We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beachfront Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mac's Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mac's Bay Resort
Ranked #46 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Boracay, Philippines
Level Contributor
157 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Beachfront Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Mac's Bay is strateically located by the beach in Baan Tai and has a great view from most of its rooms and bungalows. Nice little restaurant serves simple but delicious food. A great find in Phangan for us who came from busy Haad Rin beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daCoach420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    31
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
7
13
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nakhon pathom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Good set up there and a nice pool. Good food and the staff are very nice. I went for one of the bungalows right on the beach but considering the resort looks quite new, the bungalows inside are a little run down/not maintained that good. However, at 500 or so Baht in May not too bad for what you get. But, at the back of the property they have a 'Mac bay backpacker' bit and only 150 Baht with a shared bathroom ... shoulda done that me thinks lol.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeechaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottery Saint Mary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

I spent a week here at the end of a group trip around all of Thailand. It's the perfect place to come and relax! The beach is literally seconds from all the rooms, and very quiet too, with stunning views. The beach huts bring you that bit closer! The rooms aren't huge, but fine as you will want to be on the beach. They are basic, but still with air con and TV, spacious shower room, but not overly clean. (There's a squished gecko in our bathroom door frame for example!) Pool is perfect too!
The service is great! Food comes quick and has all be delicious. The guy in charge has been very useful with helping us with taxis, other trips etc, and speaks very good English!
Only problem is it is a bit of a taxi journey to any decent town/beach party/trip sites etc.

Overall, lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Azza_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The attention was amazing, the owners are great, they really care about their customer. They helped us with everything, meals, tours, transportation, everything! Plus the resort is really nice and quiet, the pool is nice and clean, it has great massages and the food of the restaurant is very very good, one of the best places we ate at thailand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeroIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here with a large group just after a full moon party. When we arrived the resort was very clean and we were all relieved that it appeared peaceful. On first sight it looked picturesque, huts on the beach, wood cabins around the pool and what appeared to be hotel rooms in a block. The only downside was the building work right next to the pool.
The huts only had a fan whereas the cabins had AC. The food was alright at the resort and it wasn't a far walk to a 7eleven for cheaper things.
Although they offered a lift into and from haad rin it was at set times and they would only do the one run that the majority wanted.
As other reviews have said, our room wasn't cleaned either and we too had a problem with rubbish. On one unfortunate night, my friend found a cockroach in her hair in the middle of the night! Turns out they were coming from the open drain in the bathroom so a recommendation would be a drain cover or block it with a towel!
Overall we had a nice stay and always got a sun lounger as we were early birds, couldn't guarantee one later in the day. If you're looking for something that is a little out the way and not around full moon party time then I'd recommend Marc's bay.

Room Tip: For AC ask for a wood cabin but you will pay more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shjnmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

A great place to rest. The room is on the beach! Very cool!
There is a nice familly that will do a lot for the visitors. Good food. Good laundary service. Very fast.
Its not on hadrin beach but its not too far so you can take a taxi

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 5 nights as location suited me best. Just turned up there and asked if they had accommodation available. They wanted to know how many nights i wanted to stay. I said 2. He said they were full. I then said ok, staying for 5 nights. The man then said, ok. So it was quite hard getting the bungalow but was worth it. Nice size bungalow in the garden, peaceful location. They have a nice pool too. However i guess how you time your stay as the black moon party used to be held there, not sure if it's still there but if yes, it's very busy and people using the areas around bungalows for toilet etc. But there was no sign of any rubbish or smell when i stayed there. It was clean with good garden. There was some body paint on the bedsheets. But it was clean and washed. I guess it can't be washed out. I would definitely stay there again as its at my favourite part of the island. Close to 7 eleven, also you can ride scooter to any of the parties around.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBalaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
7.2 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
7.2 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#21 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
5.5 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 674 reviews
3.5 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#41 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
6.8 mi away
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
Haadlad Prestige Resort & Spa
#63 of 92 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mac's Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mac's Bay Resort

Property: Mac's Bay Resort
Address: 64/5 Moo 2 | Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mac's Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mac's Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing