We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan(Ko Pha Ngan)
$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan(Ko Pha Ngan)
$322
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$397
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$366
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phangan Utopia Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)(Great Value!)
$59
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Cove Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)(Great Value!)
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,357
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveler rating
138
102
59
26
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
138
102
59
26
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmae haadhuge poolseparate lounge arealarge bedroombreakfast staffnearby beachgarden villafull moon partytraditional thainice balconyvery nice hotelfullmoon partybars and restaurantssandbarresortislandkayak
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 346 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2014

I didn't stay in the bungalows but went there for breakfast, lunch and dinner almost everyday! The bar/restaurant in ON the beach, with hammocks, lots of places to chll out, great music, food and an amazing atmosphere. Really easy to meet other travellers and Alex and Nook are worth known. They will easily come amd have a chat with you, give you advice for places to visit on the island and will make all their possible so that you have a good time. You have to go there! It's a must!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank fontrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are nice and well kept, the food is reasonably priced and tasty. The staff are friendly and can't do enough to help. We did not experience any hostility from hotel staff like the other reviews state. This must have something to do with the hotel guest rather than the staff. Really nice beach with great views and the pool is amazing.

Stayed: October 2014, traveled with friends
Thank M15KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2014

This hotel is in an idyllic setting and the rooms and food are good enough. My problem was the staff who, though straining to respect the guests, left us with the opposite experience. Apart from the regular uncomfortable confrontation with various members of the staff, the final straw was when we were taken to the ferry in their taxi. The driver, obviously not in the mood to drive us, took great delight when he left us at the port in a typical Thai sideways rainstorm, knowing that we and our luggage would be soaked through. We had 45 minutes to wait and he was right. He laughed as he left us. More fool him as we would have gladly paid him handsomely if he would have stayed with us in the car.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank kariotahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in September 2014.

We booked a family room and were very impressed with the size of the room - two bedrooms with a single bed and sofa bed in the smaller room and a king size in the main room.

All rooms come with a large balcony overlooking the pool area, unless you book a villa, these looked like they had even bigger outside space allocated to them.

The pool is brilliant at the hotel, very big with a small kids pool at one end.

There's not much nearby, so it's an ideal place if you want to relax. The beach is a on your doorstep and it's big enough to find a nice quiet spot. There are a few options for some relaxing massages, I would recommend the Family Massage place overlooking the bay.

Breakfast in the restaurant is lovely, there's plenty of options and the staff are really quick at replenishing stocks.

The only thing that prevents me from giving the hotel a 5 rating, is the quality of the food served in the restaurant at lunch and in the evening. We only ate here once at lunch and once in the evening, as the food was very average. This was a real disappointment. A hotel like this needs to make sure they are able to offer a good standard of food.

We found ourselves going along to the restaurant near the beach huts, the food was good, but it wasn't ideal having to drag a buggy along the beach.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisDye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2014

We booked one family room, and one superior room. The rooms were located in two different buildings, so had a short walk when visiting each other. Please note that the hotel has no lift, and my elderly parent's were given a room on the 3rd floor. The hotel staff are very helpful though and carried all their luggage up to their room.

The rooms are well equiped, and very spacious. The airconditioning was very effective - we needed it, as July is really warm. I would mention that the wood used to finish the rooms are substandard - not what you expect from 4* standard (painted ply-wood) ... but this might be due to remote location.

I was a bit disappointed in the cleanliness of the family room. Although our linen was crisp, fresh and clean, it was very noticeable that the room has not been dusted for quite some time. I took my wet-wipes and cleaned all the counter tops myself.

The glass sliding door to our balcony (overlooking the swimming pool), was dirty and full of finger marks from previous occupants. So was the mirror in the bathroom.

The bathroom is huge and and has a lovely shower and a big bath tub. On each end of the bath tub there are two huge boxes / holes where I assume the plan was to place plants. I would suggest covering these up, or fill it with something if it's not possible to place plants in it, as this looks unfinished, and the holes and gaps to the outside of the room is visible.

The two-bedroom family unit is very comfortable, and provides privacy to both rooms.
The in-room fridge and coffee & tea facilities are very handy.

Staff were very friendly at breakfast and a good variety of food available. Be sure to take your breakfast coupons with you, as they follow a strict procedure.

We had lunch at the hotel one afternoon - the food was delicious, and not too expensive. Our only negative, was when we order desert, we waited almost an hour! They seemed to have run out of bananas, and I would have appreciated they just tell us and we order something else (or cancel desert), but instead they made us wait while they sent someone to purchase bananas.

We thoroughly enjoyed the huge swimming pool, and the close proximity to the beach. The island of Ko Ma is located right infront of the hotel, and the beach to the left of the hotel has fantastic snorkelling (tide should be high, as it's difficult to swim and snorkel as low tide is just too low).

I would recommend that you rent a vehicle / scooters while staying at Maehaad Bay, as the area is very remote and you will need transportation to explore the island.

The neigboring Utopia Resort has a lovely restaurant and view - and worth a visit.

We prefer the more remote / quite location of Maehaad Bay in the north of Koh Phangan. The South seems very busy with back packers travelling to the island for it's notorious parties.

The road through the middle of the island to Tong Nai Pan area has now been completed and is safe for travel with scooters. Beautiful little spot to visit, nice swimming beach with waves.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews