We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great unassuming restaurant”
Review of Jip Shop

Jip Shop
Ranked #51 of 368 Restaurants in Ko Pha Ngan
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great unassuming restaurant”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

prawn spring rolls wwere delicious and the food was generally very nice, we ate thai food and had a few drinks. The lady that owns it has a very well trained white rabbit that sits on a chair there! Great vibe, cover versions playing over the sterio but a nice rustic interior. The only worry was the lady who was cooking had just finished giving a massage in the back room.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank gcapza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    303
    122
    51
    125
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great massage, great people, great food”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Really recommend this place. We just enter to do another massage, but it was one of the best we did in Thai.. Very professional and good! In decent price!
Right after we were given free tea and water-melon. Just great hospitality!
Then we decided to stay to eat, and was great.

Really good place! Thank you

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler_isr_yot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Jip Shop is wonderful!!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

It may look half-way street kitchen at a glance, but this little restaurant is just wonderful and full of surprises. The food is amazing and presented with care and innovation. Jip herself is so much fun to talk to and engages with all of her guests with a smile and humour! A must to go here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristian_Youness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent, Local and most of all has character!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

After being recommended Jip by a guest at our resort we wandered over. Immediately we were greeted by Dolla' at the hostess stand, Jip's resident Bunny. After being seated we enjoyed an excellent meal, the hostess and staff were very funny and sweet. We returned a few days later for our final meal in Koh Phangan and look forward to visiting the next time we're on the island.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zachl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Authentic, delivered with charm”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Restaurants in Thong Nai Pan can be very similar, serving the usual Thai dishes. Jip Shop, complemented by Jip herself, very bubbly, charming and says everything with a hint of suspicion coupled with giggles - adds a lot to the restaurant.

Food is excellent. Try the Green Mango spicy salad, spicy seafood salad or any of their curries. Dishes are delivered with finesse and taste really really good, fresh, crip and really really delicious.

My only complaint is the rice served is so small that you have to order another, and it's another 30 BT, small but still. Rice is a staple and there should be more of it delivered with a curry. Other than that, 5 stars!

Save the beach restaurants for a cocktail later.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garvangallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jip Shop also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Jip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing