We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Ko Pha Ngan
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveler rating
162
118
67
30
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
162
118
67
30
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews koh ma cheap laundry service tree house bar big pool mini mart low tide nice bathroom stayed here for nights beautiful pool very nice hotel main town wi fi pool area is thong sala yogurt haad salad full moon
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 405 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are nice and well kept, the food is reasonably priced and tasty. The staff are friendly and can't do enough to help. We did not experience any hostility from hotel staff like the other reviews state. This must have something to do with the hotel guest rather than the staff. Really nice beach with great views and the pool is amazing.

Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank M15KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2014

This hotel is in an idyllic setting and the rooms and food are good enough. My problem was the staff who, though straining to respect the guests, left us with the opposite experience. Apart from the regular uncomfortable confrontation with various members of the staff, the final straw was when we were taken to the ferry in their taxi. The driver, obviously not in the mood to drive us, took great delight when he left us at the port in a typical Thai sideways rainstorm, knowing that we and our luggage would be soaked through. We had 45 minutes to wait and he was right. He laughed as he left us. More fool him as we would have gladly paid him handsomely if he would have stayed with us in the car.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank kariotahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in September 2014.

We booked a family room and were very impressed with the size of the room - two bedrooms with a single bed and sofa bed in the smaller room and a king size in the main room.

All rooms come with a large balcony overlooking the pool area, unless you book a villa, these looked like they had even bigger outside space allocated to them.

The pool is brilliant at the hotel, very big with a small kids pool at one end.

There's not much nearby, so it's an ideal place if you want to relax. The beach is a on your doorstep and it's big enough to find a nice quiet spot. There are a few options for some relaxing massages, I would recommend the Family Massage place overlooking the bay.

Breakfast in the restaurant is lovely, there's plenty of options and the staff are really quick at replenishing stocks.

The only thing that prevents me from giving the hotel a 5 rating, is the quality of the food served in the restaurant at lunch and in the evening. We only ate here once at lunch and once in the evening, as the food was very average. This was a real disappointment. A hotel like this needs to make sure they are able to offer a good standard of food.

We found ourselves going along to the restaurant near the beach huts, the food was good, but it wasn't ideal having to drag a buggy along the beach.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisDye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2014

We booked one family room, and one superior room. The rooms were located in two different buildings, so had a short walk when visiting each other. Please note that the hotel has no lift, and my elderly parent's were given a room on the 3rd floor. The hotel staff are very helpful though and carried all their luggage up to their room.

The rooms are well equiped, and very spacious. The airconditioning was very effective - we needed it, as July is really warm. I would mention that the wood used to finish the rooms are substandard - not what you expect from 4* standard (painted ply-wood) ... but this might be due to remote location.

I was a bit disappointed in the cleanliness of the family room. Although our linen was crisp, fresh and clean, it was very noticeable that the room has not been dusted for quite some time. I took my wet-wipes and cleaned all the counter tops myself.

The glass sliding door to our balcony (overlooking the swimming pool), was dirty and full of finger marks from previous occupants. So was the mirror in the bathroom.

The bathroom is huge and and has a lovely shower and a big bath tub. On each end of the bath tub there are two huge boxes / holes where I assume the plan was to place plants. I would suggest covering these up, or fill it with something if it's not possible to place plants in it, as this looks unfinished, and the holes and gaps to the outside of the room is visible.

The two-bedroom family unit is very comfortable, and provides privacy to both rooms.
The in-room fridge and coffee & tea facilities are very handy.

Staff were very friendly at breakfast and a good variety of food available. Be sure to take your breakfast coupons with you, as they follow a strict procedure.

We had lunch at the hotel one afternoon - the food was delicious, and not too expensive. Our only negative, was when we order desert, we waited almost an hour! They seemed to have run out of bananas, and I would have appreciated they just tell us and we order something else (or cancel desert), but instead they made us wait while they sent someone to purchase bananas.

We thoroughly enjoyed the huge swimming pool, and the close proximity to the beach. The island of Ko Ma is located right infront of the hotel, and the beach to the left of the hotel has fantastic snorkelling (tide should be high, as it's difficult to swim and snorkel as low tide is just too low).

I would recommend that you rent a vehicle / scooters while staying at Maehaad Bay, as the area is very remote and you will need transportation to explore the island.

The neigboring Utopia Resort has a lovely restaurant and view - and worth a visit.

We prefer the more remote / quite location of Maehaad Bay in the north of Koh Phangan. The South seems very busy with back packers travelling to the island for it's notorious parties.

The road through the middle of the island to Tong Nai Pan area has now been completed and is safe for travel with scooters. Beautiful little spot to visit, nice swimming beach with waves.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariB444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2014

Everything was great there. The place is not crowded as comparison to other beaches in Koh Phangan. There is a reef very close where others have to take a boat to get and you can swim. Beach is nice. When you walk slightly 5-10 min) south and pass the rocks you can get to remote beach where no other people (or very few) stay. Few other good restaurants nearby so you don't have to eat always in the hotel.

Great pool, large and clean. Very nice garden.

The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. Beautiful bathrooms. Overall really appreciate the place!

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ciem_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews