We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A nice plays to hang out for a couple of days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hua Laem Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hua Laem Resort
Ranked #62 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice plays to hang out for a couple of days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the hua laem resort. Tom was really kind and answered all the questions we had very patienetly.(; His wife tik is a super chef and its worth trying her curry.
The bungalow for 600 bht was clean and comfortable, though we had the odd cockroach in the bathroom at night but i guess its hard to avoid.
The resort is a nice little walk away from haad rin. So you dont have the beach right infront of your doorstep but if i'd be a full moon party fan, i'd love to stay up there so you can chill out and get away from all the crazyness for a bit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
3
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here with five friends over new years. Tom and his family where very welcoming and helpful leading up to and throughout the duration of our stay. His wifes cooking was fantastic, especially the scrambled eggs and fruit shakes! Everything was more than resonably priced including the yoga lesson two of us attended in one of the huts over looking the sea. We stayed in the basic bungalows which were fine for what we needed. The hammocks on the balconies over looking haad rin beach where a nice touch too. If you are travelling around Thailand on a budget and are looking for a place that is close to the nightlife (10 minute walk away) but not so close that you can't get to sleep at night then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JetAwayJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at Hua Laem Resort back in may last year, for the full moon party, we were backpacking and looking for some where clean and basic within budget that was near to Had Rin Beach. We stayed for 5 nights, its a really freindly family run resort, Tom the owner is so kind and makes you feel very welcome. My only real cons were, even though the resort is a 10 mintue walk to had rin beach (Full moon party) the jorney down is through a very dark pathway so would advise to bring a torch.

Also op in getting a deluxe bungalow... we booked a basic one and we had alot of big lizards getting into our bathroom as there are gaps beetween the roof and the walls, however this makes the bargolow very cool and airie so if lizards dont fuss you them the basic barglow will be fine. We had our own balocony with a hanging hammock, with stunning views of the sea. also there is access to a small beach, which was so beautiful. all in all we had a really nice stay here, the food served in the restaurant is very tastie,great value for money and authentic. I would definalety stay here again....

Room Tip: deluxe bungalow sea view, only slightly more money, but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The pro's and con's of this place are:
Pro's
- Very friendly staff, Tom and Tik, the owners, go out of their way to make you feel at home.
- beautiful view from the bungalows, especially if you are so lucky to get on the front row, with crashing waves on the rocks
- bit away from the crowds, I like that
- good value for money!
- there are yoga lessons, haven't tried them though, but the location is nice

Con's
- it a bit longer walk, which I didn't mind, you can rent a bike in Had Rin so you don't have to walk all the time
- Noise: I left earlier then I planned because of the partys all night long on the beach, my earplugs did not help. But if you come for the party, you'll be on the beach till dawn anyhow... :-)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4youreyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed at Hua Laem for over 2 weeks in June and another 2 weeks in Sept. Tom, Tik and family are wonderful hosts that were able to accommodate anything I asked of them. The shuttle from Haad Rin is very helpful in order to get your bearings the first time there. Otherwise, the short 10 minute walk to the town is a good reason for a little exercise each day. Being a bit removed from the craziness of Full Moon beach is one of the biggest bonuses about this resort. The bungalows are well enough equipped (AC not necessary and cold shower is rather welcome) and the view from the hammock and balcony is superb. If you are interested in yoga, my classes there were excellent so I highly recommend trying them. I would most definitely recommend the resort and will absolutely stay here again, whenever I am lucky enough to be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolynj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 454 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights and it certainly grew on us. We loved the family atmosphere and the welcome from Tom who came and picked us up to help with bags was great. Our room was large and clean. We had two fans which were very useful in heat and actually better than the aircon. The room also had a balcony with an amazing view and a hammock to sit in to watch it! Shower was cold water which at first I thought was odd but actually this was great as it was so hot.

We ate at the resort one evening and the food was amazing and easily some of the best during our whole time in Thailand. The resort is also on the sea so we went down and swam and snorkelled in the sea yards from our room!!!

For the rate we paid for the room this resort was brilliant, it is a little further from hat rin (10 mins walk along a steep dirt track or small track (not advisable at night)) than we thought however don't let this put you off. I would certainly recommend this.

Room Tip: The slightly higher priced rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamsimsafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 1,111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cocohut Village Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hua Laem Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hua Laem Resort

Property: Hua Laem Resort
Address: 130 6 Had Rin Koh Phangan Suratthani, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing