We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lazy House - Fantastic”
Review of Lazy House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lazy House
Certificate of Excellence
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani, Thailand
1 review
“Lazy House - Fantastic”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have stayed in several of the dorms in Haad Rin as i go to the party regularly; and i have never felt that i wanted to write a review or recommend a place before - but after staying at the Lazy House for 10 days this trip; i felt i had to thank them for the brilliant service and care i received.

The rooms and beds are all in fantastic condition and everything works properly - a rarity in Haad Rin! The staff were brilliant - i lost my passport and a girl and a guy from Lazy house helped me track it down to a bar i left my wallet in - it took two days but they found it!

As a regular visitor to Haad Rin, i often need to do a bit of business while I am there; the facilities such as internet and general quietness of Lazy House were ideal for me to get a bit of work done in peace and quiet while still having the sociability of staying in a dorm.

So if you are going to Haad Rin, and you want to stay in a really clean, friendly and well run place - head to Lazy House every time - Best Value Dorms in Haad Rin!

Room Tip: All the rooms are new and well kept, they are all really quiet for Haad Rin too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    17
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
9
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've travelled around the world and this was by far the worst hostel I have ever stayed in. I stayed with a group of 8 of my friends and we were placed in the micro hostel. I certainly did not have high expectations but the conditions in the room were more terrible and ghetto-like than I ever could have imagined. There was literally no room to move in the room between the beds, the toilet in the bathroom did not flush, we had no sink with running water, and the door to our room didn't lock. The hostel management made no effort to solve the problem, and as expected our room was broken into during the full moon party and things were stolen. I was beyond disgusted with how poorly the manager handled the situation. He made extremely racist generalizations about 'rich western girls'. He blamed the incident on the Thai mainatenance man and forced him to pay for the damage out of his own pocket. The manager told us we were stealing money from someone who only made x amount of money per month. It was a terrible experience and the quality of the room for the amount that we paid was insane.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelgirl1328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lazyjonHaadRin, Owner at Lazy House, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We remember you lot ,

If there was a breakin why did you all run when i insisted that the police were called ????
You tried to cheat the hostel out of thousands of pounds by lying about a breaking

6 of your group knew nothing of your break in Why is that ????
And you and you 1 friend left in a high speed run when i told you the police were coming !!!

I have handed your passport info to the police myself this has been passed to Immigration officers aswell .
Karma will get you ,have a nice cancer you poisoness minger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Best place to stay. End of. The owner (Lazy Jon) is a legend. You'll be treated well. You'll be comfortable and looked after. Jon will bend over backwards to help people, so long as they behave themselves and are respectful. He saved my life back in 2005 when I was sick. Always loved the Lazy House bar and the guesthouse is every bit as chilled and friendly. You'd be foolish to go anywhere else. I rest my case..

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrWright33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have stayed here 2 times. It's great! Very clean, very safe and comfortable. Only a few minutes walk to the main full moon beach. And still able to have a good night rest without party noise. We looking forward to our third visit! (Also because if the fantastic breakfast at the Lazy House restaurant just around the corner:-))))

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ByDow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2013

what a blinding gaff,why would you stay anywhere else????LOVED IT....stayed for full moon and liked it that much i stayed for 2 weeks after,friendly staff made you feel really welcome,but above all very clean and reasonably priced,without a doubt the BEST place to stay while in haadrin

Room Tip: speak with a guy named jon,he will look after you very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carloluca234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at the lazy house hostel for 2 wks on my way through to oz, loved everything about it.Met plenty of people to party with,food was good English brekkie in the mornings,pool at the back if you don't fancy beach, air con in my room which was also comfortable and very clean, staff were so helpful especially the owner Jon he would do anything to make your stay enjoyable as possible. Would defo return on my home bound journey :-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarface9769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed in the Lazy house hostel inbetween fullmoon parties and found it to be cheap ,clean and comfortable. my private room had a large plasma tv and a full satellite hook up .there is a plunge pool in the garden at the year of the guesthouse , great if you just cant drag yourself to the beach.
would return .

Room Tip: choose a room that overlooks the garden , its a bit quieter.away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolo12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Lazy House Shenanigans Guest House
0.0 mi away
Seventeen Hostel
Seventeen Hostel
#195 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bed 'n' Bar Hostel
Bed 'n' Bar Hostel
#253 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Family House Resort
Family House Resort
#81 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mr. Black Resort
Mr. Black Resort
#104 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.2 mi away
Our House
Our House
#45 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy House

Property: Lazy House
Address: 91/13 moo 6, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 356 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lazy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing