We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cheap bungalow hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #20 of 137 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 3, 2012

If you're looking for a nice bungalow hotel, this is it. The whole hotel territory is covered with Wi-Fi, but connection is awful sometimes. There are insects in the rooms, and in bungalows you don't have a ceiling in the bathroom. There is no english-speaking staff from 22:00 to 10:00 o'clock. But except of this the hotel is really nice, the beach is sandy and pleasant, the water is very clear.

Room Tip: wi-fi password is their phone number
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crazynicy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 299 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

A late review, but had to put something in because of the incredible experience my husband and I had here. It was one of my favorite places in Thailand. (which is a big statement obviously). We easily walked along the beach from the ferry to Dakanda and were in shock to see how beautiful this place was. The rooms were huge with lovely outdoor, enclosed showers. There was an inviting infinity pool overlooking the beach and ocean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It is a short 5 minute walk into Thong Sala proper. It felt like we had the entire beach to ourself. There is a restaurant on site with great food and fun drinks. They can arrange to rent bikes or jeeps for the day. Taxis are cheap and about 15mins to Had Rinn if you are going for the full moon party. I would and have highly recommended Dakanda to anyone!!

Room Tip: You can pay a bit extra and have your cabin right on the beach, but you wont spend much time inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ky_the_canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I really enjoyed this place because the rooms were very nice and clean and the landscape was really pretty. They also have an outdoor pool which is beautiful.

Tips:
- Make sure to arrange and confirm your pickup from the ferry terminal before hand or you might be left paying to get there

- Eat somewhere else. They repeatedly got our orders wrong and tried to make us pay for other peoples items (apparently they people staying in our room before forgot to pay for a few things!). Also, it's pretty expensive compared to other places.

Room Tip: Do not get the two bungalos that are close to the hotel section of the resort, people on the balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladygroove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed at this beautiful resort for 5 nights over the New Year's Eve period. I must say it completely exceeded any of our expectations.
The resort is absolutely beautiful with it's own private beach and outdoor restaurant, which dished up some delicious meals.
There is also a small pool, it's clean and quite lavish looking as it overlooks the beach.
The bungalows are simple yet very Thai inspired. There were 3 of us staying in the one bungalow so they provided a matress, which made the stay all the more comfortable. A lovely feature of the bungalow is the outdoor bathroom. It was so nice to bathe under the stars, truly a unique experience!
The place is about a 15-20 min drive to Haad Rin Beach, where all the parties are. This suited us fine as it was nice to get away from the mayhem and escape to the tranquility of the resort. It only cost 100 baht to get to the party anyway. The resort is about a 5 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants of Thongsala and Thongsala pier , so I thought it was very well located.

I think the beauty of this place really lies in the wonderful staff who run it. Honestly, they made our stay so comfortable and fun and were so helpful and friendly. They were like family once we left. It was sad to farewell them all but I'm sure that we will see them again soon.
I know if I ever go back to Koh Phangan. This is where I will stay :) You get much more for what you pay so I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Pool view, beach bungalow! Dont book anything else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Talia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This place was a great find! Super cheap around $34 per night during high season, huge rooms, huge bed, air conditioner, beach towels, bottled water, in room safe, great restaurant with breakfast included, on the beach, close to everything, great staff! I would definitely come here again!

The grounds here were amazing too. Very jungle like plus on the beach.

Juju was a great guy, very friendly and great service from him and the rest of the staff. The staff was out on the beach cleaning the seaweed 2x per day. The beach on Baan Tai was not the greatest but the beach in front of this resort was the cleanest by far.

Try the mango shake here, it was the best shake I had in all of Thailand!

Great job Dakanda, don't change anything!

Room Tip: Rent a scooter to travel around and go exploring
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

I stayed here over the xmas/nye period and had a great time.

Like the other reviews, the staff here are what make it. Cannot do enough for you. Pick you up from the pier, arranged travel/events/excursions.

I spent a couple of nights just sat at the bar chatting with the staff till the wee small hours and had a great time.

Rooms are all nice, the food is good, the private beach is lovely.Really worth a visit.

Pink, Akky, Jo jo, Sumo and another lady who I forger her name (sorry!) will be your friends all week. Great place!

James

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

I was travelling with 2 friends at end of 2010 and we booked into a place called Phrueksa a little further down the beach. After one night in the other place we had to move, it was so horrendous. We visited every place along this stretch of beach and Dakanda was the best by far. Great value for money, staff were just so lovely and helpful, they offered us a great deal on a room which was simply beautiful. The room was cleaned daily with fresh towels. The restaurant was really nice and we were offered amazing fresh seafood as well as being included in their Loi Krathong celebrations. Pool was lovely, clean and quiet when we were there. The staff even went out of their way when we left and stupidly forgot to take our passports - they sent a driver down to the ferry to make sure we had them before it left. The staff also drove to a couple of out of the way places and picked us up at no extra charge. I can't recommend this place enough. I can't believe we could afford to stay somewhere with this service and style - usually would expect to pay a lot more. Plus it is right on the beach!

Room Tip: The beach view room is amazing if you can afford to splash out a bit. All rooms are max 2 minutes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorsdol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#37 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
250 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
0.1 mi away
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
#22 of 137 in Ko Pha Ngan
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,546 reviews
0.7 mi away
V-View Beach Resort
V-View Beach Resort
#24 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
173 reviews
6.6 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort

Address: 19 Moo 1 Ban Tai Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $23 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Facing West, the resort offers an amazing sunset on the Gulf of Thailand. Kupu Kupu Phangan is a stylish retreat designed to take the island holiday experience to the next level. It celebrates the healthy attributes of the tropics with a collection of 20 villas and 2 suites designed to unite Thai artistry with modern comforts and conveniences. The resort is a place to be at one with nature in a restful setting by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakanda Villa Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing