We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel but lacking atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maehaad Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maehaad Bay Resort
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Boput
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but lacking atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We visited in August and really enjoyed our stay. The room was nice, albeit on the 3rd floor, without a lift. The porter carried our cases though fortunately.

Check in was quick and we were soon relaxing on the balcony which overlooked pool and gardens.

Pool was the best feature of the hotel - it is absolutely ginormous although quite shallow (same depth throughout, other than a small childrens' end. There were two spa seats on either side although these were a bit temperamental. Large pool towels were provided in the room.

Air con only works when you're in the room as you have to leave the key fob in the wall slot - no big issue if you close the curtains before leaving the room to keep the sun out and room cool.

Biggest gripe with the hotel was the AWFUL music they played in the restaurant - think The Carpenters - same CD all day every day. We were ready to jump off the wall by the end and couldn't face sitting inside listening to it!!

There is a bar near to reception that appears to open at 5pm each day - well they switch the music on - but there was never a barman to order any drinks. VERY weird! The receptionist did get us a drink one day but had to go to the restaurant to get it. Odd? Yes!

Beware of cats - they appeared on the top floor staircase at night and freaked us out!

Hotel food is good but more expensive than other restaurants nearby (nicer surroundings and presentation though) but we couldn't face the dreaded music each night so ate out sometimes. At least here the starters arrive together, before the main course... In all other restaurants nearby they arrive ad hoc: Our starters arrived 30 minutes after we finished our main courses for example. If there's 2 of you, don't expect both main courses to come together - they just don't here, other than the hotel's restaurant!

Overall we enjoyed our stay here but be warned the hotel and area are very quiet at night - most people are in bed asleep by 10pm. The bathroom was fantastic - really big with a lovely spacious bath and separate shower. It took us a week to suss out the light switches for the rooms. In total we had 19!!

Would we stay here again? Yes for the pool, but only if they change the music...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gracie_Grey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    78
    39
    15
    13
See reviews for
64
111
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed for three nights here and had we not booked onward travel, we would have stayed longer.
We had the most basic room (a superior in the main block) on the second floor which had a great view from the balcony over the pool and gardens. Our balcony was lacking furniture but that may be on order.
The hotel has only been open a few months so there were still one of two bits unfinished but nothing that impacted our stay.
The pool is superb and there is plenty of space to lounge around and enjoy the sun.
Our room was spacious and designed to within an inch of it's life (VERY modern) but we liked it despite the fact that the toilet doors are mostly transparent and there are so many mirrors that it's difficult to not see somebody on the loo...
The staff are very courteous and speak great English. The food in the restaurant is brilliant and the chef does the best mango sticky rice pudding we had. The included breakfast is massive and also very good.
Location wise, the beach is a 30 second walk and if the weather is with you, the snorkelling is pretty good just off the beach.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: if you can afford a pool view bungalow, go for it. otherwise the standard rooms are more than adequa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THZweibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in February, we came across the hotel on a day trip, as we were staying on Samui, we loved the location and the hotel so booked 3 nights and returned the following week. The hotel had only been open a week, so there were a few teething problems, but this did not spoil our stay, in fact we booked an extra night. The location is so peaceful, due to it only just opening there were very few people in the hotel. The highlight of our stay was a group wedding which was held on the beach, the procession took place through the hotel, with the grooms arriving on elephants. I would definately stay here again if visiting Koh Phangan.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cycleperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

The resort is only a few months old and was practically empty during our stay in late April as it seems word of the new resort hasn't spread yet. It has a spectacular pool and our room had direct beach access. The cost was about 7000baht per night. Not the cheapest accommodation on the island but certainly amongst the finest. The chef and his team are amazing. Being the only guests at the resort for some of our stay we were privilaged to receive great personal treatment from the Chef. Our driver also did a terrific job ferrying us around the island to appointments. He was always smiling. The location is superb on a headland near one of the best snorkeling spots on the island. No need for a boat, you walk out of the resort, onto the sand and into the water which was cloudy during our visit. A wide range of fish to view. WI-FI was very sporadic which is frustrating when you are trying to work and be in touch back home. We were left with a sour taste though when the resort refused to give us our money back for one night of accommodation. We gave them 48 hours notice that, because of the timing of our flight from Kho Samui to Bangkok, we would have to leave a day early to spend the night in Samui rather than risk a delay on the early morning ferry. They refused to refund the money despite lots of notice. Warning to others: only book a night or two at a time if you require flexibility or stay elsewhere.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Pilumitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.9 mi away
Green Papaya Resort
Green Papaya Resort
#28 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#20 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
2.5 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Villa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
Salad Buri Resort & Spa
#33 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
5.8 mi away
Havana Beach Resort
Havana Beach Resort
#21 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sunset Hill Resort
Sunset Hill Resort
#11 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maehaad Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maehaad Bay Resort

Property: Maehaad Bay Resort
Address: 106/4 Moo7, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maehaad Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Maehaad Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing