We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, food, atmosphere and management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Beach Resort
Ranked #70 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I can't understand why people don't love this place?! The communal area is comfy, has a tv with movies and some great food (panang curry is awesome). There's a pool and it's on a quiet stretch of beach and away from the mayhem and also the chavs. Met some nice people and the manager was a really nice and helpful guy. The rooms aren't great for the price, but when you're in Koh Phangan you're not spending much time in the room anyway! A room is for sleeping only and it was clean and comfortable, just not big enough for 3 people really. I would stay here again and encourage other people to! Hire a bike or jeep and see the north of the island as there's some pretty nice beaches around. Enjoy! x

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haygreenall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 30 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2011

We only stayed here for one night, due to a full ferry on to koh tao and already checking out of our accomodaiton (Coco Gardens - just down the beach!).

We had seen the pool from our strolls down the beach and so had figured it might be a nice place to stay!

The pool is the only good thing about this place really. We had a deluxe bungalow and it was not very deluxe, lots of ants, old wood walls with holes were people have punched the walls. No sheets on the bed to sleep under, one on base of matress and then a massive towell is provided to use as a cover. We asked for a sheet and they said the towell is there for a cover on the bed. Weird!!! There were lots of mosquitos and other bugs in this place and we didnt sleep well at all!

Reception and restuarant are a bit of a joke, it took us almost 40 mins to check in despite booking online, and check out was the same. they make you pay a deposit for the room key, 300baht, and when checking out you have to remind them to give it you back.

Food is of poor standard and when we were there, there were only 3 or 4 tables occupied, and almost every table complained, one girl ordered a tomato salad, which came minus the tomato as they had run out. I ordered a BLT sandwich, which came with one piece of streaky bacon on the whole thing. Not good.

We complained, as did a lot of others, but most of the staff here dont seem bothered or were lounging around sleeping on the cushions on the floor.

They would not arrange transport for us to the ferry port for the 8am ferry, and we had to make our way into town almost and flag ourselves a taxi down.

I wouldnt reccomend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weso10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

It's probably a good place for people on the island for the full moon party. I wasn't there for the party time, so the resort was full of families and couples, so not too sociable for a lone traveller.

The bungalow didn't have hot water as advertised and it was quite damp and mouldy. The staff function ok in the restaurant and for booking the boat but a bit abrupt with room booking, you're not shown how anything works.

The food was ok but not so good by comparison with the rest of Thailand. The whole of the island has a ketchup on all the tables with burger and chips way of thinking, but that's what most people who are there want.

Not much around in the way of shopping and eating.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank in_the_80s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

we had an amazing 4 nights staying here, and it would have been the perfect stay if the last hour or so put a big dent in it. we arrived on the afternoon of the full moon party and stayed on longer, and in that time enjoyed every bit of the place. about 20 minutes taxi (which they organise) to the party, and the location is great for that very reason - sure, haad rin is amazing when the full moon party is on, but i couldn't imagine staying there for the rest of the time you're on this spectacular island (it seems like it could get a bit seedy and crowded).
the resort spills out onto the beach seamlessly, keeping in line with the general feel on koh phangan of a very laidback place. the beach itself is pretty good but it's hard comparing if you are used to sydney beaches. the pool was new at the time and always spotless - being cleaned every morning - impressive! the massages were quality and for a pretty good price compared to everywhere else we went in thailand. the restaurant was a bit above average price but the quality was fantastic and the staff were extremely friendly, and not in a fake kind of way... they seemed like genuinely nice and relaxed people. the rooms are small and very unspectacular - don't come here if you're expecting a luxury room. we stayed in the beachfront bungalows which are the most expensive (still very cheap), and it's pretty much a very basic bathroom, very basic beds and a tv... but most importantly, an air con! it gets very humid around here so you want to pay the little bit extra for alot of extra comfort. our favourite part of the resort was the beach bar! a very simple hut literally steps from the water - a proper music system set up pumping chilled house/trance at night, always very quiet, quite trippy with the fluro on the walls, and most importantly, beers are flowing, and other kinds of drinks (shroom shakes are just another item on the menu). general crowd of the place is young, backpackers like us. quite a few brits when we were there by chance.
only bad thing was we hired scooters for a day which were very cheap but they tried to charge us ridiculous amounts for damage we didn't cause! don't give them your passports as insurance for the scooters because if they pull the same trick on you, you don't have much of a choice but to suck it up and pay the charges, especially if you're in a rush to leave and catch your ferry like we were.
but overall - awesome!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anto_sydswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed in holiday beach for 5 nights in a fan bungalow. the bungalow was very comfortable. the pool was a great bonus and was kept very clean. the staff were very helpful and the food was delicious! we went to the full moon party and we booked a taxi to and from haad rin which took around 20 minutes and returned every hour until 8am. we also booked a scooter which the hotel booked as well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missWoolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

In a very quiet area, few bars and shops about 15 minute walk away. We spent most of our time at the resort. Right on the beach. Great common area where you can watch DVDs or listen to music. Staff were really friendly and helped us organise day trips and boat tickets to move on, also cheap transport to Full Moon Party. Only downside was we stayed for 5 nights, and our room wasn't once cleaned. Also the bungalows got uncomfortably hot at night. Overall, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hel_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

Holiday beach resort is a place i recommend strongly. Great staff, great food, big lounge, beach bar, private beach, massage on the beach. We planned to stay for two weeks but we stayed for almost 2 months. If u are planning to visit Koh phangan u should stay at holiday beach resort. During our stay they didnt have a pool but they are building one now ;)

We will definitly go back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nasimarmandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.5 mi away
B 52 Beach Resort
B 52 Beach Resort
#78 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summer Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
V-View Beach Resort
V-View Beach Resort
#21 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Nidhra Boutique Resort
The Nidhra Boutique Resort
#22 of 383 in Ko Pha Ngan
171 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#43 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#33 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Beach Resort

Address: 100/5 Moo 1, Baan Tai Beach | Ao Bang Charu Beach, Thong Sala, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing