We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An enjoyable stay, if flawed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaview Bungalows Thansadet

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Phangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaview Bungalows Thansadet
Save
You added Seaview Bungalows Thansadet to your Saves list
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay, if flawed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Seaview at Thansadet has three major things going for it, the views, the price and the food. Waking up in the morning is a pleasure, knowing the spectacular ocean views from your private balcony await you, at approx $15 a night it was incredibly cheap and dining at the restaraunt under the stars and by the fire was gorgeous. That said, there are definitely issues. The mattresses are rock hard and our backs were sore. We'd been told elsewhere to try turning the mattress but it made no difference. The walk down to the (fabuous) beach is extremely steep and treacherous and getting back up is tiring (and a bit scary in the dark). The electricity is only on between 6:30pm and about 1am which is annoying but not dreadful. The huts themselves are extremely basic and the toilets are non flusing. The baskets provided for toilet paper are not changed during your stay, neither are the towels. In light of these issues, it is not the perfect stay, but you get what you pay for, and for the price, it was well worth while.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    5
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
54
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I spent only one night in this place and it was a nice experience thank to aom. she and her brother are really nice and open mind people. she cooked us some excellent fish and drink beers thogheter on the lovely terrace. But i had a bad surprise the day after: during the night i've been picked everywere by bed bugs!! and that was painfull for the rest of my holiday because it hurts me a lot...so if y are sensitive at bed bugs better to avoid this place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ilavalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

After travelling for what seemed like years we arrived at Ko Phagnan and was picked up by 4x4 pickup. Boy, do you need it to get here! These roads are dirt tracks that frequently flood, cutting gouges out of the earth. It takes an expert driver to negotiate and we had one. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the staff and the dogs! There's one crazy one but we won him round eventually. The place itself is just beautiful. Remote, quiet, peaceful and the staff are so friendly. My friend told one of the staff members that I played guitar so one evening, under the stars and by the fire she gave me the guitar and I played a few songs. I then asked her to play and she said she was just learning but played a Thai love song, which she then taught me. I felt very privileged. The food is excellent, the views amazing and the beach is not too far away. Big thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lord Forbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

this place was so unbelievably bad that we paid the night and left. we arrived at 2pm, and left half an hour later, paying for the night to avoid any disputes. the rooms were awful, holes in the floor, walls and a window that doesn't close. safety of my belongs was my second worry, first was the fear of being eaten alive by the plentiful insects up in the middle of nowhere. the room also smelt of strong urine, i asked the hotel receptionist and she said thats normal...heat stroke is probably common place with a crappy domestic fan which will go off at 12pm due to the stingy electricity. i was close to getting whiplash on the roads to the bungalows and close to a broken leg walking down to the beach (which takes much longer than the acclaimed time unless you're bear grylls). like the other review said, transport to anywhere is at least 300 baht each and forget about going to any full moon parties. perhaps the worst thing of all is with these excessively basic bungalows you would expect excessively low prices. the hotel we went to after leaving was much cheaper, much cleaner, safer and the location was second to none with 150 baht moped rentals and had a pool! it was also right by the beach (lime n soda). do NOT stay here, unless you feel like you deserve some punishment for a night or two...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

What a fantastic place to stay. The bungalows are basic, but good value for money: you have your private balcony with an amazing view, big mosquito net, fan (electricity from 6pm to 12pm) and a private bathroom in the bungalow with a cold shower, toilet and sink. It's really all you need. The beach is a five minute walk away and you can walk to a funky bar five minutes in the other direction. The people running the park are extremely friendly and the restaurant is known as the best restaurant of the region. The views from there are amazing too! Only reason for us to leave after a couple of days is the fact that it's difficult to get from here to other parts of the island. But I highly recommend Seaview for people looking for a couple of days of pure relaxation!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Thansadet Important notice - this place is the ideal place to disconnect from the world. It is back to basics with these bungalows. There is no hot water, no wi-fi (the owner can get you limited access), no air con, scoop water toilet,electricity is only limited to the evening. Do not expect your typical accommodation facilities.

However, what you have instead is a serenic views of the sea, a quiet and tranquil place to really relax and enjoy the gorgeous views from your bungalow. This is in close proximity to the nearest beach (quite secluded for those who are wanting a quieter spot on the island) and some of the most friendliest people working here.

The only downside to this is the route as the roads are super rocky but still, dont let this get in the way of real paradise.

The beach nearby has some restaurants and there is also a bar closeby (Hide on High) where the accommodation is (also with great views). My suggestion is to try this place for a couple of nights, avoid the beer and party scene for a while and enjoy the serenity, views and chill out to the max!

Food and drinks here are reasonably priced and tasty! They also do fresh seafood from the market in the morning. Many thanks Aom and your family for your hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jason-ho-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Nice view and friendly staff BUT: the owner has changed and now it seems like the new owner tries to squeeze out the money out of the well rated bungalows. Rooms were not clean and run down. Beach is far away and you need to climb a rough way (10-15 minutes) to get there. After one night staying we decided to move to a bungalow directly at the beach (Mai Pen Rai). 190 Baht more per night but DEFINITELY worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tt-willy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Phangan
1.9 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#11 of 92 in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
2.0 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#38 of 92 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
1.8 mi away
Starlight Resort
Starlight Resort
#50 of 92 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mai Pen Rai Bungalows
Mai Pen Rai Bungalows
#38 of 309 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plaa's Thansadet Resort
Plaa's Thansadet Resort
#17 of 72 in Surat Thani
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
4.1 mi away
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
Bottle Beach 1 Resort
#41 of 92 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Bungalows Thansadet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Bungalows Thansadet

Property: Seaview Bungalows Thansadet
Address: Thansadet Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing