We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here twice 7 years apart”
Review of Blue Lotus Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Lotus Resort
Ranked #8 of 137 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I am not sure about the negative posters experience as I have stayed there twice seven years apart. The food homemade and actually quite legendary. People for the last 20 years make a point to stop at the Blue Lotus for its Mexican food when they visit Koh Phangan. It is a little tucked away place with bungalows and a restaurant known for its food. The bungalows are clean and comfortable. Certainly not the amenities of a 4star hotel, but it is Koh Phanghan and people come for the Full Moon Party in the jungle. Check out the fan base of Blue Lotus on facebook and see what regulars have to say first. -------. This page was started by one of the regulars who come back year after year, just like I have. Blue Lotus is true blue Thailand!

Room Tip: Almost all rooms are less than 100 feet from beach, so dependent on whether you are a couple (get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shavonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 156 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2011

I've stayed at the Blue Lotus Resort for three times now, twice with the Full Moon Party and once at a random date (2006, 2008 & 2009) and planning to go there again. Every single time was a wonderfull stay! The owners, Pong & Shana, will give you a warm welcome. The location is very good because it's in the middle of Thong Sala (were you'll arrive by boat) and HadRin (the most crowded part of the island, and the part were the Full Moon Party is located). The bungalows are basic, but they have all you'll need. And the price is great! A bungalow for 400 THB for a night! Also the food they serve is lovely.
So I'd say when you're planning to go to Koh Phangan this will be a very nice place to stay! It gave me the feeling that I came as a guest and I stayed as family..! Have fun!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DennisAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I have been staying at Blue Lotus for nearly ten years and find the review given by "ganja_46" un recognizable in relation to the resort. The rooms are cleaned daily, the food is always spot on and the owners and staff couldn't be better. I have stayed in various resorts on Koh phangan over the years, some in Haad Rin, some in Bankai and Bantai and Blue Lotus is always a favourite as long as you don't want air con. The rooms represent excellent value for money. There is a hill down to the resort and no area is not smooth tarmac but a well landscaped garden.

As far as the comments about the owner being a nasty piece of work is concerned I find this almost laughable, he is one of the most honest likeable Thai 's that I've had the pleasure of meeting.

To sumarize,
good location, (as close to Had Rin as you can be without actually having to stay there)
Good value for money (no hot water or air con but then you're not paying for that)
Good Food (excellent choice of menu including western and mexican)
Good dogs! - if you like that sort of thing.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Its a pity that petty people feel the need to slate others on this site for no other reason than narrow-minded ignorance.

The management at Blue Lotus are the nicest folk I met away over the course of a whole year travelling. I visited this resort about 10 years ago and fell in love with the food, the ambiance and the excellent service. I had been a single female traveller alone and arrived late at night and totally dishevelled and disheartened as the island was practically full due to the full moon. Shauna and Pong made me feel so safe and welcome and I got the nicest meal ever there. About 8 years later I came back with my partner at the time and stayed over a month. Could not make ourselves leave the place!!!!

What you get at the Blue lotus is a perfect balance of privacy and welcome, which is rare. I always enjoyed the food, every meal was top notch and I'm a fussy veggie so that says alot!!! I would whole-heartedly recommend this resort and its wonderfully kind, caring and hospitable management and staff. 5 star for an excellent price

Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
2  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We have been going to blue lotus every year for 8 years and recommend it. The huts are clean and a good size, Pong and Shana the owners go out of their way to help, the food is excellent. The huts are far enough away from the 2 main towns that they are quiet, but there is still a shop at the top if the drive. Even the dogs are nice - a rarity in huts!

These huts are for those that want to enjoy ko phangnan without being in the heart of the madness

Can't speak highly enough

Adelle and steve

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adelleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed at the resort during the full moon period and paid 350 baht per night. The room we stayed in had a double bed that was reasonably comfortable, fan and attached ensuite with shower and toilet. The windows are screened and shuttered to keep mozzies and bugs out.
The attached restaurant offered a wide range of decent food at reasonable prices, including a selection of Mexican food - the burritos are delicious! The owner of the resort was especially helpful and friendly, driving people to the pier and into town and able to provide some information about the island.
The resort is approximately 2km from the main beach where the full moon party was located - so perfect if you are looking for some quiet in the days after the party. But a bit annoying if you wanted to spend more time in the main town around Haad Rin.
Overall a good, cheap hostel for the full moon party that was right on the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doogie850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank steska2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anupong K, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Blue Lotus Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.7 mi away
Nice Sea Resort
Nice Sea Resort
#2 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
288 reviews
0 mi away
Green Peace Bungalows
Green Peace Bungalows
#13 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
111 reviews
3 mi away
The Blue Parrot Beach Resort
The Blue Parrot Beach Resort
#11 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Benjamin's Hut
Benjamin's Hut
#10 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
193 reviews
1.9 mi away
Namthip Homebeach
Namthip Homebeach
#12 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
59 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
#22 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lotus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lotus Resort

Address: 29 / 3 Ban Kai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $13 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Lotus Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Blue Lotus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing