We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 135 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with a friend for a week during the full moon party! It was a good location not to far out from nightlife but it was far enough out that you could enjoy the peace and quiet! It was in a great location for the food market which was also good! The hotel had a lovely pool area with access to a nice beach! Also the staff were friendly and welcoming! Hotels were basic but clean but I was really happy with how spacious the rooms were and the balcony was also really nice! We stayed in the hotel not a villa and could access the free wifi from the room! The restaurant was also good for snacks/ light bites! I would defiantly recommend and would stay again! However if your a couple wanting a fancier hotel a would consider somewhere else!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 294 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed at Da Kanda twice during my 4 1/2 month travels around South East Asia because I enjoyed this hotel so much. The staff are pleasant, the rooms are spacious with large balcony and clean but more importantly the pool and beach is stunning. Having breakfast in the restaurant every morning overlooking the water was paradise. I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dinapettenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great hotel with a lovely pool with a view to the white beach (but the sea is very shallow). Nice clean rooms - AC, small fridge, TV. I like "concrete design" very much. Wi-fi is free and works only around reception.
You can stay in a villas in the garden or rent a room in the hotel. Both looks great. We had a room in first floor - and were completely satisfied, no noise...just a relax.
We ate a very nice thai food in their restaurant, saff is very friendly and helpful.
Rent a bike and go through the length and breadth of the island - elephants, jungle, waterfaals, night markets...and paradise beach in the north (Not sure - Mae haad Mae?).
Definitely recommend to all travelers - price for a night is 700Bahts when you stay 3 nights.

Room Tip: Higher floor will be the best choice - great view to the banana´s garden.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlenaSir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great hotel in Ban Tai in Koh Phangan with a nice pool and access to the beach.
Rooms were OK size with AC and balconies. Wifi is free and works in most parts of the resort (not in the rooms tho, but in the corridor, restaurant and lobby the signal was good).
Breakfast was enjoyable too, you can chose either American, European or Thai breakfast.
We also had dinner in the restaurant a couple of times and the food was very good! I'd highly recommend chicken with cashew nuts and rice!
As for the location, is close enough to the pier and you can catch a songtaew to Had Rin etc from the road outside of the hotel. We had a car, so the distance wasn't an issue for us.

Overall good value for money, clean rooms and a good restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ngohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have now stayed at Da Kanda twice and I enjoyed my stay both times. We rented a villa; the villas are individual houses with a large bed, small entry sitting area, tv, outdoor restroom, and cushioned window seat. The beach in front of Da Kanda is quiet and feels like a private beach. The pool is wonderful with a view of the ocean. The first time I stayed at Da Kanda the service personnel were extremely nice and we participated in a Buddhist holiday celebration with them. The hotel has expanded a bit since that first visit and the staff (especially the desk ladies) were a lot colder and unhelpful. The restaurant on the beach serves decent Thai food and very good western options. The wifi is pretty good although not entirely consistent.

I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want to be in a private house, choose a villa.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LB_Haze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

While in transit we stayed only one night and therefore ordered only a room for 800 Baht and not a (more expensive) bungalow.
But we expected to get at least a fully functional guest room.
Instead all was a mess. We had a permantely running toilet, the shower head was only partly working and the sink - oh my god - had a blocked drain! We experienced that only in the night bevor we went to bed, so we kept it like it is and complained the next day, but it looked like they were not interested at all, to hear that.
In the evening we had a power cut (what is acceptable at Koh Phangan), but the hotel did not started a generator, so we sit in the dark for about 20 minutes. Big resorts like this should have a (working) generator, imho.
The service was not friendly at all, we felt like we disturb the receptionist, while talking to her.
Also we were astonished to find a list of all items in the room with prices, how much you have to pay, if you make something broken. It looks like the usual guests are rather rowdies than normal hotel guests?

Room Tip: We recommend to check the room / bungalow very closely, before you accept it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcello_crystallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nice rooms, basic bathroom. Restaurant very nice with good food. 10 minute walk to thongsala, pool is excellent place to cool off. Few stray animals but are rarely any bother. Staff are very friendly in restaurant made us feel very welcome would recommend to a friend, we stayed in a villa for two nights.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CallumSc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.8 mi away
Summer Luxury Beach Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
6.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
#19 of 135 in Ko Pha Ngan
587 reviews
1.4 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
770 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#43 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort

Address: 19 Moo 1 Ban Tai Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $20 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Facing West, the resort offers an amazing sunset on the Gulf of Thailand. Kupu Kupu Phangan is a stylish retreat designed to take the island holiday experience to the next level. It celebrates the healthy attributes of the tropics with a collection of 20 villas and 2 suites designed to unite Thai artistry with modern comforts and conveniences. The resort is a place to be at one with nature in a restful setting by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakanda Villa Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing