We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but lacking atmosphere”
Review of Maehaad Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maehaad Bay Resort
Ranked #34 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We visited in August and really enjoyed our stay. The room was nice, albeit on the 3rd floor, without a lift. The porter carried our cases though fortunately.

Check in was quick and we were soon relaxing on the balcony which overlooked pool and gardens.

Pool was the best feature of the hotel - it is absolutely ginormous although quite shallow (same depth throughout, other than a small childrens' end. There were two spa seats on either side although these were a bit temperamental. Large pool towels were provided in the room.

Air con only works when you're in the room as you have to leave the key fob in the wall slot - no big issue if you close the curtains before leaving the room to keep the sun out and room cool.

Biggest gripe with the hotel was the AWFUL music they played in the restaurant - think The Carpenters - same CD all day every day. We were ready to jump off the wall by the end and couldn't face sitting inside listening to it!!

There is a bar near to reception that appears to open at 5pm each day - well they switch the music on - but there was never a barman to order any drinks. VERY weird! The receptionist did get us a drink one day but had to go to the restaurant to get it. Odd? Yes!

Beware of cats - they appeared on the top floor staircase at night and freaked us out!

Hotel food is good but more expensive than other restaurants nearby (nicer surroundings and presentation though) but we couldn't face the dreaded music each night so ate out sometimes. At least here the starters arrive together, before the main course... In all other restaurants nearby they arrive ad hoc: Our starters arrived 30 minutes after we finished our main courses for example. If there's 2 of you, don't expect both main courses to come together - they just don't here, other than the hotel's restaurant!

Overall we enjoyed our stay here but be warned the hotel and area are very quiet at night - most people are in bed asleep by 10pm. The bathroom was fantastic - really big with a lovely spacious bath and separate shower. It took us a week to suss out the light switches for the rooms. In total we had 19!!

Would we stay here again? Yes for the pool, but only if they change the music...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gracie_Grey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 287 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed for three nights here and had we not booked onward travel, we would have stayed longer.
We had the most basic room (a superior in the main block) on the second floor which had a great view from the balcony over the pool and gardens. Our balcony was lacking furniture but that may be on order.
The hotel has only been open a few months so there were still one of two bits unfinished but nothing that impacted our stay.
The pool is superb and there is plenty of space to lounge around and enjoy the sun.
Our room was spacious and designed to within an inch of it's life (VERY modern) but we liked it despite the fact that the toilet doors are mostly transparent and there are so many mirrors that it's difficult to not see somebody on the loo...
The staff are very courteous and speak great English. The food in the restaurant is brilliant and the chef does the best mango sticky rice pudding we had. The included breakfast is massive and also very good.
Location wise, the beach is a 30 second walk and if the weather is with you, the snorkelling is pretty good just off the beach.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: if you can afford a pool view bungalow, go for it. otherwise the standard rooms are more than adequa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank THZweibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in February, we came across the hotel on a day trip, as we were staying on Samui, we loved the location and the hotel so booked 3 nights and returned the following week. The hotel had only been open a week, so there were a few teething problems, but this did not spoil our stay, in fact we booked an extra night. The location is so peaceful, due to it only just opening there were very few people in the hotel. The highlight of our stay was a group wedding which was held on the beach, the procession took place through the hotel, with the grooms arriving on elephants. I would definately stay here again if visiting Koh Phangan.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Cycleperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The resort is only a few months old and was practically empty during our stay in late April as it seems word of the new resort hasn't spread yet. It has a spectacular pool and our room had direct beach access. The cost was about 7000baht per night. Not the cheapest accommodation on the island but certainly amongst the finest. The chef and his team are amazing. Being the only guests at the resort for some of our stay we were privilaged to receive great personal treatment from the Chef. Our driver also did a terrific job ferrying us around the island to appointments. He was always smiling. The location is superb on a headland near one of the best snorkeling spots on the island. No need for a boat, you walk out of the resort, onto the sand and into the water which was cloudy during our visit. A wide range of fish to view. WI-FI was very sporadic which is frustrating when you are trying to work and be in touch back home. We were left with a sour taste though when the resort refused to give us our money back for one night of accommodation. We gave them 48 hours notice that, because of the timing of our flight from Kho Samui to Bangkok, we would have to leave a day early to spend the night in Samui rather than risk a delay on the early morning ferry. They refused to refund the money despite lots of notice. Warning to others: only book a night or two at a time if you require flexibility or stay elsewhere.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Pilumitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anders H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gerard5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank rianh706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
2.5 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
10.1 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Hat Rin
404 reviews
10.1 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#17 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Chantaramas Resort
Chantaramas Resort
#24 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
416 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Coast Resort - Koh Phangan
5.8 mi away
Havana Beach Resort
Havana Beach Resort
#28 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maehaad Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maehaad Bay Resort

Address: 106/4 Moo7, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $92 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maehaad Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Maehaad Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing