We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I owe them my right foot!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shambhala Bungalow Village
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I owe them my right foot!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

It's always hard to pick that special place on the beach when you're reading reviews from thousands of miles away. I liked what they offered via their website with quiet times as we were not of the full moon crowd. This place is indeed very laid back, if you want something just ask for it or find someone. We stayed 3 nights and had such a lovely time. Our bungalow was nice although our A/C did't work so they reduced our rate which was very nice. The location, the views were unbelievable. We kayaked out to a little island which was super cool. The food was great, the other guests were really cool and a special call out to the staff Jon, Thomas and Daha.

My special special callout to Daha because when I arrived I had just stepped on a sea urchin in Koh Samui and was miserable and in pain. I was desperately trying to find a doctor or hospital but was laughed at in Koh Samui being told this happens all the time. Nonetheless I was in agony and Daha offered to help get some of the spines and poison out. She shows up with a hammer and some lemons and I thought "what the hell am I getting myself into here?" But she was soooo amazing and spent 2 nights hammering my foot for about 15 minutes, putting lemon and a home made remedy to ease the pain and IT WORKED! I am forever in debt to Daha! I came to Shambhala limping and wimpering and left skipping and happy!

And another special callout to Thomas who was just so friendly and adorable.
Please stay here for some nice relaxation and chill time!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lewoodsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    23
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
100
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We booked a bungalow here for 3 days in advance. Although overall the place is cute, we really had to try our best to get a "hello" or "welcome" from the bored looking staff (Except for Sen, a man a few words who actually gets things done). The second day, the staff decided to close not only their restaurant/bar for the entire day without notice but also their 'lobby', making any inquiries impossible. To top it off, there was a construction site just next door: I love the sound off drills in the morning!
We were glad to leave (no "goodbye" or "thank you for staying with us" either) and went to a much better and not overpriced place like this one.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicolas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

couldn't wish for anything else.. got there by luck - stayed for the pleasure.. all comforts included from sala to bungalow; easygoing, chilled & nice crew. merci spécialement pour jon's extra taxi service! :)
and the perfect location.
heilandsack!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sefari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringsted, Vestsjalland, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Shambhala is the best "simpel life" place hve stayed on our 50 hollydays on 20 year.

easy living on the beach

good food all day

very nice peaple

dogs and cats "if you want"

the sunset :-)

again the people is very Helpfull, with everthing and always with a smile , And Carlo is like an old friend :-) . not to forget The Women never got her Name ;-) but she is the "best"

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob Riisgaard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We just return from a wonderful 12 days trip to South-West Tailand, after 3 days in the deep jungle, we arrived at the Shambhala where we had booked a "family sea-view" room in what we thought would be a very cute & Lovely Bungalow village. Instead we were given a plain "budget hotel" room, with main road on one side and view of the car park and a little of the sea, on the other. Yes the whole set-up is cute and the "very small beach" by the bar is rather charming. What we did not find charming was the attitude of the swiss owner "Trevor" when we told him about our disappointment at being by the road. He very rudely told us to go and find somewhere else and not criticise his "bit of paradise", shouting in front of all the customers.Totally unacceptable lack of customer service. If it hadn´t been for our 2 boys and the time of the evening we would have gone. Not much is authentic about the Shambhala, partied-out foreigners, on their ipad, iphone,whatsap is what you will see there. The food does is fairly average. Having said that, a lovely thai lady who worked there, was very nice to us and for that, we thank her! We had a room booked for another day but prefered to stay in the Mai Pen Rai, East coast of Koh Panghan, which we couldn´t recommend enough for its beautiful beach, service and excellent food! We totally fell in love with the "Real Thailand" with its humble people who live in harmony with their country.. We found so many much quieter idylic bungalow villages that the Shambhala has long paled in comparison. If what you´re after is to get away from busy life, dig a litlle and avoid the "Full Moon party" period, away from the main touristic spots as described in the Leonardo Di Caprio "The Beach" or you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamilaee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Perfect place to stay,to live, to see,to visit, to feel. Best service, amazing food and lots of lovely people :) Honestly recommended, quiet, great atmosphere, beautiful views! Staff very helpful and easy going, area clean and tidy. We came for 4 days and stayed 3 weeks! Had to move 4 times, all bungalows perfect, apartment rooms pretty much ok too. Wish to get there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The location is perfect to relax and do nothing, it was a busy time when we were there but this beach felt isolated and untouched.

The staff treat you like family and are very inviting. They made us feel comfortable right away.

I couldn't recommend this place enough if you are looking for somewhere to relax and away from all the crazy parties on other parts of the island

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I_Konto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.7 mi away
Baan Manali Resort
Baan Manali Resort
#9 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
0.2 mi away
Sea Scene Resort
Sea Scene Resort
#24 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
#1 of 370 in Ko Pha Ngan
286 reviews
2.9 mi away
Seetanu Bungalows
Seetanu Bungalows
#21 of 370 in Ko Pha Ngan
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Sea Resort
Grand Sea Resort
#64 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shambhala Bungalow Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambhala Bungalow Village

Property: Shambhala Bungalow Village
Address: 69 / 10 Moo 4 Nai Wok, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 370 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shambhala Bungalow Village is a small resort located on the west coast of Koh Phangan, Thailand. The beach is one of the nicest on the island, a very quiet and relaxing place to be. The sunsets over the famous Anthong National Marine Park are spectacular. The port town of Thong Sala is only a 5 minute motorcycle ride away with all its charms. The Bungalows are brand new, in local natural materials, all have a clean bathroom and a big terrace equipped with the necessary hammocks. A beach restaurant, water sport rentals and free wifi available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing