We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chantaramas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mac's Bay Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Divine Comedie(Ko Pha Ngan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ananpura Resotel(Ko Pha Ngan)
View Hotel
Vimarn Samut Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Milky Bay Resort(Ko Pha Ngan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveler rating
254
87
50
36
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
87
50
36
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoon deckhaad rinoutdoor showerpool barfull moon partyjacuzzi roomhotel taxisupreme deluxeprivate pool villaplenty of sunbedsbig bathroomshort drivehotel is beautifulshuttle servicehotel guestsstayed here for nightssea view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 462 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Had we of read the reviews beforehand, I really dont think we would have bothered staying here, however on a recommendation from friends we decided to give it a go. The verdict: best hotel we stayed in by far! I honestly cannot understand how people have faulted this place!? The 1* reviews are so far from our own experiences, I wonder whether they have reviewed the right hotel- there seems to be two hotels on the island with the same name! For us, we could not fault the service- everyone we encountered spoke English and were more than helpful- they even organised our transfers and trips for us. Initially we were planning to spend one night in a standard room, however upon arrival we were offered the private pool villa at a heavily discounted price. It was the best decision we made all holiday! We ended spending the rest of our holiday here as we enjoyed it so much! Pure luxury. Yes it was quiet, but that was exactly how we liked it! However it is only a 10 minute drive to the full moon party, for those who like a busier nightlife. The pool villa is probably the best hotel room I have ever stayed in- truly beautiful!! (& extremely well priced!!!) if you stay in one hotel on Phangan make it Chantaramas!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatrinaSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

we got to hotel and it was empty , all the facilities were closed and the staff was not nice and dont speak english.
we had to leave before and they didnt want to refund us the money...
the hotel is realy far away from anywhere

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evmira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for her birthday. As soon as we turned up the staff were very friendly and helpful, we were shown to our room which was spacious with tv dvd player fridge and good wardrobe space and a massive bathroom. A bath tub which could easily fit to adults, side by side! Indoor and out door shower. The pool on looks the beach were the resort is. Nice little beach not amazing tho. Pool was lovely. We ate here on our first night the food was brilliant. More than you'd pay in other places but for the quality we were happy to pay it. We ended up eating a few meals here!! We needed to go to the shop and asked if there was anyway we could rent a bike for only 1 hour(we knew it was a tad stupid) but one of the hotel receptionists said we could borrow his free of charge. The staff on the whole were amazing with us so friendly and helped us with what ever we needed. We got speaking to the hotel owner and she was just as amazing and helpful. We booked an extra night! Absolutely loved every moment. They have seen the previous reviews and acted on them. They really are trying hard to make this a great resort! I would recommend this resort to anyone I encounter. What's the point of trip advisor if not for the hotels to learn from the reviews people give. If your thinking of staying here I would deffenatly give this place a chance. You won't regret it!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davewithomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Chantaramas is situated on a lovely property and rooms were well appointed. Upon arriving at Chantaramas in early February, there seemed to be some confusion relating to our date of stay and payment arrangements. Having booked with booking.com we had not pre-payed accommodation and were asked to pay at time of check in (in our experience common in Thailand). After showing the receptionist our paper work and paying (approx $250 AUD per night), we were directed to our room and helped with luggage. The supreme deluxe rooms have a large bath, indoor and outdoor shower. The pool area with bar was great. The beach area was shallow, however appeared clean enough. Rooms were kept clean, however pool towels were not always changed. Chantaramas advertised a boutique and library on their website, neither were present. The area around the spa was incomplete, however we did not use this facility so cannot comment on whether it was available. The hotel restaurant served tasty food, however this comes at a price compared to Thailand standards. There are nearby restaurants at other hotels, however we didn’t risk walking along the hilly and bendy road as there were some crazy drivers!

At the time of researching, some websites had advertised the location of Chantaramas as Had Rin, however it is about 10 minutes from Had Rin. There are plenty of transport options to get into Had Rin. The hotel offers a service or cheap transport- tuk tuks and songthaews are available on the main road just up the driveway.


At time of check out, we were informed for the first time we had stayed an additional night. I once again showed the receptionist the paperwork, receipt and told her we had booked (and payed) for the three nights we stayed. The receptionist’s English was not very good, so we spoke to other staff members. We assured everything was okay and were able to check out and paid for the driver to take us to had rin. When we returned home and checked our bank accounts, i realised i had been double charged as the staff at Chantaramas had charged my credit card for the entire stay again! I emailed booking.com who dealt with the double charges promptly. Chantaramas were slow to respond and i was initially informed it would take a month for them to process the refund, however received it sooner.

Based on this experience and given the cost of the accommodation, i would not stay here again.If you are going to Koh Phangan for the full moon party, i would consider a cheaper option as you will not likely spend much time in the room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lani4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed here with my cousin during the October full moon party. (We are two guys)

First of all the positives:

-More or less a private beach
-Newly built
-Veeery nice architecture and pretty rooms

Now comes the part, why I still wouldn't recommend staying here:

We are two guys (friends) and had especially booked a room with twin beds. I even called to confirm that we'd be getting twin beds. When we got there, they took us after a long wait to our room - surprise, surprise - with a king bed. Instead of apologizing much, they tried to argue in the beginning that we hadn't booked twin beds. Only after I insisted that we'd like to talk to the manager, we could talk to her. After much arguing, they did upgrade our room and one had to sleep on a king size bed while the other got a small, really uncomfortable matteres.

There were a lot of bad details, like the average breakfast (compared to other hotels in Thailand, the breakfast was bad), the very expensive restaurant that serves small portions that have an average taste. Sometimes the restaurant even ran out of food or would take 2hours to make a sandwich - we decided to go to the big village Haad Rin instead.

The hotel is also 10minutes away from Haad Rin, which gets very annoying if you wanna go out at night.

This is could be a great hotel for couples looking for a romantic stay, but with bad management, they can't claim to be luxurious - especially not for their rates (compared to other hotels on the island).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeonTLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews