We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for moon party's!!”
Review of Charm Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charm Beach Resort
Ranked #25 of 133 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for moon party's!!”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed here for two nights for the half moon party in may. The location was perfect and we found it very easy to get around, transport is widely available. The rooms were very very basic, and we would advise you to go with an open mind an book a room with air conditioning not a room with fan. The beach is Beautiful an the bars/restaurants are just a short walk away. Staff are very friendly an helpful and the food at the resort is lovely. I would go back to this resort only for the moon parties as I would be disappointed with the rooms if I booked more than a few days.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel W, Manager at Charm Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a great time. We hope you will return to Charm Beach one day.

Of our 27 bungalows we have 12 that are very basic only equipped with fan and cold shower. These ones we keep for backpackers and such alike. They usually know what they book and are happy with them. The rest of the bungalows is more confutable with aircon, hot shower and TV. These ones are suitable for people with higher expectations, families and travellers with a higher budget.
We think many people choose the our standard fan bungalows because we are the only ones that still provide cheap bungalows on the beach at Baan Tai. All other resorts have upgraded their beach bungalows with aircon and raised the price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    47
    18
    18
    15
See reviews for
16
64
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I stayed here with 2 friends over April full moon. We met another 2 of our friends who are travelling and we had 2 beach front bungalows. We requested bungalows next door to one another which was no problem for the staff. Check in was quick and simple and i like the fact they dont hold your passport but take a copy of it only. The beach front bungalow itself was ideal. Does what it says on the tin...its a bungalow on the beach with cracking views in a setting likened to paradise. Inside the bungalow could be nicer with some brightening up but if im honest i didn't spend enough time inside (with my eyes open at least ) to care. The bathroom was decent although my 1 small issue is it would be helpful if the shower head could be angled differently so you dont have to stand with your back to the wall but this is minor! The location and setting is what you pay for here and considering what your paying it is just perfect. I would recommend Charm Beach to anyone who is thinking of going. You wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: Beach front bungalows are awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMartin88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This bungalow was not really clean. Outdated although right on the beach. We only stayed one night but it mit be siutable for other guests it wasn't for us.
If you don't mind old rooms with a bathroom not too clean then this might be your place.
The one good thing is the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel W, Manager at Charm Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hello and thanks for the feedback. We are will aware of this problem and are currently deciding what the future holds for the old bungalows. Charm Beach Resort has been a resort for 30 years and many of the bungalows has seen better days. We try to paint them and repair them as often is possible. As we are the only resort in Baan Tai that can provide really cheap bungalows directly on the beach, we are faced with the dilemma of either keep them or tear them down and build new ones.

As we acquired the resort last November we have still a long way to go. But slowly we are getting there and after the first year we will see what the future for these old bungalows will hold. Either build new ones or keep them for our regulars and people who are looking for cheap accommodation on the beach. As Charm Beach is a 2 star resort we want to provide cheap accommodation for our guests, as well as provide more comfortable options for guests who's looking for a bit more.

Once again, thanks for the feedback and hope you will visit Charm Beach next time you're on the island to see the changes since your first visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Really nice place, very chilled. Lovely hammocks, right by the beach, good chill out area with cushions. Owners friendly, good pool. Fan bungalow was good. It's about a 20 min walk into thong sala town, but there are a few restaurants and bars on the main road closer to the resort. very quiet, but for action go 2 mins along the beach to beach village backpackers where there's a bar & pool & music, so Charm is good to come back to and sleep in. Only bad thing, one of the staff (young thai guy) tried it on with money, pretending a taxi on koh samui would cost 10x the normal price (luckily we'd made the journey 2 days before so were able to know he was making it up). otherwise friendly. good menu, usual guesthouse prices (go outside for local food that's cheaper), but great to eat on the veranda. would go again.

Room Tip: rooms by pool are noisier from neighbouring resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h101g101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here for a month and loved it! Nice relaxed atmosphere as Koh Phangan is still one of the few islands which doesn't have massive mega hotel complex. Its still quiet remote and the charm is still there. The service from the staff working there was superb always willing to help us and make sure we felt welcome. We really met so many interesting people there over our stay. So next time we go there we definitely stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ofc one of the bungalows on the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humanature1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I must say, I am utterly baffled by the rave reviews of Charm Beach. As I researched the various places to stay on Koh Phangan, I chose Charm Beach almost completely due to the overwhelmingly positive reviews. It sounded truly wonderful -- from the occommodations to the staff -- and that's what I was hoping for. As it turned out, Charm Beach -- while having quite good potential -- was really not charming at all. The place is still pretty rundown. I understand they are in the process of fixing it up.... but it has a LONG way to go. I chose to stay in a "SeaView" bungalow, as I heard they were much nicer & bigger than the "Standard" bungalows. While it may have been a bit bigger -- and had a flush toilet, which the Standard do not -- it was not very nice and definitely not worth the money ($30/night without a/c). It was dirty (toothpaste on the mirror, sand on the floor, stains on the sheets), rundown (curtains falling off the windows, some windows wouldn't open, couldn't lock door from inside, hammock unusable), and smelled sour. Charm Beach is in a lovely location -- nice beach and the grounds reasonably clean -- but overall the "resort" was not pretty or manicured. Frankly, it felt "junky," which is a shame.All that said,I'd generally overlook many of these inconveniences/disappointments if I felt that the staff were genuinely warm and well-meaning. But I did not. While I found the manager, Daniel (never saw his wife) to be somewhat helpful, the rest of the staff was rather gruff and sometimes surly. They rarely smiled and seemed "put out" when asked for something. This all made for a very unenjoyable stay and after the 2 nights (for which I'd pre-paid), I left andI would absolutely not go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustNan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is resort is on a very pretty spot on Baan Tai Beach, close to the main town Thong Sala, and easy to get around the Island from here. A beautiful big beach front, and the resort is nicely spaced and not crowded with rooms and bungalows. Feels very relaxed and a welcoming atmosphere. Run by a European family and with their friendly (and smiling!) staff they make your stay a very enjoyable one. Seems to attract all range of guests from families, couples and of course those who come to party. Pool, chilled beach bar and massage sala right next to the ocean!. Staff cannot help you enough and are very knowledgeable about the Island, trips, places to visit and your ongoing journey from Phangan. Great resort where you can be sure you will be taken care of!

Room Tip: The treehouse room on the beachfront!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.2 mi away
Summer Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Coco Garden Resort
Coco Garden Resort
#11 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
383 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rung Arun Resort
Rung Arun Resort
#16 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
At Beach Bed & Bar
At Beach Bed & Bar
#45 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phangan Island View Hotel
Phangan Island View Hotel
#8 of 133 in Ko Pha Ngan
165 reviews
1.3 mi away
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
#1 of 367 in Ko Pha Ngan
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charm Beach Resort

Property: Charm Beach Resort
Address: 101/2 Moo 1 | Baan Tai Rd, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Charm Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charm Beach Resort is a classic Thai beach resort with an authentic feel. The resort has been around for almost thirty years and is well known to the island. During this time, the bungalows and the other building have changed, but the wonderful, relaxing beach has stayed the same. Today the resort is a perfect blend of tradition and modernity, with classic rustic beach huts complimented with AC, WiFi and a guest swimming pool. The resort contains 32 room and bungalows, and a popular restaurant. The centrepiece is an idyllic treehouse, set in one of the trees on the beach, with its own balcony for enjoying the sunset. We have one of the widest beach strips of any resort, on the entire island. This is the where beach activities, such as yoga, beach volleyball, fitness classes, SUP boarding and massage, take place. In the evening, we offer BBQs, music and cocktails in our beautiful beach bar. For the young ones, there's a playground in the shade, and we hold regular movie nights on the beach. We hope you come to visit us, and this marvellous place, on one of Thailand's most spectacular islands. There's so much more to Koh Phangan than the full moon party. Be sure to ask about special day trips that we offer to the jungle, the ocean or the mountains. The resort has been under new ownership since May 1st 2014 and is now managed by a Swedish-owned company who are undertaking a facelift and modernization of the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Charm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing