We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would score higher until my glasses were taken”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Beach Resort
Ranked #70 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Would score higher until my glasses were taken”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This resort is a nice enough place in a good location (within walking distance to the main town) with a very nice pool. The beach is pretty average. Our fan bungalow had lots of character and was cool and clean (although they have a real mix and match of bungalows on site). The thing that really let us down was the day before we left our room was cleaned (asked around lunchtime and it wasn't done until around 5pm so we actually didn't think it was going to be cleaned) and my prescription glasses were taken from the room. We went for a swim with me leaving my glasses on the bed then half an hour later and just after it was cleaned we came back and they were gone. We can't see why they'd take them as we had sunglasses as well in the room so we can only think that maybe they were damaged and they took the evidence? I checked with the cleaners immediately who said they didn't see them and told management as soon as we saw them the next morning (didn't seem too concerned at all). Overall its not a bad place but we felt very let down this event.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azza11Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    5
    7
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
11
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

room and bathroom was full of ants. found lizard in 1 room. only good thing is location and swimming pool. much better resorts down the road

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Holiday beach resort was disappointing stay. The information on the different web sites makes out for a good standard accommodation at a low price. The truth is it’s a low price with a poor service, ok facilities and good location.

We visited the island for the full moon party and had to book a minimum stay of 5 nights even though we were only there for 3 this wasn’t a problem as the price of the room was making up for the extra nights evening out the price. When we got there the booking website had a mix up with the resort placing us in a fan room instead of air conditioned room. The response of the receptionist was its the weekend of the full moon party there nothing I can do or willing to do. After a lot of arguing a little bit of luck as there was a cancellation and I think speaking to the owner we were allowed the A/C room that was on our confirmation email. Also the receptionist said they only require 4 nights minimum so be careful if you book here as we had to book 5 nights.

The room itself was disappointing our double bed was 2 single beds, the shower was seriously lacking in pressure, the electricity in the room would fade every so often making a hairdryer useless, the TV worked and had a reasonable range of channels. The room was generally clean but there was no cleaning by maids to give the room a once over especially as sand and ants get everywhere, and no one like sand in their beds. Food at the resort was ok good variety but the staff that serve you are useless took ages to order your food and served.

The highlights of the resort were the swimming pool and area around the resort was generally a chilled out atmosphere, the resort is situated in a good location especially for the full moon party and has enough locally to keep you entertained. the resort has great views of Koh Samui and the beaches surrounding the hotel were spectacular. The hotel did run a good shuttle service to the full moon party at a bargain price and free body painting but you don’t need to stay at the resort till 11pm like they recommend get there at 10pm theres plenty going on.

I think the holiday resort would be really nice if it wasn’t around the time of the full moon party but because the resort know you haven’t any options to leave as there is no space anywhere they play on this offering a poor standards of service which exceptionally unusual for Thailand.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The three things that 'Holiday Beach Resort' has going for it : the Pool, the AMAZING MASSAGE LADIES, and the central location, aren't enough to balance out all the negatives here.
*(It should be noted that the pool and the massage ladies can both be used if you AREN'T staying at the resort... so we wouldn't again)

The grounds were pretty enough, although it would have been nice if the attention paid to keeping the pool clean, was also paid to picking up the garbage strewn about by 21 year old's away from their parents for the first time.

We booked and pre payed a minimum 6 night stay(required during full moon) otherwise we would have left and sought accommodations elsewhere after the first night.

We were given a room with two twin beds, even after booking a Double Bed.
Initially of different heights, it wasn't even possible to push the twin beds together.
We were given a different bungalow with twin beds of the same height, after some arm twisting, dealings with surly office staff, and frankly, frustrated tears on my part.

We were told that since they were fully booked for the Full Moon Party they could do nothing to help us. But if it had "... been any other time of the month, we would have had our run of the place"
I now know why this place only books up once a month, and they seem to know it as well and over charge accordingly.

Our Bathroom smelled like stale urine, even though we washed it down ourselves nightly, as there is no room service to speak of.
The floor in the bathroom also never drained properly, and so the floor was always wet.
There was also a total LACK of hooks or tables to dry your towels or get your belongings up and off the ant covered floor.

Our water was turned off for a whole day - No flushing, no taps.

The doorways are only 6 feet high - DO NOT BOOK IF YOU ARE TALLER, it hurts when you forget to duck.

The photo's make this 'resort' seem like a nice deserted beach spot. It's not. The bungalows are all crammed together - and beware - if you book around the Full Moon
Party the average age of the other 'resort' guests is very young - book in the north end of the island if you truly want to stay away from the party crowd.

The 'Resort's' website boasts that this is a good spot to stay for a quiet visit, and yet they blast Dance tunes at the pool all day, and in the restaurant all night.

The food is edible, but the portions are small and the prices are high by comparison to even other bungalow operations right along the same beach.

Walk 300 yards north to 'Cosy Bungalow' for a better beach bar, better breakfast - and THEY have Muay Thai!

THIS IS NOT THE SECLUDED BEACH VACATION we thought we'd booked. Which admittedly is partly our fault, but partly due to the misleading information/photo's provided by the 'Resort' online.

Buyer beware I suppose - but I though a review of our experience might be helpful to others - Just be aware before you book.

Room Tip: Only book here if you are interested in meeting other traveler's 21 and younger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrankyKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We did go to Koh Phangan mainly on the recommendation of friends for the Full Moon Party but we found that the Holiday Beach Resort was (for us) a great place to stay. The bungalow was spacious and clean......that was all we expected so no problems there! We did have one night which was rather noisy due to a "disco" close to our bungalow but we went at party time so only to be expected. The pool area was also very clean and not too full and the beach was not too busy so it was relaxing place to stay. The reception did not seem to be too well organised at the time we were there but that wasn’t any great problem to us......we only needed them for check in/out. We did not use the restaurant very much as we preferred the one at the accommodation a few doors down – the food there seemed much more authentic. Enjoyed a trip to the North of the island for a bit of snorkelling - definitely worth doing. Also if you do need a doctor while you’re here the reception recommended Dr Pat in town which was definitely correct – not overpriced and spoke excellent English. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I can't understand why people don't love this place?! The communal area is comfy, has a tv with movies and some great food (panang curry is awesome). There's a pool and it's on a quiet stretch of beach and away from the mayhem and also the chavs. Met some nice people and the manager was a really nice and helpful guy. The rooms aren't great for the price, but when you're in Koh Phangan you're not spending much time in the room anyway! A room is for sleeping only and it was clean and comfortable, just not big enough for 3 people really. I would stay here again and encourage other people to! Hire a bike or jeep and see the north of the island as there's some pretty nice beaches around. Enjoy! x

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haygreenall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We only stayed here for one night, due to a full ferry on to koh tao and already checking out of our accomodaiton (Coco Gardens - just down the beach!).

We had seen the pool from our strolls down the beach and so had figured it might be a nice place to stay!

The pool is the only good thing about this place really. We had a deluxe bungalow and it was not very deluxe, lots of ants, old wood walls with holes were people have punched the walls. No sheets on the bed to sleep under, one on base of matress and then a massive towell is provided to use as a cover. We asked for a sheet and they said the towell is there for a cover on the bed. Weird!!! There were lots of mosquitos and other bugs in this place and we didnt sleep well at all!

Reception and restuarant are a bit of a joke, it took us almost 40 mins to check in despite booking online, and check out was the same. they make you pay a deposit for the room key, 300baht, and when checking out you have to remind them to give it you back.

Food is of poor standard and when we were there, there were only 3 or 4 tables occupied, and almost every table complained, one girl ordered a tomato salad, which came minus the tomato as they had run out. I ordered a BLT sandwich, which came with one piece of streaky bacon on the whole thing. Not good.

We complained, as did a lot of others, but most of the staff here dont seem bothered or were lounging around sleeping on the cushions on the floor.

They would not arrange transport for us to the ferry port for the 8am ferry, and we had to make our way into town almost and flag ourselves a taxi down.

I wouldnt reccomend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weso10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.5 mi away
B 52 Beach Resort
B 52 Beach Resort
#77 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.1 mi away
My Phangan Resort
My Phangan Resort
#51 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zoe Frenchy Resort
Zoe Frenchy Resort
#171 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
O Sole Mio Beachfront Resort
O Sole Mio Beachfront Resort
#111 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Oceanus Resort
#138 of 356 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nice Moon Resort
Nice Moon Resort
#89 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Beach Resort

Property: Holiday Beach Resort
Address: 100/5 Moo 1, Baan Tai Beach | Ao Bang Charu Beach, Thong Sala, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing