We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach Resort Hacienda
Ranked #97 of 137 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Hacienda was great, we stayed in one of the rooms poolside and this well presented and looked after.
Very hapopy with the overall experien ce, food was great, the pool was ideal and the location was OK too. You can rent Mopeds there for a very reasonable price and get around the rest of the island no problem,

Great for backpackers or casual holiday makers! DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A RESORT OR ARE ANNOIED BY YOUND PEOPLE HAVING FUN. You wont enjoy it and will just wind yourselves up.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Resort Hacienda, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Hey Joe
What a cracking review, the whole Hacienda team got a big grin on their face after reading it.
Thank you very much for your praise and comments and we would love to welcome you back any time.
David D.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 274 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Where to start. My partner and I arrived on the island for a week and split the stay between two resorts. First bit was on north island at a beautiful resort called cabana. The rest at Hacienda for full moon party. The day we came to hacienda we drove a scooter down to reception from the other resort and asked if they could pick us up with their "pick up service" the receptionist told us no they can't but for 500 baht they will be happy to.. Get Bent. The amount of money we spent on this place we shoulda had a truck pick us up no questions asked. We had booked a nice "poolside" room which really should be Roofview. Farthest thing from poolside. It was up stairs not even close to poolside. The rooms have two beds one double and one single. The food is VERY expensive and quite lame to be honest. We ended up goin next door to a place called cozy bungalow. the food was very reasonable.There is NO beach what's so ever. They have break rock in front of the property.. Infact in either direction of this dump is beautiful beach. Not sure why they wouldn't build a retaining wall with some steps down to a nice beach. Instead you have to climb over this dangerous sharp rock. I went to replace my towels with clean ones and no one could find a key to unlock the towel room?? Wifi sucks. Doesn't even work, I went down 4 times to find out whats up. they finally gave me the password for staff wifi which worked only part of the time. Save your money and stay anywhere but here. This place is a rip off. The moment we were checking out, a lot of people were checkin out at the same time. So many of the people were being charged an extra 1200 baht for sheets that had minor marks. They didnt even try to wash them. Seems like a money grab. Don't start a bar tab. Pay it and keep receipt. We saw people getting their wallets shuffled for that to.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Honblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David D, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Resort Hacienda, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

We are sorry you did not enjoy your time with us and I would like to address each issue.
We do offer free transfers from Thong Sala piers and surrounding areas however your previous accommodation is located in the north west part of the island which is a 50 minutes round trip.
As for your room, your balcony was overlooking the pool. These rooms have a door on either side, one over the pool and one at the back. We only have one pool so you would not have a “pool view” over every side, just the pool side. You were less than 10 meters from the pool. I am sorry if you expected something else.
At our restaurant we sell quality food which does cost more. Many places in Thailand use cheap ingredients (oil instead of butter, hot dogs instead of sausages, etc.) There are many budget restaurants in the area so we choose to have a quality restaurant. Cheaper food is located within a five minute walk of the resort.
As for the beach, we have addressed the problem. The rock wall was installed by the government late last year to combat the effects of erosion. The beach is still accessible within a 1 minute walk. We are in the process of creating a walkway but we had to wait until the rocks had settled into place. This has just recently happened and the walkway will be installed within one month.
Upon checking in we let you know reception here is not 24 hours. We are open from 7am until 9pm. There are signs up for those that forget this. If you need towels, room cleaning or any other services you need to ask during these hours. I do apologize for any confusion in this matter.
We have had problems with the WiFi over full moon periods due to the mass amounts of people that come for this event. We have now installed a powerful upgraded system to handle the heavier load. There are no more WiFi problems. I am sorry this was not ready for your stay with us but you should be pleased to hear there will no more complaints on this front.
When people check in we inform them that the glow in the dark party paint does not wash out of the sheets and advise them to shower before going to bed. Some of our guests get a little carried away at the beach parties and therefore forget our advice. We cannot reuse the stained sheets and have to charge accordingly. We go over this with everyone upon check in so there are no surprises. It is also clearly printed on the check in forms.
I do sincerely wish there was more we could have done for you. I hope the rest of your holiday was more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My girlfriend and i arrived at reception and we had to look all around the ''resort'' for staff to check in.Our check in was really quick, the man didnt tell us any information about the resort, facilities, breakfast times and didnt give us vouchers for our included breakfast which we needed the next morning.He just gave us information about which mushroom shakes to drink at the half moon party and that we should drink buckets that contain fake spirits 'poison' and its really cheap. ? We know that drugs are common but why should a receptionist at a ''resort'' for a couple who just wants to have a nice holiday recommend a magic mushroom drink...??? We stayed in a standard double room which was very disappointing for a resort it is more like a backpackers room. The bathroom was the worst part, For starters the drain for the shower was out the side of the wall and i assume from the smell that there was no trap on it as the drain stuck out our whole room. The water smelt like poo aswell so we could never feel clean.We were expected to use the toilet and than throw out the paper in the bin and not in the toilet.. how can you put pooey toilet paper in the bin?? The receptionist seemed shocked when we asked for our room to be cleaned.There is barely a beach,the pool died our swimwear orange (we still dont know what that pool could have contained) , every time when we tried to talk to the receptionist he was completely uninterested in holding any kind of conversation with us i could have gotten more out of a rock.We were also not aware that having 4 or 5 beers during work hours was acceptable from a resort either (the receptionist)... Overall this experience put a huge sad face on our holiday.

Room Tip: dont choose any of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

PORTUGUÊS:
Estive hospedada no hacienda e o hotel tem boas condições,mas o dono daquilo é uma pessoa que está sempre a tentar vender tudo e mais alguma coisa. Senti-me um pouco desconfortável com isso... não nos deixou fazer o check-out à hora que queriamos, obrigando-nos a fazer mais tarde para termos de apanhar um taxi com ele no valor de 200 baths (4€) para uma distância de 5minutos de carro e 15 minutos a pé... uma vez que tinhamos horas para apanhar o barco...
Para mim não foi uma boa experiência estar naquele hotel.

ENGLISH:
I've been staying at the hacienda and the hotel is well placed, but the owner of what is a person who is always trying to sell everything and anything. I felt a little uncomfortable with that ... Do not let us check out at the time we wanted, forcing us to do later in terms of catching a taxi with him worth 200 baht (€ 4) for a distance of 5minutos by car and 15 minutes by foot. .. once we had hours to take the boat ...
For me it was not a good experience to be in that hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ines_almeida_martins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We payed alot to stay here over full moon party, and I most definitely think it was not worth it. The food is over priced and the service is awful at the restaurant. It's nice to not be on full moon beach I guess. The wifi sucked cuz it was so busy but otherwise it was clean and had a nice pool

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my fiancé. We were staying in the resorts nicest room which very spacious with fantastic views out over the sea, plus a nice balcony. However the air con didn't work and the bathroom was just a tiny wet room. They seem to have real issues with the cleaners, rooms weren't ready until quite a while after check in time and our room was not cleaned once while we were there, nor were we given clean towels until we asked for them. One of the staff told us the cleaners were 'ridiculously under paid so hard to get them to stay'.
The restaurant was also disappointing, dispite the number of staff hanging around watching tv, it took ages to get served. Food was good but expensive for what it was.
On the plus side, the pool is great, big, deep and really clean, plus a pool bar.
This plus is just a little too laid back for its own good and could do with a real shake up.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarisTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Fun resort with everything you need. Staff friendly from the off with plenty of English speaking. Rooms were cleaned as frequently as you wanted, diving company on site, restaurant serving good food. We were recommended the Mexican around the corner which was incredible. Reception staff arranged taxis at any time, sorted transport for half moon party. Would return, in fact.....tempted to beg for a job. May be back after Samui and Koh Tao

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Daizyavfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
B 52 Beach Resort
B 52 Beach Resort
#78 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach Village Backpackers
The Beach Village Backpackers
#103 of 396 in Ko Pha Ngan
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
#18 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
First Villa Beach Resort
First Villa Beach Resort
#12 of 396 in Ko Pha Ngan
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
#22 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
600 reviews
3.8 mi away
Silvermoon Beach & Jungle Resort
Silvermoon Beach & Jungle Resort
#25 of 396 in Ko Pha Ngan
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Resort Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Resort Hacienda

Address: 100/3 Moo 1, Ban Tai Beach | Thong Sala, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand (Formerly Hacienda Resort & Beach Club)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $11 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Resort Hacienda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Beach Resort Hacienda you will have an experience unlike anything else on this legendary party island. Owned and managed by a crew of vibrant, energetic Europeans and staffed by highly trained attentive locals, our mission is to exceed our guests expectations. With a full range of facilities & various types of rooms to fit into any budget, from backpacker to luxury travelers, Beach Resort Hacienda is the perfect place for your holiday. Beach Resort Hacienda is a five minute walk to the Thong Sala (main pier) and Thong Sala Town (main shopping area). It is a fifteen minute drive to Haad Rin (Full moon party) Beach. The half moon, shiva moon, waterfall and jungle experience parties are all within a 7 minute drive. Samui International Airport is a 30-minute ferry ride, followed by a 2-minute taxi ride. Our modern rooms are fitted with tiled flooring, private bathrooms and come with either air conditioning or fan. Cable TV, minibar and hot water shower are included in all rooms other than our budget wooden bungalows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beach Resort Hacienda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing