We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and super fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Tai Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient and super fun!”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed here last October - we were there for the Full Moon party. But even if you aren't there for the party, Baan Tai is a great place to stay. Our room was clean, spacious, and well-lit. Scott is really helpful with tips and advice on exploring the island. And the beer pong is super fun. AND - It's walking distance from a really good restaurant, where I had one of the best pad thai ever in my life!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaanTaiBackpackers, Manager at Baan Tai Backpackers, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
cheers for the kind words, we had a blast as well, be sure to come back for more fun next time you are in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    25
    4
    8
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
31
116
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Not clean at all (big spider in dorm, ants in the bathroom, etc.)
But really nice staff and awesome to meet people and go party together.
I really liked that you can watch movies, use the playstation and computer for free.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank backpacker123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaanTaiBackpackers, Manager at Baan Tai Backpackers, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
crazy thought but why didn't you mention to staff during your stay that there was a spider and ants in your room? why wait to complain on the internet after the fact? all of our dorms and dorm toilets are cleaned once daily however being on a tropical island many critters can get inside, members of staff are on hand at all times for any customer issues HOWEVER the customer must voice the issue, but then again some people just want to complain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Really enjoyed my time here, it's a great hostel! The place was super clean, and in a really good location (all taxi drivers know where it is)! The staff were amazing and very welcoming. Scott was cool and fun and Aae was the sweetest lady.. both were always on hand to help, answer questions or just to have a chat! Very sociable hostel, it was easy to meet people and before the Half Moon party we all got together for lots of pre-drinking, card games and to paint each other in neon paint. I would definitely come back here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

super close to the beach, lots of wonderful people there to meet, the strong drinks served made it a little hard to make it to the beach haha.

awesome location, make sure you rent a moped and get around the island. don't be a stranger, staff is super cool and can give you everything you need.

don't forget to get to sign up for the padi scuba certification when you there. worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roloreiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for a full moon and the week thereafter. Place was clean, The staff were great, all helpful, They know the Island and can figure out a way to find something for you to do all the time. Even led us to some local bars that were pretty great. There is a super quiet beach a one minute walk away; in low season I sat there reading for 5 hours in a hammock and saw 1 other tourist. The house cat is a determined gecko hunter when not asleep.

Room Tip: I chose the 6 person coed room...No problems, had a patio overlooking the jungle which was sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at this great backpackers for the black moon party night.
Room was super clean with beach and sunset view. Host was super nice & helpful.

I highly recommend this place where you meet lot of people from all around the world.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed at Baan Tai for Full Moon and loved it! At first it may be frustrating that hostels require a 5 min night stay around this time, but it's worth it because it gives you time to get to know all of the other people also staying for 5 days! Plus there are plenty of fun parties around the area in the meantime. Also, we had a private room and it felt just like a hotel room!

PROs:
- good location (10 min walk from convenience store and several restaurants. Right across the street from arguably the most famous and delicious restaurant on the island, Fisherman's! Also it's easy and not sketchy to catch a cab to and from FM)
- very clean
- decent price (not sure about dorms, but for private room, private bathroom, a/c, around Full Moon ~ $30 a night)
- great owner and guests

CONs:
- probably not for guests who don't want to party some

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.1 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Echo Beach Backpackers
Echo Beach Backpackers
#12 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Phangan Arena
Phangan Arena
#9 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
6.5 mi away
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
#7 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
3.1 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Tai Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Tai Backpackers

Property: Baan Tai Backpackers
Address: 61/3 Moo 1, Ban Tai Road | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 356 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baan Tai Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Koh Phangan's best-loved Western-run hostels for backpackers! Come stay with us, chill out with us and party long into the night with us, all while being sure you'll get an excellent night's sleep in one of our bright, spacious & whistle-clean dorm or private rooms. We're a small hostel (only room for 42!), so getting to know people is guaranteed. In fact, our friendly, sociable environment is one of the things we're most proud of. We really care about your time spent with us, and will treat you like family! ....We're situated in Baan Tai, which is exactly the area you want to stay in for all the island's famous jungle parties, including Half Moon Festival, Maya, Jungle Expererience, Sramanora Waterfall Party and Shiva Moon. We're also within walking distance to Black Moon, Baan Sabai and Loi Lay floating bar party which is on every Sunday night and hosts some of the best DJs worldwide. We're a 15 minute drive to Haad Rin for Full Moon. Baan Tai is also smack bang in the middle of Haad Rin and Thong Sala - the island's main town and pier, so we're a really great base to explore the rest of the island from. You can rent mopeds from us, and we'll give you all our hot tips! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Baan Tai Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing