We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much love for this place...”
Review of Hansa Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hansa Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 137 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 17, 2013

You will probably be on here for the same reason that I was last year.. Looking for good accomodation last minute!! Due to the lack of reviews I thought I would write one .. Hope it helps

Hansa Resort is one of the most chilled out places I have ever been.. Everyone who stays there during Full moon seems to become one big family (thanks to the warming staff and great communal area). The owner Ken is an utter legend.. A true Mr Chow. He wakes up takes his gown off goes for a swim then has fresh fruit prepared...(legend). We even met him on Full Moon and he gave us a lift back in his 4*4 with a load of people coming back for a party !

With regards to our stay we stayed in the actual house itself which was quiet and peaceful! The pool is lovely and views are stunning. They key part of my review is the fact you can stay here and be 5 mins from the action in Haad Rin but not have to deal with theft or rowdy uni kids up all night. It's close to the pier as well so if you rent a bike from Kens mate in Ban Tai you can go all over its epic !

Seriously people stay here you won't regret it .. If you are thinking of staying in Coral Bungalows in Haad Rin DONT stay at Hansa :)

Room Tip: Try and get in the house :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 50 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

I really liked Hanza resort, my friends arrived on the 1st August 2012 for the full moon party on the 4th/5th. From a long trip from Cambodia! Our Room was Great, really cool and funky lay out of the thatched hut rooms, 9 &10. Couldn't knock them, nicest place I'd stayed on a month long trip around Asia. the staff were all really friendly an the other people staying were too, mostly MC's & DJ's and a cool vibe of peolple, so when the music was on always cool tunes! the owner Kenny is a really nice and helpful guy!! And the services on hand are great too, free wifi, free pool, sofa's and hammocks right on the beach and the swimming pool right next to it all.. When I come back to Koh Phangan again in the future I will defeniatly stay here again, and ill go for a hut right on the beach which looked really cool!
Also there is a 7eleven about 3 mins walk down the road and a good scooter rental place over the road from 7eleven to the Left Not the right!! Hadd Rin is about 10 mins away from there and 100baht pp per trip or 150baht for the day renal price of a scooter.. Best way to see the island!


For the booking online part, me and my friend did ours on the net whilst in Cambodia and it said out card details for payment had been taken so when we came to leave we had our bill handed to us, but after a discussion we paid what was owed, got home checked our credit cards and the money had not been taken out as we thought it would of had... So a tip, take cash ready to pay your bill and if your booking it, email or call to see if you can make a reservation!
I just hope it doesn't get too popular and kill the nice chile vibe!
Hope this has helped people on their travels :)
Enjoy... Peace.
Rob, 25, UK

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simpson_ayy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

great place to be. lived here for a year and cant wait to be back! i hear lots has changed. hope not too much! would recommend it to anybody. your valuables will not be rummaged though and/or stolen. very good people own and run Hansa! sorry about your luck Ken but you have to understand that this is all that they have and try to make the most of it! when i lived there i actually was asked to stay next door at SP for 2 nights because of full moon party and was a little disappointed but wasnt that big of a deal. the family that run SP is wonderful as well. see you soon everyone!!!

Room Tip: if you dont need to stay on the beach, the rooms on the bottom of the house are better than the huts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ftstpsnthsnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We travelled from koh samui to koh phangan ready for the full moon this month. We had looked at some reviews and decided that Haad Rin where the full moon is would be crazy so decided to stay slightly out of it at the more sedate Ban Tai Beach. We booked Hansa as we wanted a nice little beach bungalow with its own private beach for residents and a nice little splash pool.
We weren't disappointed when we arrived the lovely girls on reception sorted out our key and we were quickly shown to our bungalow. The outsides look lovely all little thatched roofs and sliding doors. There was a good double bed in the room a fridge with water provided and everything looked and smelled clean. The bathroom is up a couple of steps and was also very clean and decent sized. The only thing about the room was that the electric would trip regularly so we would have to flip the switch on the side of the bungalow but it was no big deal. After a couple of days the ants had decided to find their way into the room. The girls from reception cleaned the room and the ants were gone when we went back in.
We tried to book a boat for two days after the full moon but they were all full (book early if you want to leave after the party) so we had to stay another night we asked if we could stay another night and she said yes and that was that we were booked in.
We had drinks and food in the hotel all which were reasonable priced and good quality one night the bar girl had gone and one of the workers told us to pay in the morning for our drinks and then we had to remind them the next day (very very chilled out people).
The location is good and the beach is lovely very quiet and secluded, easy to reach haad rin for the full moon costs 100baht per person on a good 15 min journey very good value.
Plenty of places to eat if you don't want to leave Ban Tai we had some lovely curries and English food while we were there and particularly enjoyed the fisherman's restaurant (you don't have to have fish).
Would recommend this place to someone who wants to be near enough to the action to get there quickly and easily but far enough away to enjoy lazy days and some sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

This hotel tries to cheat your money. I booked one night's stay on Agoda, for the day after the full moon party. Even though I had a reservation, they said they were fully booked, and that they didn't change their booking availabilities on Agoda in time. They instead showed me to this crap hole across the street, with a disgusting toilet, and no air conditioning even!!!

What they do is they take your booking... then during busy times like the full moon party, they charge walkins 5x more for the same room, in cash, and then they give them your room.

Interestingly, there was ANOTHER COUPLE trying to check in, that had the same problem as me. They to could not get a room even though they already paid/reserved on Agoda.

We had already rented motorbikes for the day, so we wasted money on that, and all the time spent to get there. We ended up having to take the boat back to Koh Samui to find a room.

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME RISKING BOOKING THIS HOTEL, spend your money at a responsible hotel that will not cheat your money.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YEGTraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Allez y tout est parfait
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolap76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cezik85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
1.1 mi away
Rung Arun Resort
Rung Arun Resort
#22 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
94 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blue Lotus Resort
Blue Lotus Resort
#9 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Papillon Bungalows
Papillon Bungalows
#33 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
THE BAY Resort & Restaurant
THE BAY Resort & Restaurant
#15 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Green Peace Bungalows
Green Peace Bungalows
#14 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
110 reviews
5.6 mi away
Nice Sea Resort
Nice Sea Resort
#2 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansa Beach Resort

Address: 52/5 Moo 1 | Ban Tai Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $30 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hansa Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Hansa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing