We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice place to chill out”
Review of Lucky Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lucky Resort
Ranked #102 of 137 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I came to this hostel as there was not much availability throughout the island, but man was I impressed. Its very thailand style simple but super relaxed, friendly staff, nice pool, more than adequate accommodation for the cheap price and it was set in a quiet part of the party island which was also nice.
i have told many other travelers about this little place and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 53 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

this is a nice, family run resort. it's not about luxury, but has a snug atmosphere, and own mr pimol offers just enough service to keep his guests happy. no less, no more. get your own drinks from the fridge, use the computer, borrow the snorkel gear: nothing is a problem. the bungalows are clean, little problems were fixed immediately. the fred-flintstone hut is quite original! there is no beach, but the haad salad beach is a 5 min walk. or the owner is happy to take you to his brother's resort at haad yao, which has a beach as wel as a cold swimming pool. lucky's swimming pool was not really cold.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annemarie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Lucky Resort because when I got off the boat in Koh Phangan a tout offered me a very good deal (300B/night with free transport there). I was excited to see the west coast as I had heard it was very peaceful and beautiful, but was disappointed that Lucky Resort did not have a beach. They have a nice pool but with no cushions on the hard wooden loungers. It is a very isolated location, not near anything else so is basically your only choice for food/drinks which are of course at hotel restaurant prices. The meal I had there was decent but service was lacking. I moved on the next day to Baan Tai beach which was closer to what I was looking for.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Landed on the pier from koh Tao and got handed a flyer for Lucky Resort and 300 baht rooms, wasn't expecting too much for the price but was pleasantly surprised! Had a wooden hut on the hill with a double bed and mozzie net with a fan. The resort is really peaceful and most of the time all you can hear is the sea. The resort has a really nice pool overlooking the vast gardens. It is tucked away so you will either need to get a bike or they run a taxi from the resort every day for 100baht.

I stayed in their lowest price hut but they had some pretty nice other accomodation there, pretty sure you will find something based on whatever budget you have :-)

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Voycey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

First of all, I want to clarify that this place is in the north of the island and quite issolated. For us that was the point and what we wanted.
Most of the people come to Phangan for the Full Moon, Half Moon and all the daily parties around. It's a pitty if you loose the real island. Nice beaches and nice places to visit. For us the north was the best.

The place is AMAZING. Just in front of a small beach but not for swimming. Our bungalow had a balcony with sea views and we slept with the wonderful waves sound ;)
Also you can relax at the swimming pool watching the sea just in front of you.

Staff and people are really nice. Our advice is to rent a motorbike there (150 B) and ride over the island.

Food is also very good. Breakfasts are amazing.

They had 2 lovely dogs and they slept in our balcony ;)

For sure we'll come back!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ialvarez26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

+ friendly staff
+ comfortable rooms right near the water
+ good food at the restaurant
+ snorkel gear free to use

-a bit far from restaurants and bars, you will definitely need to know your way around a moped
- pool could use a cleaning

Very happy with our stay and would stay again

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

By mistake we happened to spend 1 night in January, 2012 in Lucky resort.
1. All what they show you on the picture is not true - you don t find sandy beach and nice surrounding.
2. The swimming pool is dirty, that is why they say as an advantage - you can use it at night - that is the only time when you don t see how dirty it is.
3. There are no window in bungalows and it is scary inside.
4. There is nothing around - closest village may be in 2 km
5. After we decided to leave the manager became very rude and offending. He was screaming on us. We were about to call the police. He refused to call us a taxi and said us to go to search on the highway, which is 15 min walking up hill.

Lucky resort almost ruined our holidays, hopefully we did not trust the manager, who said the rest of the island is very bad, and moved away.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.1 mi away
Santhiya Koh Phangan Resort & Spa
6.0 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,533 reviews
6.0 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Anantara Rasananda Koh Phangan Villas
4.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
9.6 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Resort

Address: 59/4 Moo. 8 | Haad Yao, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Beach Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $10 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lucky Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Lucky Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing