We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as expected”
Review of Maehaad Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maehaad Bay Resort
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“As good as expected”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Perfect location (Maehaad Beach is amazing), big and clean rooms, great swimming pool and quite nice staff.

The only reason is not a 5 is that the quality/price ratio is ok, you do not get nothing less/more than expected for the money, and that the breakfast was boring.

Room Tip: The very expensive villa with a swimming pool does not worth the money as you can literally walk int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorRp1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    82
    45
    18
    14
See reviews for
72
124
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

At the first moment that we arrived to the resort we found it very attractive, starting with the modern design, amazing pool, stunning view and very comfortable room so we thought to book right away another night. From that moment we were very surprised with the service of the stuff, their poor English, their poor hospitality and manners and inefficiency. Although the room that we booked for the second night was exactly the same type of room they insisted to move us to another room which we found very unreasonable and annoying. We were trying to get an reasonable answer for that but all we got is cutoff with no explanations.
We expected that they will be happy that we choose to extend our vacation but they gave us the feeling that we are not welcomed or wanted.
We had a Jacuzzi in the room but we couldn't use it because he was extremely dirty and also the Kettle (see picture attached).
Unfortunate the view and the nice resort were not enough to comfort us for the inconvenience :(
I have been traveling a lot lately and never had such an disappointing service - i will never come back again !!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HileeBio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel upon arriving in Ko Phanghan. Its about 20 minutes from the main ferry port, but we wanted somewhere away from the hussle and bussle so was what we were looking for. The hotel itself is lovely, there are a few tiny points that need attention (unpainted tiles etc) but nothing that spoils the setting. The room was clean, with a comfy bed and lovely bathroom. The hotel has a very large swimming pool that was clean and faced the beach. The beach was on the door step, with a stunning view. The only little down points were the breakfast buffet which was fairly limited and the staff seemed to be overworked so werent always available to help. Apart from that the hotel was really nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We orignally booked this hotel based on the reviews of Tripadvisor and Agoda and I must say that we were extremely dissapointed with this resort in almost every aspect. It does suprise me that some people seem to think that this resort is awesome. I can only think that such people are not used to staying in proper 4 star and above hotels!

On arrival, the exterior of the hotel, to the left of the entrance was littered with rubbish, rubble and cut off palm branches, empty bottles etc. Weeds are growing around the Hotel Signage and the woodwork that makes up the name of the hotel does not look like it has received any varnish in 5 years.

The room itself is large but on closer inspection was absolutely filthy and full of dust. It looked as if it has just been left the same from being used by the pervious customers. The airconditioner stank and their was a black mouldy buildup on the vents of the aircon. I called the staff to show them the state of the room and they just stood there looking at me. Just wiping my finger over any part of the room indicated a build up of dust. I asked for another room, but was told that they are fully booked up. I asked to speak to the manager but was told that he is in Bangkok - basically no one was put in charge and thus no one was going to take any responsibility at all.

There is not even any tea/ coffee in the room and the bar fridge literally had a few tins of cooldrink - nothing else. The curtains were stained - wonder when last they have been washed... we decided to take a walk of the grounds and have something to eat while they cleaned our room properly. During our five day stay, there was one gardener, but he just seemed to do as little as possible which shows as the grass does not look as if it has been trimmed around the edges in ages; there is litter lying in the garden areas and weeds growing everywhere. The sprinklers are just left on the grass with pipes running to waterpoints - surely these should be put away after use - it is very unsightly to say the least. The pool was really dirty and we did not once see anyone clean the pool during the 5 days. At best, they were possibly throwing chemicals into the pool, but if you used goggles underwater, you could see all the dirt on the bottom. Next to the pools, they have some showers which are to be used before climbing into the pool. One of these was blocked and remained so during our stay. There is a bubble type seating area in the pool - this never worked at all. A lot of the loungers around the pool are either broken or also have not seen varnish in many years. As for any service around the pool i.e. someone coming to take drinks orders etc - this does not exist at all. You have to walk all the way to the bar which is not attached to the pool area to place a drinks order and often there was no one at the bar either so you would then need to walk to the restuarant to find someone.

Our room was cleaned properly over the next few days. There are plenty of people who have mentioned about the bed being hard - this is an understatement. I had backache every morning and woke up continuosly during the nights due to being uncomfortable. The water pressure in the rooms is a joke as well...

The rooms are not sound proof by any means and you constantly hear doors banging and we could also hear the neighbours TV playing.

For a 4 star resort, the breakfasts are a joke. The choice is limited and not very nice at all. There are flies all over the place. I chose to not have breakfasts on 2 mornings.

As for activities at the hotel, this does not really exist - My wife asked if we could use a kayak and, if I am not mistaken, they wanted to charge her 200 baht per hour. You can rent a motorbike for the whole day for that price - ridiculous!

The beach is average at best - cant really swim and lots of rough sand and rocks.

We have stayed at 5 hotels in our 3 week holiday and this hotel was the worst by far in every department. If you are expecting a proper 4 star hotel with great service, a clean and tidy enviroment, great service and the normal 4 star standards, then this is not it. However, if you are used to a 2 - 3 star enviroment, then you may be satisfied with it.

In closing, please just read my other reviews on other places that I have stayed and you will notice that they are generally all very positve. Maehaad Bay Resort has the potential to be a proper 4 star resort but it needs to close down for a month and go through a full maintenace makeover and clean up and standards and service need to improve dramatically.

I took a lot of photos of the state of this resort, but have not been able to upload yet - wll do so, when in a position too.

Maehaad Bay Resort will never however see me again.....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meat82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My friends and I stayed at his resort for 3 nights. We had a really bad experience the first day. We couldn't find the driver who was suppose to pick us up at the airport for an hour and a half. We had a friend call the resort to report that we were still at the pier, they sent a another driver. When the driver met us, he made it clear he was angry even though he did not speak english. He sped up on winding roads and ran motorcycles off the road. It was quite a traumatic experience.

Once we arrived to the hotel, my room was very nice but I learned soon after that two of my friends' rooms did not have running water. Apparently, the majority of the resort was out of water. This lasted for about 5-6 hrs. The rest of the stay was average. Most of the staff is hard to communicate with since they have limited or no english knowledge. They also claimed their manager was out of town and they have very little authority on what to do. Not the workers fault, this is a problem management needs to address on how their staff handles situations.

The workers at the restaurant Kantiwit and Cee were very accommodating though and the deluxe rooms were nice. Also, right before I was about to leave and already sitting in the shuttle, the person who cleaned my room found my glasses and returned it. Other than that, this hotel needs to work on how their staff responds to issues.

Room Tip: beds were quite hard in both the deluxe and superior rooms. For a little more money, the deluxe roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMIF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Enjoyed our stay very much. Good service, nice rooms.
For some reason it is not common to explain how big the beds are, which is a factor when traveling with children. The two bed room plus extra bed we had easily sleeps a family of 5.
Ok, the beach may not be the best for swimmers, but for snorkeling it is good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 8 nights in a deluxe room. The room was extremely spacious with a huge bathroom. Very nicely furnished with a huge bed. We also had a lovely two sided balcony with pool and sea view. My niece and partner with young child were staying in a superior room (slightly cheaper) but they experienced noise from adjoining rooms. We did not have any problems at all. We loved how peaceful the resort was and the beach was absolutely stunning and very unspoilt. The pool at the hotel was lovely (apparently the biggest one on the island!). The staff were all lovely and helpful. Breakfast at the hotel was fine but towards the end of the breakfast serving some things had run out but it wasn't a major problem. Breakfast was served in the restaurant overlooking the sea which is so lovely. There aren't a great deal of restaurants to eat at in the evening (although the hotel serves food and drink which is not expensive) but would highly recommend the Wang Sai restaurant which can be reached via a little bridge off the beach. At the far end of the beach is a little beach bar which serves great food.

We travelled to thong sala a few times which was a bit of a trek (20-25 mins drive) but the hotel would provide a taxis at a very reasonable rate.

We would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
2.5 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
0.9 mi away
Green Papaya Resort
Green Papaya Resort
#30 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
303 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
#36 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
475 reviews
9.7 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
2.4 mi away
Sunset Hill Resort
Sunset Hill Resort
#15 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maehaad Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maehaad Bay Resort

Property: Maehaad Bay Resort
Address: 106/4 Moo7, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maehaad Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maehaad Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing