We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Ordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Blue Parrot Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 137 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Blue Parrot was situated about 10 mins walk along the beach from the pier or 3 minute taxi ride. The entrance was in need of some repair as very uninviting for a first impressions. We were greeted by friendly staff & shown to our little bungalow, a couple back from the beach. The door was open when we arrived so the room was very very hot. The air con was totally useless for the first 12 hours but after this it was ok. The room looked good with all concrete moulded into bed plynth, bedside tables & dresser etc, a great concept but when the concrete heats up it takes a long time to cool again. There was no seating, no TV in the room & no fridge & although you can do without the TV, the fridge is a must as water was quite expensive at the bar & of course needed to clean teeth etc. They do not have a pool but guests are invited to use the one next door as you cannot swim in the sea as it is too shallow at this beach. The restaurant is a little expensive so we ate next door also as they had good food at a reasonable price. Blue Parrot had a nice deck area & also a pool table & hammocks which were used by the staff the whole day it seemed. The place was a littlke untidy so we believe the staff could have been using their time more efficiently like other resorts. We were told the boss was away so thismay have been the reason & the day we left the lawns were getting done. We arrived home one night only to be baled up by dogs, not allowing us to go into our gate. Just as well the manager was still up as she had to come & call the dogs away. This is so not customer friendly. All in all this place could be a nice little resort with a few little extras, however fridges are definitely a must. We were going to stay an extra 3 days but decided to book a resort a little further along the road as the price was the same for a lot better value .

Room Tip: Must have aircon, you would not be able to sleep in these rooms with just a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 185 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

great place to stay for full moon. Although on the expensive side (that said most places were the same price, just expensive compared to other place in thailand) this is a great place to stay for full moon. after hearing horror stories about bungalows getting robbed we felt totally safe here. conor the owner took all of out important/expensive stuff and either put it in safe or had staf mind it overnight. Always a good group staying there, people tend to congregate around free pool table at night and have a few beers. nicely situated looking out on sea although not swimable. just a 2 minute walk from the main street. a 10-15minute tuc tuc from haad rin beach where full moon takes place. we were happy to be away from the chaos down there! great staff and lovely food.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great but maybe one of the middle bungalows either side so you're not too clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clodagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel to go to full moon party, it’s a lovely little family run place, rooms are very basic, there is a lovely bar area where you can get food and relax. The resort is pretty quiet, we walked to the ferry port and there was a little market.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: It was my birthday so asked for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Nice little Resort. Stayed there for three nights for the full moon party. Rooms were very clean and we'd emailed to get beach front bungalow which the management was happy to provide. The overall stay was very pleasant and made so welcome by the the family based staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tedski50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights as a base for visiting Haad Rin for the beach parties. It is nice resort but Ban Tai is not the best place to stay as there isn't much to do (only a few restaraunts).

The room was very clean but very basic with only a cold shower. We had a fan room but it was far too hot - I recommend getting an air con room. There is a nice terrace to sunbathe on that overlooks the beach. The gardens of the bungalows are nice.There is a safe at reception you can use. The Irish owner is nice and helpful.The food and drink at the resort restaraunt are quite expensive so we ate on the main street of Ban Tai instead.

Room Tip: Get a room with air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 02kel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

The place is new, and rooms are all simple, neat, and minimalist, It has the beachfront access with lovely views and offers a cosy atmosphere from the cafe area. For late night arrival, this is a good choice because the hotel is only 5 mins drive from the piers (or 20 on foot). The room is not cleaned every day, but can be cleaned upon request. That is not an issue for us as such practice is common with small private establishment. We basically just ask towels to be changed every two days, and nothing else.
However, in spite of the good fundamentals, it could be a more pleasant place if the staff work there can be friendlier and helpful, rather than acting cold, and indifferent. They never greet their guests, and hardly have a smile on their face (unless the British guy is there who I assume is the owner) when asked for something. Also, they should take their cooking more seriously. If staff's attitude, and the taste of the food can improve, I believe more guests would be willing to hang out there longer, and order food from there, beside just grabbing a beer. After our first breakfast in Blue Parrot, we always go to Nari Bakery for our breakie for the remaining 4 days.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janyvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed at the blue parrot resort for 4 nights in Feb 2012 and really enjoyed it. The location is great near loads of restaurants, bars, shops etc but just far enough away to get a good nights sleep and a peaceful relaxing day if you want to. The bungalows themselves are nice, ours was fairly basic looking some look a little nicer than others inside but it was clean, air con worked fine and as mentioned earlier you get a great nights sleep. The best thing about the place for us was the surroundings of blue parrot, the bungalows are set in a lovely garden type area which is right on a quiet area of the beach and the reception area has a pool table and tv and some decking with comfy cushions where you can sun bathe by the bar and some tables and hammocks on the other side where you can chill out in the shade. It has a really nice friendly atmosphere and the guy who owns it is very nice and helped us out with everything we needed and is just generally really friendly to chat to and is always around. The rest of the staff are lovely too and the service is great, we will be sure to stay here again next time we visit Koh Phagnan.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2fatpigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.0 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#38 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
#22 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
596 reviews
3.0 mi away
Blue Lotus Resort
Blue Lotus Resort
#9 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#20 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
773 reviews
0.8 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#33 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
486 reviews
4.0 mi away
Nice Sea Resort
Nice Sea Resort
#2 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Parrot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Parrot Beach Resort

Address: 100 / 45 M 1 | Ban Tai Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $10 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple clean bungalows, both fan and air con, located on Ban Tai Beach with a great bar/restaurant offering fantastic views of Samui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Blue Parrot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing