfast was very nice.

To all who traveles to koh phangan, and doesn't want to go to the parties, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliBiren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My Husband and I loved Koh Phangan and loved Buri Rasa. They have a private speed boat from Koh Samui that takes about 30 minutes. The hotel is brand new. We had a beach front room. It had spectacular views of the ocean. We opened our sliding doors and walked about 10 ft to our reserved beach chairs on the sand. You can order food and drinks on the beach. The room was very clean, had a nice bed/pillows and a good shower. Breakfast was good. This best though was the location. We could not believe how good the restaurants on the street were. Luna's-amazing food! The owner/chef bought us a drink and sat with us for a chat. Bamboo Hut-great. Again and Again-great. Crazy busy. If you go the this island-and you should-stay at Buri Rasa.

Room Tip: Get a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Perhaps the best hotel I've ever stayed in. We had a beachfront room so literally walked out of the patio doors onto the fantastic beach. Two sunloungers we reserved for our room so we had no worries about anyone staying just outside our room. From start to finish the service is top-notch, the rooms had a minimalist feel and were imaculate. The restaurant did fantastic bbq's on the beach and the breakfasts were superb.
I can't recommend this place highly enough!

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for the ground floor beach front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.5 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
0.5 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#38 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
7.4 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buri Rasa Koh Phangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buri Rasa Koh Phangan

Property: Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Address: 55 Moo 5, Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Buri Rasa Koh Phangan 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buri Rasa Village is a luxurious boutique resort which blends traditional Thai architecture with contemporary design, creating an elegant holiday haven that shines out from the crowd.Our resort simply exudes luxury and comfort. Enjoy a relaxing break on Koh Phangan in the unique and laid-back surroundings of a tropical paradise, on the beach at Thong Nai Pan.Experience a highly personal level of service - all of our staff are hand-picked and renowned for their friendly and caring approach. They'll pamper you as if you were in paradise itself!Each of our modern suites has a balcony or terrace, and is lavishly equipped with a flat-screen TV with international channels, a DVD player, and has an en-suite bathroom with rain shower plus bathrobes and towels. There's a fridge and mini bar with complimentary bottled water replenished each day, and there's a daily housekeeping and turn-down service. Room service is also available, and there is free WiFi throughout the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Buri Rasa Koh Phangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing