We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again!”
Review of Big Blue Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ko Pha Ngan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Blue Bungalows
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Back again!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Another great stay at the Big Blue. My 4th time in 10 years here and I always like coming back. My only area where they need to improve is on the beds/pillows. I’m pretty sure I stayed on the same bed, using the same pillow 10 years ago. Time for a fresh set guys. It’s below standard in this department.

I always just run a tab for the entirety of my stay and it’s always 100% accurate. I totally trust the staff of this place. They are good, good people. Read my other post for a full review.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachBugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    22
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Yep the bungalows need a good scrub down and some new sheets, but I keep coming back. There's something's about this beach, the staff, the island....and I'm not a Full Moon Partier. It's so laid back and the bay is awesome for just laying back and floating. The price is right for a long term or budget traveler so grab a sleep sack and try it out!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahessCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Perfect escape from the madness of the full moon. We stayed here in September and loved it. the food is so reasonable and really tasty. The rooms were basic but comfortable - equipt with plenty of bugs (most of them friendly!!) The beach is stunning and so relaxing. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamBluey1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayong, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I stayed here with a group of friends in march. We had a wonderful time and it was one of those places you hate to leave! If you are not one for basics, this isn't the place for you. No ac, no hw, bugs, nature noise... I loved it.. I hope you do too. There isn't much to do on haad yuan- its the place to come to truly relax and "do nothing!" Bliss!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meghangw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I absolutely loved my stay here, I wished we'd stayed longer. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The food was amazing and the beach was beautiful. The bungalow I stayed in was basic with a fan, but clean and comfortable. The staff reminded us to collect our room key deposit when we were leaving and had forgotten - we would have left without it. I highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to get away from the party atmosphere of Haad Rin - it's a 10 minute and 200 baht boat ride from Haad Rin.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

The Big Blue is one of my all-time favourite places to stay. I have been 3 times starting 2002 and not much has changed (unlike the rest of Thailand which has changed dramatically). The people who run the place are great. When I returned in 2006 they remembered me instantly from 4 years previous. And again in 2009. They get to know their patrons. It’s genuine.

It’s located a boat ride from Haad Rin. Just find a “boat boat” to get you there. It’s the place if you want to stay near the party, but not in the party. If you want to party, just take a taxi boat back and forth. Especially for us older folks (30 somethings) who like the quiet peacefulness, it’s paradise.

The bungalows are simple, rustic and right on the beach. Nothing luxury here. But they are suitable and get the job done. The restaurant is good with a wide variety of Thai and western favourites. Drinks are reasonably priced as is the food. The nightly movies are a fun get together for all staying there. People gather for dinner and a movie once the sun goes down. It’s a nice place to meet other travellers, so it really has that backpacker vibe.

You pay for nothing during your stay. You just give your room number for all food and beverage purchases. So you don’t need money at all until the end of your stay. I am always amazed at the final cost and how low it is. We stayed for 5 nights last time. We ate and drank well. And our bill was less than $200 Canadian.

There’s not a ton to do here. You do a lot of sitting. Reading. Swimming. You can shoot hoops or play ping pong if you want to be active. There are other great restaurants to go to as well on Haad Yuan.

All in all. This is the rustic beach front bungalows you seek if you’re not a fancy pants.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Fantastic place to stay as Big Blue is located on the beech and close to all the action at Hadrin. The food was unbelievable and best we had in Thailand. Only slight issue would be that the rooms can get very hot at night as they only have a fan but for the price you cant complain.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sod158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.0 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#35 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pariya Haad Yuan
Pariya Haad Yuan
#55 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
277 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mai Pen Rai Bungalows
Mai Pen Rai Bungalows
#50 of 372 in Ko Pha Ngan
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palita Lodge
Palita Lodge
#13 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
536 reviews
0.0 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
0.0 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Blue Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Blue Bungalows

Property: Big Blue Bungalows
Address: Haad Yuan, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 372 Specialty Lodging in Ko Pha Ngan
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Big Blue Bungalows Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing