We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Full Moon Experience”
Review of J.B. Hut Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
J.B. Hut Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Full Moon Experience”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We arrived at J.B Hut in the rain and feeling tired and weary after a really long journey from Bangkok. As soon as we got off the taxi Bella came running over and made us feel so welcome that it made the long bus hours melt away! Her staff and herself then continued to provide excellent service while making us feel at home for the next five days.

The hostel has a cool little bar/restaurant area at the front where you can meet lots of people while drinking cold beer and eating excellent food. If you go during monsoon season and it rains constantly you can easily make yourself comfortable in there and wait out the sun. The rooms, which are spacious and really clean, are up a bit of a hill but thanks to the elevation you get a great view of the sea and the beach is only a five minute walk away,

All in all I would really recommend this place if you want to get away from the chaos of Had Rin. Also, the beach is much nicer in Had Yao too.

Room Tip: The rooms higher up have a better view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkthisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    37
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
61
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I loved everything about this place! When you arrive, you'll get a little ledger book to keep track of all of your charges during your stay. Every time you order a meal at the restaurant or grab a beer from the cooler, you grab your book and mark it down. At the end of your stay, you tally it up and pay the total. It places a lot of trust in the traveller and speaks of the quality of this place that I can't imagine any person taking advantage of the set up. It just feels like you are home!

Our bungalow was perfection. Laying out in our hammock and watching the sunset over the sea is something I will never forget. We were a short walk from the beach, but keep in mind that it is ALL uphill on the way back. This was no problem for us and was an enjoyable walk, but I could see some people having a problem with it. Our stay here was at the very end of a two week trip in Thailand, so we were mostly content to lay about the beach, eat good food and relax during our three days here, which was perfect on this quiet little part of the island.

The owner arranged taxis trucks for everyone on the night of the Full Moon Party, which was nice, convenient and affordable. The party itself was not that great, but something you should "check off the list" if you happen to be there at a time when it's going on.

One day we took a trip to Bottle Beach, a beautiful secluded spot. J.B. Hut provided us with snorkels and masks to take with us free of charge, which was nice. You honestly don't feel like a traveller when you are here. Smiling faces always greet you at J.B. Hut as if you were family returning home.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vermont-Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for FMP, mama was lovely! There was nothing she couldn't do for us. She was always friendly and chatty. The food was delicious especially her baguettes! We were able to watch DVDs and just chill out. The huts were nice. We did have to battle a spider the first night so we slept under our mosquito nets but if you dont mind a few bugs you'll get on well. Huts are also short walk to the beach. Lovely and ideallic.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicholeDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent three weeks at this amazing place with familly of Bella.
She care about us just like our mother, always with smile.
The food there is just great, you can serve our selve in kitchen if you want or just make coffe or tea to friends, you can learn from Bella some thai recipes :-D
Her mother making wonderfull massages! Full body is like in heaven and your mind is relaxed, when I came there I felt very sick I almost pass out and felt very weak.Mother of Bella treated me with some herbs smells like tiger balm, she push some points on my head and stomach and it was really helpfull!!! it was just like from some movie abut shamanizm :-D

We miss familly of Chan and Bella hope to see them soon again!!!

About accomodation:
hats are very clean, big comfortable bed, hot shower, nice view, hammock on the terrace...

In the lounge you can use computer with internet for free or watch tv

What to say more..I can honestlly recomend this amazing place for you!!

Enjoy Misha and Martin CZ

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gowomango23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for four nights, left, and returned for another 4 nights we loved it that much. Bella who runs the hotel and her husband chan are absolutely fabulous. Bella's cooking is AMAZING and so cheap. You can just wander into the kitchen anytime of day and ask her for something or just have a chat when she cooks. She's always smiling and constantly happy I dont know how she does it! You would write everything you had in a little book and pay at the end which was so good and relaxing. You didn;t have to worry about money the whole trip really. We had laundry done there, and rented a bike from them at a really cheap rate. The bungalows are cozy and clean although on top of a big hill! There's a beach 3 minutes away that is beautiful which has lots of little bars and a lovely sea. If i do return to Koh Phangan I would head straight to Bella's!

Room Tip: Try to ask for a bungalow at the bottom of the hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

As another reviewer says, we read really good things about this place so we decided to check it out. While we acknowledge the owners are very friendly and work very hard to give you a good experience, we felt a lot of it was to encourage you to spend more money with her and not just because she wanted you to have a good time. There isn't anything particularly wrong with that - everyone has to make a living - but we did feel a bit of pressure to eat there etc. Also we did rent a bike from them and the petrol gauge didn't work, resulting in us breaking down quite far away from any gas - so just something to check before actually taking the bike.
You are given a book to record everything to eat, drink or buy/rent from them (e.g. motorbike) and then you pay at the end. This made budgeting quite difficult for us as we thought we had more money than we did, because we owed it all at the end - again this is kind of our fault for not keeping better track but this system doesn't help. Others may prefer this way because it stops the hassle of paying loads of separate times, it's just that it didn't work that way for us.
The accommodation itself is good, you get a private balcony with a hammock. Our bed was very comfortable with a mosquito net round it (no blanket or cover).
The guesthouse's taxi goes over to the FMP at 9.30pm, so if you want to go before or after that you have to sort it yourself.

Overall we enjoyed our stay. The accommodation was nice, Haad Yao was definitely our favourite from the ones we visited on the island and the food was good - but sometimes we felt like the owners weren't too interested in us just the earning opportunity we presented.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parisdorcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Loved this place , the owners were exceptionally friendly. Food in their restaurant is excellent and cheap and the beers cold.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornish-scrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.3 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#12 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
Shiralea Backpackers Resort
#7 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#10 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haad Yao Over Bay Resort
Haad Yao Over Bay Resort
#45 of 362 in Ko Pha Ngan
97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunset Cove Resort
Sunset Cove Resort
#16 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to J.B. Hut Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about J.B. Hut Bungalows

Property: J.B. Hut Bungalows
Address: 54/2 M.B. Haad Yao, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 362 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — J.B. Hut Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your J.B. Hut Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing