We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice view”
Review of Golden Hill Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Hill Resort
malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice view”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had read the reviews before booking this hotel and knew about the hill some people had to walk up upon arriving. Before getting on the tuk tuk I informed the driver to take us up the hill and he said yes Yes but was very angry when he just dropped us down the hill. Unfortunately we had to walk all the way up with our luggages just to go back down again for the room after 5 minutes.
We then rented a bike to travel around the island so the hill was not a problem from that moment on 

Our room was basically clean apart from some ants, lucky me I used to find dead ants on my pillow before going to sleep. I am not an insect lover but this did not bother me that much, I was just happy I did not find any roaches being that the island is infested with a lot of different creepy crawlers.

The staff are really friendly and polite.

If you re looking for accommodation for the fullmoon party this hotel is ideal. We where there for new years eve and the hotel had transport from the hotel to the party every half hour or so. It’s only around 20 mins drive.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Where do I begin? We stayed at Golden Hill for 5 nights in late July/early August around the Full Moon Party. The resort was very quiet when we arrived but filled up closer to the Full Moon Party. The giant hill from the main road is a trek but the staff do greet you with a cold bottle of water. We stayed in a bungalow and the accommodation was great (only 1 plug though and no fridge so keep that in mind).

Fantastic view great pool and thê onsite restaurant makes a wide variety of tasty food (try the spring rolls - great value for money and some of the best we had in three weeks in Thailand!). Although not the best location for night life it's a great place to enjoy some rest and relaxation before/after the Full Moon Party.

Treacherous 'walk' to the beach down an unmaintained path - wear shoes or don't bother (the pool was fantastic anyway) - overall a fantastic place that we would gladly go back to in a heart beat!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twalks75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days in early March and all my initial doubts were washed away when I saw the amazing view!

Myself and some friends had booked to stay here as it was the only place we could find at a reasonable price around the time of the FMP. It was 30 mins from Haad Rin but it was cheap and looked okay.

We got a taxi from the harbour which took 10 minutes to the bottom of this massive hill - after trekking to the top and almost dying we were welcomed by the most amazing views and with a ice cold bottle of water from the wonderful staff.

There is a nice pool and our room P2 was perfect at £11 a night you cannot complain.

Just make sure you order your food as soon as you start to feel hungry as they take a while to bring it out!!

Room Tip: Get the deluxe suite P1 / P2
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheQueen_202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed at this beautiful resort for 3months and the staff were just amazing!! Started off in a Bungalow which are very big and can accommodate 3 people but moved up to the hotel rooms which have the added benefit of fridges, better aircon and a kingsize bed with duvet (very homely :) and good for hangovers) The pool is amazing and has a beautiful view of the ocean, amazing sunsets at night! The resort operates its own taxi so you can get a taxi at literally anytime, they also taxi on full moon night and predrinks at their own cocktail bar! They also hire bikes which is handy as its a little far out. However this extra distance is definitely worth it! Very close to the Masons Arms which is great for British food! The staff make that extra effort to get to know you personally which is really nice! Internet and food is cheap, Only one downside - the frogs are very loud at night :) All in all a lovely place to stay and also very good value for money! I would come back every year if i could!

Room Tip: The hotel type rooms have far better a/c than the bungalow and lovely king size beds with quilts :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveladdict199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

I really enjoyed my time here, the rooms are fine although don't leave the lights on in the bathroom at night as you may find some insects in the bathroom the next morning, This hotel is quite isolated so you will need to catch a taxi quite often, it is very quiet. Apart from that the staff here are so helpful and friendly, their thai food is quite good, especially the fried noodles. Chai is amazing and you will come to know him well, there is a close knit community feel about the place with all the guests and value for money!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ooby86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Pha Ngan
Baan Busaba Hotel
#62 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Mac's Bay Resort
#48 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Phayathai
Udee Bangkok Hostel
Udee Bangkok Hostel
#66 of 1,185 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Infinity Beach Club
#68 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Ari
A'hostel Bangkok
A'hostel Bangkok
#220 of 1,185 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Silvermoon Beach & Jungle Resort
#12 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Hill Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Hill Resort

Property: Golden Hill Resort
Address: 54/4 Moo 4, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 356 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Hill Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Hill Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing