We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shambhala Bungalow Village
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We only stayed for 2 nights - but wished we had had more time. The bungalows at Shambhala are beautiful and all have lovely balconies with sea views. We stayed in one of the beach side bungalows and loved lying on the hammock in the shade.The accommodation is very simple, but clean and comfortable. The village has a safe feel to it and as it is very hot you need to sleep with all of the doors and windows open to try to get a breeze. If you hate large resorts, then this is the perfect place for you. There is a lovely bar and restaurant area on the beach front which is much nicer than most of the other nearby places - people often wandered along from other bungalows to get a drink here. It was a great place for watching the sun go down with a cold beer. We did not get the eat breakfast at Shambhala as it was the staff day off on the day we were staying there, but Carlos (the owner) gave us some recommendations for other places to try. We did eat lunch and dinner in the restaurant on our first day - the appetizers were good - but the main courses were average. We had a really early start on our last morning - so many thanks to Carlos for getting us at 6.00 a.m. to take us to the ferry. Overall, a lovely little complex, very tranquil and relaxed and good value for money.

Room Tip: Loved the beach front bungalows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue_jewkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 187 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed 11th, 12th and 13th August, in a beach front bungalow. The bungalow was beautiful, lots of polished wooden, the bathroom was clean and the room plenty big enough for a couple. It was nice just to sit on your own balcony watching out the ocean. There are other cheap eats along the beach if you wish to pick and choice your dinning or you can eat at Shambhala. The beach front bungalow was reasonably priced. Please note that swimming at this time of year is very tidal and not possible at low tide. Hire a scooter and venture out for the day head north, south, east. The owner was in residence whilst we were there, made us laugh at his Swiss efficiency in a Thai system, he made us feel very welcome and even took us to the ferry.
Given that you are not able to put paper in the toilet I would like to have seen the waste bins emptied daily, other then that I was quite happy not to have our room cleaned during our stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerrycNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here last year and immediately fell in love with the place and the island. The manager Daa and the rest of the family including the owner Carlos made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived until we left. They couldn't do enough to help us. When we got home we recommended shambhala to all our friends. We came back this year for the half moon party and still love it. We have become really good friends with the shambhala family and will continue to visit . Book early to avoid disappointment .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This place made our trip to Koh Phangan as lovely as it was. The manager on duty was incredibly helpful and friendly. Our bungalow was beautiful, we had an amazing sea view. It was a very relaxing place, and the beach was great. Great value!

Room Tip: Ask about sea view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastasia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I can really recommend this place. It is only a couple of minutes drive away from Thong Sala and the Ferry Point. The Bungalows (especially Beach Front) are very nice and well mentained. You will enjoy the private atmosphere; it is very silent. And the restaurant: offers good food and drinks (a little overpriced compared to other places outside the Resort).

Things you should know before you go there:
1. During low tide - you can not swim in the sea - the water is to shallow & the beach is quiet small. There are much nicer ones around the island.
2. You will need a scooter to get around the island to visit the real nice beaches.
3. There is not much to do in the area - there are only a couple of restaurants and 2 bars on the beach (so you need the scooter to reach other places)
4. There is no room cleaning at all (they do not even take the waste away) - unless you tell them. Sheets and towels are also changed only on request.

We felt fine with all the points mentioned above and had a really nice time there (we stayed 6 nights in total).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magstk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed for 7 days in the Beachfront Bungalow and another 3 in the Seaview Superior Bungalow. Both had a wonderful view, were cosy and clean. Food and cocktails they offer in the beach restaurant is honestly one of the best on the island and the team was super friendly and helpful.
The only disadvantage is that in order to get to the deeper water, you have to swim further, or use the surf board/ or kayak. But they offer surf boards for free, so I found it more of an adventure…
I fully recommend Shambhala to everyone

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiiiiinaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The unique selling point for Shambhala is the one of the best locations of the Island. Really amazing and breathtaking.. We stayed in a bungalow directly on the beach. The bungalow itself was basic, bed was not comfortable, bathroom was allright. No AC, which was not really a problem, but i would love to have one there, so hot! Especially during the nights. If you are afraid of insects and cockroaches, not a place to feel save. I had to remove at least 2 cockroaches every day out of the bungalow.
Especially when you are staying in a direct sea bungalow for more than 5 nights (40 Euro per night), you would expect some service like new toiletpaper, wastebags and towels. It's not really a problem, but you had to ask for everything yourself. And if you did ask for something, the staff would let you feel that they didn't have time because they were too busy. I have to admit, everyone on Koh Phangan is so laidback, you have to get used to it.
Sometimes i felt sorry for the staff because they were really willing, but just unable to meet different guest orders within a reasonable time frame. I would recommend Shambhala to hire one extra staff member, just to increase the level of service a little more.
Besides the above, I would really love to go back to Shambhala! One of the best places i have ever seen in my life. Felt like you were still dreaming everytime you walked outside of your bungalow.
The relaxing livingroom/restaurant/bar is a great place to meet other travellers and share experiences while drinking a beer and looking a the great view.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wouter03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
3.5 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#5 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
709 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baan Manali Resort
Baan Manali Resort
#11 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Scene Resort
Sea Scene Resort
#26 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
180 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
Angkana Hotel Bungalows
#1 of 383 in Ko Pha Ngan
303 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Sea Resort
Grand Sea Resort
#65 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shambhala Bungalow Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shambhala Bungalow Village

Address: 69 / 10 Moo 4 Nai Wok, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 383 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $15 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shambhala Bungalow Village is a small resort located on the west coast of Koh Phangan, Thailand. The beach is one of the nicest on the island, a very quiet and relaxing place to be. The sunsets over the famous Anthong National Marine Park are spectacular. The port town of Thong Sala is only a 5 minute motorcycle ride away with all its charms. The Bungalows are brand new, in local natural materials, all have a clean bathroom and a big terrace equipped with the necessary hammocks. A beach restaurant, water sport rentals and free wifi available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing