We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic gnocchi and pizza made from scratch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cucina Italiana

Cucina Italiana
Ranked #65 of 358 Restaurants in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic gnocchi and pizza made from scratch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Open from 5pm till late, this family-run, Italian-owned restaurant serves homemade pizza and pasta which was so good we came back for a second visit! The gnocchi was soft and fluffy 'like little pillows' with a rich ragu sauce. The salami gorgonzola pizza was equally delicious. Gianni (the owner) comes out to chat in-between kneading pizza dough, except during the twice-weekly 'pizza nights' when he is too busy pumping out orders for the crowd! The interior is simple but sit out the back on the sand to enjoy the bay view. To find Cucina Italiana, head left from the pier (facing the water) until you find it, about 100m. Ask the owner where a nearby taxi-driver lives for the trip home if staying elsewhere.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sare17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    12
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Italian restaurant on the Island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Love pizza? You must go to Cucina Italiana in Chaloklum...it's worth visiting even if you're not staying in this fisherman's village. My boyfriend and I arrived in Chaloklum for the first time. We thought we'd stay for 2 nights and we stayed for 3 WEEKS! I have to admit a large part of the reason was the food, particularly the authentic Italian at Cucina Italiana. My boyfriend became obsessed with the pizza (and the lasagne!) and each day after breakfast, as we were floating in the beautiful sea, he'd start trying to make plans to go there for dinner, again! I couldn't argue, the food and the atmosphere was just incredible! Picture it, quite a basic restaurant stretching out with an outdoor area overlooking the sea. You literally have your feet in the sand as you eat dinner admiring the sunset. The pizzas are large and you can watch the lovely Italian owner preparing the pizza dough in front of your eyes...he learned from his mamma! You will be greeted with a "Buona sera" (good evening) from this life-loving Italian man. His Thai wife is equally lovely and quite entertaining. I recommend a glass or litre of the house red, a pizza and a lasagne if you have room (and want to share). The pizzas are about 200 Bhat so about $8 NZD, maybe $10 at most. You won't be disappointed and you'll likely be there almost every night. Mmm we miss it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CocoParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best Italian by far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Amazing food and prices! everything was authentic including the owner and he makes the best coffee. If you close your eyes and listen to his Italian tones, you could be in Italy.

Try the coffee and the Tiramisu :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healesville, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little touch of Italy on a tropical island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stumbled across this divine little restaurant one night and soon found it hard to stay away from! Best pizza ever... A must if you are in or passing through the fishing village of Chaloklum!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love the pizzas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

I were there and the pizza master is really cool :) the tasty pizza , lasagna smells great. I just want to be there again

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peach_c7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cucina Italiana also viewed

Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
Ko Pha Ngan, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Cucina Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing