We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice beach but but resort not for authentic Thailand seekers” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seetanu Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seetanu Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice beach but but resort not for authentic Thailand seekers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Koh Phangan is an extremely beautiful island and the Ao Pao Chao beach is one of it's best bays. Some nice restaurants on the beach at the neighbouring mini-resorts. Far away from the full moon party, the only disturbance was the Seetanu resort itself. The Reef mentioned is dead so imagine more rocks and plenty of water plants and some aquarium fish. Very nice shallow waters though. The next beach (Haad Salad) has similar look & feel but fantastic snorkelling!
The Seetanu bungalow resort itself I can't recommend unfortunately. All the typical Thai hostmanship and friendlyness is gone. Also this is concrete bungalows, concrete restaurant... not the look and feel you expect in tropical paradise. For us that was a problem, we don't fly all the way to Thailand for western food, leather coaches, glass tables, 25/7 tv noise in the restaurant and house music at sunset. As mentioned in previous reviews I read, the European owners were very rigid and unfriendly in their approach. You even get a sheet with prices or everything you break in the room. Also beach-view is only for the happy few in front row, not even the restaurant. But in the end we moved next door, where we met several others who had moved, Neighbouring resort Seaflower is really great and has all the things you expect on such a beach, quite music, bonfire, bbq on the beach, hapiness & friendlyness, sunbeds in the shadow... also the place next to that, Phangan Cabanas was far better than Seetanu... even with a swimming pool, Burmese hospitality, great food, beach view everywhere and at the beach dining... and above all 30% of the prices of Seetanu. So my summary is: nice, well organised, expensive place for those who are not travelling to Thailand for the country's food, atmosphere and SMILE!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FamilyTrackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quentin s, Gérant at Seetanu Bungalows, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Of course it is impossible to please everybody, but this comment is so unjust that we just have to respond. We think that this gentleman did not inform himself well enough before coming to Thailand and his expectations did not match the reality. Because of this we can understand that he is disappointed, but that is no reason to take it out on our resort.

On our web-site and other booking sites it is clearly stated which bungalows are “beach front”, which ones have a “sea view” or a “garden view”.

Our restaurant has a wide selection of food, Thai, as well as Western, so we can cater as many tastes as possible and our prices are very competitive. To know this the gentleman would have had to have been in our restaurant, but he never did, he did not even stay 1 night.

It is true that we have a T.V. in the restaurant, but the volume is ALWAYS at zero and we NEVER play house music, not even around the full moon. Chill-Out, Lounge and Reggae Music is the mix that we play, at a very discrete volume. Furthermore, from the restaurant you have an excellent view of the sea.


We regret that this man has not enjoyed his holiday, but we have tied-as we always do- to give the best holiday experience to everybody.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    113
    34
    16
    18
See reviews for
85
163
61
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Plainsboro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Loved it!!! Lovely setting, clean, right on the beach. Owners and staff are super friendly, laidback, and genuine! The food is delicious. It felt like my second home for a few days!!! Highly recommended!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Saramanouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were looking for a relaxing few days away from had rin so we booked to stay at seetanu bungalows for 4 nights.
The grounds are really lovely, so peaceful & quiet, just what we wanted. The beach was also quiet & relaxing & was particularly beautiful on a sunny morning.
We were showed to our bungalow which was a Junior bungalow with air conditioning. Looked very nice from outside with sitting area, however we have rated the room lower than other points because we didn't find it comfortable. The bed sheet was too small for the bed so we ended up fighting over it every night. The toilet didn't smell too clean & the tap was falling off. If you want the room cleaned or towels you have to ask, which we didn't feel comfortable doing.
Food is their restaurant is fantastic, we had some really lovely meals there & was reasonably priced. The service also was very good.
The staff here are really helpful & friendly, they offered a lot of advice on what to do/see on the island & we were always greeted with a smile.
Overall we would recommend seetanu if you wish to have a peaceful stay on koh phangnan but based on the bungalow we stayed in we would recommend you upgrade your room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abigolucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

When I checked in, I was upgraded for the same price, so I was happy! The bungalow was lovely, clean and spacious. Very friendly owners and staff. The only thing is that sometimes the wifi is an issue for Apple devices (but this was explained to me, so I knew to expect it). This has been my favourite place in Thailand so far.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Londita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights after full moon festivities on the other side of the island. When we checked in, we were taken to our room, a double bed with fan, and were greeted by a 2 inch cockroach crawling the wall and a massive hole in the drywall. We immediately voiced our concerns and asked to be moved. Unfortunately they were fully booked. The owner did come and makeshift patched the wall and gave us a can of cockroach killer for our new roommate. They did say they would upgrade us to an oceanfront villa the next night for the remainder of our stay for a nominal fee. Seeing as the difference between the two rooms is more than triple the cost, we were happy to take it. Once we moved, we had a fantastic stay. The room we moved to was massive with all the amenities we could ask for. The one issue in all the suites was that the water pressure was awful. I understand this isn't necessarily the fault of the resort owners as they are on a well/septic system but what's the point of the beautiful big tub and fancy shower to have the water dribble out? Seemed a bit more disappointing that way! The resort owners did mention they are going through a ton of upgrades and my hope is that it will be even better when we return!

Room Tip: Unless they have updated the rooms with fan-only, I'd pay the extra bucks and get one of the upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenellephoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for paradise, here it is. We stayed for 3 nights and planned to continue our trip at another place, but we had to come back and spend 4 more nights, very good accomodation, price, very nice staff, perfect location. Certainly we will come back and really recommend to everyone to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia4613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great location on the Chao Phao beach. We stayed in the cheapest room which was very basic, with no AC, most probably the other rooms are more comfortable.
The best thing about this resort is the waiter Aung and the Belgian owners, very helpful and informative.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
1.5 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Loyfa Natural Resort
Loyfa Natural Resort
#13 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nice Sea Resort
Nice Sea Resort
#3 of 129 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.5 mi away
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
#7 of 354 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seetanu Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seetanu Bungalows

Property: Seetanu Bungalows
Address: 81/3 Moo 8, Koh Phangan Island | koh phangan island, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 354 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seetanu Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seetanu Bungalows boasts 16 bungalows, offers family services and an unforgettable holiday in Koh Phangan- all for great value for money. Seetanu is ideally set on Ao Chao Phao beach, amid a tropical garden, suitable for relaxation, peace and quiet. You’ll change your rhythm, living between heaven and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Seetanu Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing