We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality rooms,pool and beach, Poor restaurant food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mac's Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mac's Bay Resort
Ranked #46 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quality rooms,pool and beach, Poor restaurant food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights as part of my Starfish Thailand tour and had a very good stay here. Stayed in one of the bungalows just behind the pool, which had really comfortable and clean beds. A very spacious bathroom and a powerful shower. Just what I needed to get the neon paint off my body after the Full Moon Party. The beach is great as is the pool, although the pool can get crowded at times. The only bad side to the resort is the quality of food served from the restaurant. They seem to microwave a lot of it, partly due to the high volume of orders from backpackers who can't be bothered to walk 5 mins up the road to another restaurant. I also had to keep going to the restaurant area to get a new roll of toilet paper which wasn't ideal.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the beach bungalows. They may look good from the outside but they're nothing s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottdogg90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    35
    15
    10
    4
See reviews for
8
14
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed here for a week in August and was assigned a beach hut... It was horrible!! Dirty, bathroom door didn't close, sand EVERYWHERE! It looked like something had been murdered in there based on the stains on the walls! We paid extra and moved to a double room which was FANTASTIC!! Clean beds, a bath tub, no bugs, no stains on the walls (or sheets!). The location is beautiful, the beach and pool are on your doorstep! Watching the sun set on the beach was lovely! Mac Bay resort also hosts the Black Moon party which is good fun, although don't expect much sleep as it goes on past 7am!! The food is OK.. I tried to stick to the Thai food as much as possible and it was always nice!! Would recommend staying here if you are on the island!

Room Tip: Avoid the beach hut at all costs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steff_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I had stayed at this hotel for a week. Absolutely loved it. The pool overlooking the beach was just so beautiful. It's quiet, great place to relax. Their own restaurants food was the best ice had in Thailand. Probably explains the excess weight I had put on. The beach isn't so great. But if your a pool person you'll love it. I stayed in the big bungalows opposite the pool sides. They were spacious, clean and such a nice place to stay. Staff were friendly. Only down point is the location. Other than that absolutely loved it!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hooliethetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiha, Japan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Loved my stay at Mac's bay, was a pleasure. The resort is clean and tidy (although plenty of seemingly friendly dogs...) and the pool is amazing.

The staff were fairly lackadaisical but it was made up by the guy who dealt with reception. Not only was he a pleasure to talk to but basically sorted out anything we wanted to do. Would return on his merit alone!!

Rooms are ship shape and clean, had aircon triple that was great for the price.

Only complaint we had was the presence of a rambunctious "real gap" group but that wasn't the resorts fault! Blame real gap...

All in all 5* place

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We found the hostel by accident and immediately decided to stay there. The huts are very basic but they are clean and the bathrooms are well equipped. From the inside they don't look so beautiful but that doesn't really matter, once you go outside you do not want to spend time inside anyway. The huts are located directly on the beach and if you sit in your hammock and look out to the sea and the palm trees it feels like paradise. Also, there is a big pool right next to the restaurant and reception area, which is nice to cool down in the afternoon. The prices in the hotel restaurant are a little more expensive than restaurants in the city, but it is still okay and not as overpriced as many other hotel restaurants. Overall, we stayed there for four nights and totally enjoyed our stay. I would recommend this hostel to everyone who goes to Koh Phangan!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissitini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was so excited to stay on a beach hut at Mac's but I was disappointed with what I got . It is a very basic hut which barely fits two beds. Also our only mirror was cracked and they refused to change it for us. Trust me the hotel rooms are much much nicer then the huts. The black moon party takes place at this hotel which makes sleeping in the beach hut virtually impossible because the party is litterly on your doorstep. Saying this, the food was nice at this hotel and the staff were friendly so my stay wasn't all bad .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ameera T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Planned to stay here for a few days but ended staying weeks. Located between Haad Rin and Thong Sala. Room was average but very cheap given the pool and restaurant were amazing. Staff were by far the best I have met in Thailand. If you don't want a party however don't stay here during black moon festival.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
5.5 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#35 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.4 mi away
V-View Beach Resort
V-View Beach Resort
#24 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.3 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#27 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#14 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#47 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.5 mi away
Suncliff Resort
Suncliff Resort
#41 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mac's Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mac's Bay Resort

Property: Mac's Bay Resort
Address: 64/5 Moo 2 | Baan Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mac's Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mac's Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing