We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great respite from Singha!”

Belgian Beer Bar/restaurant
Ranked #31 of 368 Restaurants in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $24
Cuisines: Belgian, Thai, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Belgian Beer Bar on the famous haad chao pao beach.We have 39 different belgian beer (duvel, vedett, hoegaarden,leffe, delirium,orval, kwak...)Try it!!You can also eat the famous Mussels(1kg), red snapper,belgian fries, thai cooking and european food.We prepare for you birthday party on demand...See you soon.Quentin and moon..
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A great respite from Singha!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I love Singha, but after 6 days in Thailand, I was craving a real full flavored beer. My husband found this place in the guide book, and we motorbiked over. It was fabulous! We had the Thai Style Mussels and drank great belgian beer and fabulous ciders until we couldn't drink them anymore. Also, everyone here speaks english, as they are mostly ex-pats from Europe. It was nice to have a conversation with someone else in english after basically only talking to each other for 6 days!

Highly recommend!

NOTE: You will spend more here than most places on the island, the beer is really expensive because they have to import it. Basically like 5-8USD per beer. Pretty much the same as any major city in the US, but quite expensive for Koh Phangan.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ArleyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    52
    11
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden belgian paradise !”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Ice cold belgian beers served with a belgian smile ! This is really a nice place to hangout and relax,i would say,i come back !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthieu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A nice change”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Came here for both food and the promise of exported beer (Chang and Sigha are great but sometimes you just need to vary a bit). In the end, and funny enough, got side tracked and ended up having long drinks (gin and vodka) which were very reasonably priced!
The food was very good, a bit pricey but the setting was lovey and it was just a notch up from the usual eateries on Koh Phangan, so definitely worth it.
Friendly staff, the cutest dog (take an alsation, take a sausage dog, well that literally it is! It's called Bacon), lovely chilled place.
I really like it and would come back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BarcelonaBcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great cider!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Nice friendly chatty staff, cosy place. Enjoyed the food here, and they do amazing cider!
Gave us tips on where to go and also arranged taxi. Recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dastinah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tired of cheap crappy beers? Head here for a decent brew!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

This resort was purchased by a lovely Belgian couple a year ago. They picked up and moved their family to Koh Phangan for the adventure of a lifetime. Everyone from the teenage kids to the parents help out are are all delightfully friendly.

Free wifi is available in the bar/restaurant. Mosquitoes were out in mass, but this is typical of ANY outdoor area in the islands this time of year (Nov 30th). They lit a mosquito coil under our table and provided some herbal mosquito repellant spray.

They have a huge menu of Thai, French, and Italian food, and deserts and cocktails.

My husband had Pad See Ew (on the menu as "fried noodles in soya") as well as the fried rice with pineapple and curry. Both were great, very flavorful but not too spicy. The positions are decently sized, my husband has the metabolism of a 16 yo and eats twice as much as a normal adult.

I ordered the "caesar salad". After weeks of traveling in Thailand, I was looking forward to a nice cold caesar. However, when it arrived, I realized that this is not a Caesar salad as Americans or Italians know it. It was a huge green salad (significantly more than I could eat) with lettuce, hard boiled egg, onions, tomato, cucumber, wonderful homemade croutons, and an amazing balsamic vinaigrette with marinated shallots. It was a fabulous salad... just a heads up that it's not the typical caesar.

The milkshakes are to die for. I had the Oreo shake. It was intense, extremely strong flavored, like a liquid Oreo....which I LOVED. My husband had the coconut shake, which was basically a virgin piña colada. It was refreshing.

They also have a menu of at least 24 beers that they import from Belgium. This makes them pricey if you are used to paying 55 baht for Chang beer but if you are looking to treat yourself to a real beer on Koh Phangan, this is the place to go. (I posted the beer menu as a photo here on TripAdvisor.)

Take home message: EAT HERE. You will enjoy it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MariahAndMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belgian Beer Bar/restaurant also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Belgian Beer Bar/restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing