We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just the best pizza on the island but fantastic hosts too”
Review of Cucina Italiana

Cucina Italiana
Ranked #60 of 384 Restaurants in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not just the best pizza on the island but fantastic hosts too”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Not only the best pizza at reasonable prices in Koh Phangan but all kind of delicious Italian food too. You might need to book a table during high season as places are limited but even if you don't have a booking, Jenny and his wife will always try to accommodate you in a way or an other.
Do not leave the place before you tried their Tiramisu and one of their Grappas or Sambuca.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    12
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“worth a detour”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place was very good, your sitting as good as on the beach with a canopy above you, pizzas are served from 5.00pm and they are wonderful, washed down with a jug of wine ,what else, and a beautiful view

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BangkokBunnyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in Thailand”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We went to Italy during Christmas vacation 2012/2013 and the pizza in Thailand at La Cucina was better than some of the pizza we had in Italy!! The pizza was good all nights but the dough is made fresh twice a week so Thursday (and Sunday, I believe) are the best nights to go for pizza. The pasta is excellent too but you can't get pasta on pizza nights. Definitely a place you'll want to visit when you come to Ko Phangan and/or Chaloklum!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chadoberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A relief to get a good meal in Chaloklum!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I'm a big Thai food fan and have been to Thailand on a fair few occasions. I tend to eat Thai food almost exclusively but after having very disappointing food at a number of the seafood places in Chaloklum we decided to give this Italian place a go. Thankfully we finally found some good food on Koh Phangan.

The restaurant is small but has an outside section with lovely views of the bay and fishing boats. There's red and white wine available (not the greatest you'll ever taste but OK for the price considering this is Thailand) and a selection of pizzas, pasta and Italian deserts. We went for the pizzas and they were absolutely delicious. I would be happy being served one of these in any Italian restaurant anywhere in the world.

It might not be Thai food but then neither is the bland offerings from the supposedly Thai restaurants nearby. It is food that is good enough to match the beautiful views as the sun goes down.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank webme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Real italian pizza, very tasty and by the beach”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

I originally came to this side of the island because I heard there was good seafood but when I got there all the seafood they had on display didn't look fresh at all, plus the restaurants were empty. So while I'm walking around I see this restaurant full of people and I smell pizza mmmm then a guy says "bona sera" in perfect Italian, then I decided to eat here. And it was a great idea, pizzas were so good, thin pizza like I like it, nice glass of white wine, good price and seating by the beach. It was a perfect dinner and best pizza I had in Thailand. It is sad that you can't have fresh fish in a fishing village but at least you can have good pizza instead. I recommend the salami and Gorgonzola pizza, really good. For 2 pizzas and 2 glasses of wine we paid 560 THB

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aonievar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cucina Italiana also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Cucina Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing