We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
Ranked #19 of 132 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Value”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I loved this place! The beach and pool were beautiful, food was excellent. Rooms were very clean as well. After staying in a terrible hostel the night before this place was my new oasis, and at a backpacker price was more like a resort. At night the beach front bar got packed and everyone was mingling and having an amazing time. I wish I could go back right now!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    166
    87
    41
    49
See reviews for
38
201
53
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Goa, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I was impressed with how the hotel was run overall. Natasha one of the owners is a hands-on manager and very good to her staff. Consequently it shows in how the staff treat their guests.

As a splurge, I had booked a room at their more upscale sister property, Milky Bay for a great rate on an on-line booking service for which I had prepaid! When I got there the room was not acceptable to me. It was darling with lots of amenities, but it was pitch black and to get light you had to open the shutters which made you totally exposed to theft on the beach. I am more sensitive as I was recently robbed in another foreign country when two men crawled through an open window and woke me when I could hear the zipper opening to my luggage. The hotel had no other room for me, so they suggested I move to the Lime N Soda.

Not sure what they could have done, but I was charged the same rate as their upscale sister property. They did include breakfast which is not the case with a regular room booking. Milky Bay is priced at double to 4x the Lime N Soda rate so it would have been a good gesture to give me compensation.

The room was large enough for three people with a single and a double bed and located near the bar, pool, restaurant and beach. Unfortunately this was not a plus for me as the bar kept me up with thumping and base music at all hours of the day and night. So for us fuddy duddies and spiritual seekers, Lime N Soda is probably not the best option!

Wi-fi was good in the common areas but not in my room. In the five nights I ended up staying I only got a connection in my room once. The room had obviously been recently renovated and thankfully the a/c drowned out some of the bar noise. The lighting is poor in the rooms for reading or checking email (when I got a connection). To get enough light in your room, you have to open the curtains and there is not much privacy from the other bungalows. The shower water smelled of sewage.

For the additional nights, I looked at moving to one of the budget bungalows, but opted against the move because it was very basic with not even a flushing toilet. There is a big jump in bungalow price to get a/c, hot water, and TV which I consider the bare minimum in a resort hotel. It seems Lime N Soda is trying to be all things to all vacationers!

The pool area was nice but one morning the water had not been cleaned by 10 am and it was very dirty. The other times someone was cleaning early and there were no issues.

The breakfast is over priced and thankfully mine was included in the rate. The first morning I had an English breakfast. The bacon, sausage and mushrooms were not edible. For another included breakfast, I asked for a second cup of coffee and when I left the restaurant they collected 40-baht from me additionally! I’d happily pay it with no arguments if it were a cappuccino or really good coffee, but it was average tasting at best. I had a Thai salad one evening and it was tasty. I had no other meals other than the daily breakfast. I briefly visited the bar on a couple of occasions and enjoyed my time there.

I loved the location of Lime N Soda being near the main area of Thongsala. The beach is not good as others have mentioned. I walked or rode the scooter into town for a couple of dinners at the food court. The food at the resort is over my budget as a long term traveler.

Although I had some issues with this property, and I feel the value is lacking, I would still rate it high because of the overall professionalism and the location to the main town.

Room Tip: For a quiet night's sleep, stay away from the pool and bar area close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firecrackerbaby2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in may, the resort is such good value for money, the rooms are basic but clean and bright with a balcony out the front.
The pool is small but clean and right on the beach front. There is also a nice bar where you can sit a few meters from the sea enjoying a cheap cocktail or two.
The restaurant food was good value and tasty just not a huge variety, look out for the daily specials as these are normally the best.
I'd definitely come back !
It's a good place to socialise and meet other travellers.

Room Tip: If you like to head to bed early avoid a room down the front as the bar tends to play music till qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

This is a great place to stay! It has everything you could want - swimming pool, on the beach, pool table, bar with cheap cocktails, free wifi and really friendly staff!! Perfect for full moon, 15 mins away!! Really good place to meet others aswell!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Had a great experience here in late March. Had just got off a very long series of buses and ferries (from Vang Vieng in Laos) and arrived around midday, hot, tired and sweaty. On arrival we were greated with glasses of iced soda with lime (hence the name I guess!) and little cold towels...

We stayed in a double room: the rooms are reasonably sized and circular and ours had a bathroom but the main attraction is not the rooms (they are fine but not amazing), it's the location...right outside you have a lovely restaurant and pool that looks onto the beach (tide is low so not great for swimming but adds to the gorgeous setting). The food in the restaurant was lovely (the evening BBQ's represent the best value I think) and happy hour cocktails are 100THB (they could be a little stronger in my opinion, but then I am Irish!)

Staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful and the overall atmostphere was just extremely pleasant. We spent alot of time handing by the pool, having long meals by the beachfront and getting our energy up for the half moon antics.

Location wise, its a short walk to Thon Sala village which is definately not the nicest part of the island but it has plenty of shops, a good food market at night and a massive Tesco...you'll need to get a taxi to the half or full moon - they will organise this at reception....Maybe consider coming here to recover after the full or half moon action if you fancy a low key antitdote to the partying.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Lime and Soda was located next to the main jetty and on the beach, it was a lovely beach, had nice pool and bar. The main reason for us going to Koh Phangan was for the Full Moon Party, Lime & Soda was located on the other side of the island, it's not too much of a problem as there are plenty of taxi's and is also cheap.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barneyboo8690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Got bitten by ants / bed bugs for the 2 nights i stayed here which was annoying. Rooms are basic - but are affordable - i stayed during low season so you can haggle.

During my stay there were lots of backpackers so a good place to stay and meet people if your travelling solo. Good pool, good food (though portion sizes are pretty small), though the 'beach' isn't really a place you'd be able to swim.

Don't book the ferry back to Ko Samui, or anywhere else through this hotel. I got ripped off and was told that transport from the ferry terminal back to central Samui was included which was not.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audzie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#36 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
230 reviews
5.5 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
#13 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#21 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
737 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
#1 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
281 reviews
3.6 mi away
Loyfa Natural Resort
Loyfa Natural Resort
#14 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort

Property: Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
Address: 31 / 10 Moo 1 | Thongsala, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lime N Soda Beachfront Resort is located in Ko Phangan, a 5-minute walk from Thongsala Pier. It features a beachfront bar, swimming pool and affordable rooms with balconies. Wi-Fi is free.Beachfront Lime N Soda Resort is a 20-minute taxi ride from the Full Moon Party. A free one-way pick-up service from Thong Sala Pier or Haad Rin Pier is also available.The cosy bungalows at Soda N Lime Beachfront Resort come with large windows that offer views of the garden or beach. Each room has a seating area and en suite bathroom with hot shower facilities.To relax, guests can enjoy a massage or go on a fishing trip. The resort offers car rental services and free parking. Daytrips can be arranged at the tour desk.The on-site restaurant serves a fine selection of Thai and Western dishes. Other dining options include light snacks and refreshing beverages at the beachfront bar.Facilities of Lime N Soda Beachfront Resort General Restaurant, Bar, Garden, Terrace, Express check-in/check-out, Luggage storage, Ski storage, Designated smoking area, Private beach area, Restaurant (à la carte), Restaurant (buffet), Snack bar, Sun terrace Activities Fishing, Massage, Table tennis, Hiking, BBQ facilities, Diving, Outdoor pool, Outdoor pool (all year) Services Room service, Laundry, Dry cleaning, Ironing service, Bicycle rental, Car hire, Tour desk, Fax/photocopying, Ticket service, Airport shuttle (surcharge) InternetFree! WiFi is available in public areas and is free of charge. Free! WiFi is available in the hotel rooms and is free of charge. ParkingFree! Free private parking is possible on site (reservation is not needed). Important informationPlease note that the resort offers free one-way transfer from Thong Sala Pier or Haad Rin Pier. To book this service, guests are requested to directly contact the resort at least 5 hrs before arriving at the pier. Guests who stay on full moon days between 30 January 2013 and 19 December 2013 receive complimentary Mexican dinner buffet per person per stay. The dinner buffet is served at the resort's dining area between 18:30-21:30 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lime n Soda Beach Front Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing