We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay on Sairee Beach”
Review of Prick-Tai Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prick-Tai Resort
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great stay on Sairee Beach”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here after we finished our Open Water course at a nearby dive school.

We were a bit hesitant after reading the negative reviews but the price (500 baht for a large fan room) and location (steps from the beach) were perfect.

We were so pleasantly surprised. Rooms were basic and clean, but you won't spend much time there. Staff was so great! They were so friendly and accommodating. They even booked us a 5am tuktuk to get us to the pier this morning.

We didn't see any bugs in the rooms at all. Fan was great! I know they have aircon rooms, but it was cool enough that we didn't need it.

Very secure. Deadbolt and padlocked.

If you're looking for a clean room at a low price in THE location, this is it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackenzie_Beebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    12
    7
    9
See reviews for
2
17
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights whilst diving with Roctopus. Had an AC room, thing the majority are fan. Very happy with the accommodation. Very clean and secure. The rooms have 2 locks and had no concerns about security. Good location and very quiet at night despite being close to several bars and restaurants etc.
No pool but one is under construction and due to be completed in December 13.
Only negative is that wifi was slow at best and often off.
Great Thai restaurant, Coffee Boat, only yards away.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jamesthescot71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipawin, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed at Prick-Thai in May 2013 for 5 nights. We were diving through New Way Diving and this is the hotel that they affiliate with. We decided to stay 1 night originally to see if there were better options available.

At first we were disappointed that it didn't have a pool, but were extremely happy to be right at the beach. Every other place we looked at with a pool had the same type of room with a higher price. Nothing seemed to compare in cleanliness and location even though we didn't have a pool we decided to stay. Good choice.

We were on Sairee Beach close to everything but far enough away to have a good sleep at night (trust me it gets rowdy down at the bars). The ladies did our laundry for next to nothing by hand and I'll tell you, I can't even get my laundry to smell that good.

For 600 Baht a night great location, clean towels and sheets every second day and a fan room (there is A/C available, we just didn't need it). The only thing is the roosters, but you can't escape them anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srospad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Good place,
location is ideal, rooms are small but clean and good, no wifi in the room is a small disadvantage but overall we liked it a lot.
Air conditioner is strong and working well and was very effective in the hot month of march, thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZMHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsipaw, Myanmar
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The cheaper rooms at this nondescript hotel hold great value, as for around 600 baht you are along the water and near the heart of Sairee beach. The facilities are mostly new and the lady who runs the joint is comparatively quite friendly. Only downfalls, there's no WiFi nor breakfast.

Don't let the dive schools fool you!! This hotel is under separate ownership and management, and if this accommodation is 'included' in the price tag of your diving course, you actually are paying an inflated price in order to cover the costs associated with housing you. Luckily, this is a good place to be situated.

Until now I have not commented about other reviewers, but in this case I will make an exception. It seems that those who stayed here and had a negative experience were likely looking for five star treatment at a two star price. And as for the staff being 'rude', I can only imagine it is due to a high degree of ethnocentrism.

Room Tip: the A/C rooms are not worth the inflated cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_Daire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as it was included in our Open Water course. Our understanding is that they don't ten to advertise but rather take Open Water students from a variety if scuba schools - so you could easily end up here if you do a course. As a couple, we have been staying in mid-range accommodation for about 1,500baht. So for us, this was bearable but not ideal. We didn't spend much time in the room. Budget travelers might have thought better of it.

Bugs!! So many bugs!! Spiders, Mosquitos and geckos (which scream loudly). Your noisy neighbors will consist of cicadas and a rooster which crows from 6am onwards.

No hot water, no top sheets, no free wifi, no housekeeping, no pool and you'll need buy toilet paper after you've run out of the supplied two rolls.

It is very close to the beach. Had no problems with security or theft.

This is budget accomendation and doesnt pretend to be otherwise so I can't rank it too poorly and can't compare it to other budget spots. So take my review with a grain of salt. Normally costs 600baht per night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem_TravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The place itself is alright, but you can find way better accommodation for a more competitive price. There's no real communal vibe to the place. The beds were decently comfortable, and the place was kept clean. The shower had horrible water pressure.
I would call it just average all around however the lady at the front desk was extremely rude on a couple of occasions - you don't ever see her, but when you have to interact with her it's unpleasant. We locked our key in the room by accident and she acted like we were the scum of the earth! Prik Thai indeed!
No free wifi at the bungalows by the way - only paid.
Skip this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilynoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Pha Ngan
0.0 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
516 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#31 of 49 in Koh Tao
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.0 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#5 of 140 in Koh Tao
620 reviews
0.0 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prick-Tai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prick-Tai Resort

Property: Prick-Tai Resort
Address: 10/ 44 Moo 1, Sairee Beach | Koh Tao, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #208 of 372 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing