We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 132 Ko Pha Ngan B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value and great staff”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We (myself and 8 friends) stayed at Da Kanda Villas as part of our tour of Thailand. This was our accommodation of choice in Koh Phangan and it certainly came up trumps. The pool side villas were clean and quiet with AC and we felt at home from start to finish. Special thanks to the committed staff and especially Addy who seemed to be a jack of all trades during our stay, always happy to arrange every thing possible and get the BBQ going during the Island wide power cuts. This place is great value for money with local charm. The only thing that wasn't to my liking was the shallow waters off the beach requiring a 300m walk through the shallows before being able to swim in any depth of water. This is however the same for any of the resorts down this particular stretch of coast between Thong Sala and Baan Tai.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaz4077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    94
    53
    21
    32
See reviews for
30
136
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Me and my friend went backpacking around Thailand in November for two weeks. Koh Phangan was our first stop on our adventure - the Full Moon Party. We choose to stay at Da Kanda as it was far enough away from all the madness of Hadd Rin to enjoy the tranquillity of thailand in the day.

The room was lovely, we were set back from the beach towards to road but this made no difference to the stay, the room is simple with the basics - small fridge, air con, hammock on the porch and televison with a range of channels in different languages. The best part of the room was of course the outdoor shower! I've not got a problem with bugs so was no problem sharing the shower with a giant grasshopper, kind of added to the experience.

The swimming pool was fine (no green water like the previous post) and was very refreshing to have a early evening swim in!

The resturant at the hotel was great the food was lovely, apart from one but that was probably down to my personal choice rather than anything else. One evening we went for the catch of the day option - where in the morning you choose from a list what fish you want in the evening and come dinner time the most amazing meal and a very fait portion two! Most memorable meal of the whole trip.

Now too the staff ...they were great, very friendly, spoke fairly good english and helped arrange our day trip (the nature trek - highly recommend!). They also arranged our ferry-coach-ferry trip to Koh Phi Phi, something I was dreading trying to arrange, which included free transfer to Thong Sala pier for the 6am ferry. They even came to our room at 11pm one night when I managed to lock myself out of the bathroom to fix it.

Overall fantastic start to my trip, would happily go back again - such good value for money!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spanna85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

After living 5 years in Thailand we never had such a bad experience!

No shower and the water had funny smell abs color. Our ac was barely working. When we complained we've been told they will check in the morning.

At 1am tge electricity went off at 1am and the room was so hot we could not sleep. Not even emergency lights. Power was restored at 6am. We had sleepless night. In the morning nobody in the lobby.

Pool was sooo warm it felt like bathtub. Restaurant was like home kitchen with fast food thai food only.

This beach in not nice. Pick another location. In fact - go to anothet place on thailand. The whole islabd is full of rip-off places wuth no basic services. Eeach ride on pickup will cost you 100 to 150 thb. No deals to be found.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vladaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Pha Ngan hotels

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

We have stayed in a couple of places in Ko Phangan and we liked this one the most.
It looks a bit concrete from the outside but once inside it is a little gem.
First the location;At the beach and a 5 minute walk to Thongsala, where there are some nice restaurants and pubs and a good nightmarket for some delicious food.
And Thai people. After spending some time in a resort on Had Salad and on Malibu beach in a tourist-only environment in a bay with only other resorts this was quite a relief. Thongsala is a good location to explore the rest of the island.
Then the resort; It opened about 3 months ago so everything is new. They have about 20 separate beach bungalows with air con, a fridge, an outside bathroom, and satellite tv. There was wifi and a internet terminal at the restaurant for free. We paid 800 baht a night so that was a bargain.
Pool was nice, you can have a good breakfast and the staff is very friendly. Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuusWis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2010

This is a bran new hotel with a soft openning for my visit (My trip was Dec 22-Jan 10). It was a small with minimal stylish decor but full options for comfort( air con, mini bar,cable tv and hot shower for standard plus many more facilities for other room types) The room is big with an open-air style bahtroom(seperate shower from toilet) Nice and clean touch with a not too quiet ambience yet not too busy for people who seek privacy. I was on my own so I look for some place with a sense of friendliness and security and that is it!! First I booked for 2 nights for a start but got too comfortable to leave so I stayed there till the end of my trip. Tasty food and nice restaurant right on the beach with an outdoor swimming pool a step aways from the beach which offering an ocean view.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LCDThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
6.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
231 reviews
5.6 mi away
Phangan Bayshore Resort
Phangan Bayshore Resort
#26 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
339 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#17 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#21 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
739 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
Lime n Soda Beach Front Resort
#19 of 132 in Ko Pha Ngan
575 reviews
1.2 mi away
Phangan Beach Resort
Phangan Beach Resort
#30 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort

Property: Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort
Address: 19 Moo 1 Ban Tai Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute Facing West, the resort offers an amazing sunset on the Gulf of Thailand. Kupu Kupu Phangan is a stylish retreat designed to take the island holiday experience to the next level. It celebrates the healthy attributes of the tropics with a collection of 20 villas and 2 suites designed to unite Thai artistry with modern comforts and conveniences. The resort is a place to be at one with nature in a restful setting by the sea.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Da Kanda Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dakanda Villa Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing