We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best accommodation we had in Thailand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 132 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best accommodation we had in Thailand”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great hotel with a lovely pool with a view to the white beach (but the sea is very shallow). Nice clean rooms - AC, small fridge, TV. I like "concrete design" very much. Wi-fi is free and works only around reception.
You can stay in a villas in the garden or rent a room in the hotel. Both looks great. We had a room in first floor - and were completely satisfied, no noise...just a relax.
We ate a very nice thai food in their restaurant, saff is very friendly and helpful.
Rent a bike and go through the length and breadth of the island - elephants, jungle, waterfaals, night markets...and paradise beach in the north (Not sure - Mae haad Mae?).
Definitely recommend to all travelers - price for a night is 700Bahts when you stay 3 nights.

Room Tip: Higher floor will be the best choice - great view to the banana´s garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlenaSir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    94
    52
    21
    32
See reviews for
30
135
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great hotel in Ban Tai in Koh Phangan with a nice pool and access to the beach.
Rooms were OK size with AC and balconies. Wifi is free and works in most parts of the resort (not in the rooms tho, but in the corridor, restaurant and lobby the signal was good).
Breakfast was enjoyable too, you can chose either American, European or Thai breakfast.
We also had dinner in the restaurant a couple of times and the food was very good! I'd highly recommend chicken with cashew nuts and rice!
As for the location, is close enough to the pier and you can catch a songtaew to Had Rin etc from the road outside of the hotel. We had a car, so the distance wasn't an issue for us.

Overall good value for money, clean rooms and a good restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have now stayed at Da Kanda twice and I enjoyed my stay both times. We rented a villa; the villas are individual houses with a large bed, small entry sitting area, tv, outdoor restroom, and cushioned window seat. The beach in front of Da Kanda is quiet and feels like a private beach. The pool is wonderful with a view of the ocean. The first time I stayed at Da Kanda the service personnel were extremely nice and we participated in a Buddhist holiday celebration with them. The hotel has expanded a bit since that first visit and the staff (especially the desk ladies) were a lot colder and unhelpful. The restaurant on the beach serves decent Thai food and very good western options. The wifi is pretty good although not entirely consistent.

I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want to be in a private house, choose a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LB_Haze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

While in transit we stayed only one night and therefore ordered only a room for 800 Baht and not a (more expensive) bungalow.
But we expected to get at least a fully functional guest room.
Instead all was a mess. We had a permantely running toilet, the shower head was only partly working and the sink - oh my god - had a blocked drain! We experienced that only in the night bevor we went to bed, so we kept it like it is and complained the next day, but it looked like they were not interested at all, to hear that.
In the evening we had a power cut (what is acceptable at Koh Phangan), but the hotel did not started a generator, so we sit in the dark for about 20 minutes. Big resorts like this should have a (working) generator, imho.
The service was not friendly at all, we felt like we disturb the receptionist, while talking to her.
Also we were astonished to find a list of all items in the room with prices, how much you have to pay, if you make something broken. It looks like the usual guests are rather rowdies than normal hotel guests?

Room Tip: We recommend to check the room / bungalow very closely, before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcello_crystallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Nice rooms, basic bathroom. Restaurant very nice with good food. 10 minute walk to thongsala, pool is excellent place to cool off. Few stray animals but are rarely any bother. Staff are very friendly in restaurant made us feel very welcome would recommend to a friend, we stayed in a villa for two nights.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CallumSc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Spent 9 Nights here and loved it! The food was great at the restaurant and the staff are always willing to help with advise in what to do an how to get there. I was in a villa and it had a huge bed and was clean the bathroom was very basic but the hot water worked well and it was clean. Yes there are gaps around the top of the roof in the bathroom but I had no issues with the bugs in the bathroom. My AC did stop working at one point during my stay but they had a technician there within 30 minutes to repair it. I would defiantly stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NZ-B3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our room was not cleaned properly and when my wife and I went to complain the receptionist, whose name is Ping, said she was also the manager and owner, Basically called my wife and I liars. She prefered to believe her staff. She constantly interupted my wife and I so I raised my voice a little and she shouted at me. This woman is a disgrace to the hotel industry and the highest position she should have in the industry is sweeping the floor although I doubt if she could do that correctly. She doesn't seem to understand that when guests complain they do it for valid reasons. She should have at least come to our room to confirm our complaints.
My wife found large cockroaches in our shower/toilet room which were around 1 inch long that scared her so I had to catch them and throw them out.
The shower/toilet room has just grey bare plaster walls which is very depressing and should be tiled. The tap in the sink was loose and the shower heater didn't work.
The water in the swimming pool was murky, green with algae and clearly wasn't cared for as it should. I've had a swimming pool at my house in Africa for years and know how easy it is to keep a pool clear.
The hotel has potential with a fantastic location but sadly it is let down by the staff and the rooms not being completed to an acceptable standard.
Until this is recified I would recommend people stay away from this hotel. Pity because the outside of the rooms is fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenyastu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#36 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#4 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
#18 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.4 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
1.2 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#31 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort

Property: Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
Address: 19 Moo 1 Ban Tai Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Facing West, the resort offers an amazing sunset on the Gulf of Thailand. Kupu Kupu Phangan is a stylish retreat designed to take the island holiday experience to the next level. It celebrates the healthy attributes of the tropics with a collection of 20 villas and 2 suites designed to unite Thai artistry with modern comforts and conveniences. The resort is a place to be at one with nature in a restful setting by the sea.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakanda Villa Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing