We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for koh Phangan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phangan Beach Resort
Ranked #33 of 92 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

If you are staying here solely for a moon party then I advise you to stay in Haad Rin as you could spend a small fortune on taxis.

Enjoyed staying here but here are some pointers you may need before booking.

-stay in air con rooms.
-No mini fridge.
-No hairdryers.
-Bathroom outside with tin roof, constantly dirty due to leaves and insects.
With no hand towls.
-You need to request a room clean.
-Dogs in the restaurant at your feet while you are eating.
-No designated smoking area.
-False advertisement to happy hour. (We were informed by very nice bar man that there were 2for1 coctails, as also advertised on website. Afterwards we were told by manager that the system was crap and that there is no happy hour. Complete spoofer!

I'm not very fussy, so none of the above really bothered me except for the dogs and smoking in restaurant which disgusts me. Highly un hygenic and rude.

This place was good value for money and a nice place to stay.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank sinedublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2015

unfortunately smoking is very wide spread in Thailand, thus being the reason for an open restaurant with lots of fans , noted with the dogs but there are only 2 well groomed dogs on the resort , if you had walked either side of the resort to other resorts then you would notice that pretty much all other resorts here have several dogs along with several beach dogs , we control this within our resort for this reason .air con beach front rooms do have mini bar fridges, hairdryers can be supplied from reception, please remember this is a beach resort and not a hotel , especially at 12 euros a night the rooms are very well equipped , rooms are cleaned at the guests request even if this is every day or every few days , thus helps with not disturbing the guests after a night our partying

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
There are newer reviews for Phangan Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 477 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

A group of friends and I stayed in the resort in January 2014. There was five of us, so we booked the house option. Overall, I found it to be too expensive for what we were provided with. We also had to pay for everything on breakfast, which was annoying. The food itself wasn't too bad. The staff usually seemed a bit annoyed at general stuff, but it didn't really bother us. When we departed they seemed pretty frustrated they had to get up so early to do the room check before letting us go.

The large house doesn't have wifi, the kitchen isn't really a kitchen (but a nice big fridge) and the bathroom isn't very good. What we did like about the house was that we could park our jeep down there easily and the balcony was nice. Each room has a decent TV if you're in to that.

The pool and bar areas are nice. We played a bit of pool on the table and hung around on the beach often. It's nice to relax there with a beer or cider on sunset. The staff there were happy to give local recommendations for parties and bars to go to. When we went to full moon, we got a drop off and pick up. My boyfriend and I got the ride back, but my friends had to pay for their trip back.

On our first morning we saw a snake. We were all excited about it, please don't let it bother you!

All of the people in our group agreed we wouldn't stay there again. I think there's better options on Koh Phangan - so look around.

Room Tip: Avoid the house
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

thank you for taking your time writing a review, it means a lot to us you give us some feedback on the resort , i would firstly just like to mention that unfortunately january is a very expensive time to visit koh phangan as there is just not enough rooms on the island for the tourists who want to visit , the villa itself works out as a very cheap way of holidaying for a group or family, sleeping six people it is less than 20 gbp or 25$ per night per person , on average ,even in a hostel ,you would be paying at least 15 to 20 pounds a night per bed per night in a hostel at this time of year . the villa went through renovation earlier this year during quiet season and now also has its own personal 13m wifi router , along with a clean and clear over haul , i am very sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy your stay with us but hopefully you will allow us to make this up to you on your next visit to our beautiful island of koh phangan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were expecting good things from this property as we had read the reviews before booking. We got dropped off by a taxi at the end of the road which would have been fine if we were carrying backpacks, however suitcases were a different story, dragging them over the stones. We checked in and paid for our fan room and had no help with our cases to the room where in every other hotel in Thailand, we had help. We were shocked when we opened the fan room, it seemed the furniture was radiating heat, we couldn't even stand to be in the room for more than 20 seconds and the fan was pathetic. Very very basic room. Only suitable for backpackers who just need a bed.
We asked reception (the manager) to upgrade who told us there was no AC rooms available and it would cool down at night. Well... it didn't, let me assure you it was the worst nights sleep I ever had. We should have just moved hotels. I also got bitten to death....
The next day we asked if anyone had checked out of an AC room and he said he only had the beach front villas available, insinuating that we couldn't afford one of those. We upgraded and then the managers attitude completely changed towards us and started being nice.... I don't agree with treating your guests due to the room type they are staying in.

We were looking forward to staying in our AC beach front villa however the electricity BROKE that night so we had no AC all night. We asked about it and the staff just laughed, saying there was no electricity and clearly no back up generator....
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. Staff are rude and do not care - turned the lights off in the bar when there were about 20 people still drinking. They were not helpful at all and I wouldn't return if it was the last place on earth. Vile.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank amyhub92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2015

interesting review , I think some people are just happy when they can complain , the manager you mentioned does not work at the resort any longer , regarding the electricity ? thus was a island wide fail ,including the sister islands of koh samui and koh tao , along with one of the engineers of the electric company being killed trying to fix it , the resort offers a free transfer from the port , obviously you did not contact the resort to arrange this for you , in august 2014 the entire resort went through a complete over haul and all of the bungalows where refurbished to a high standard , but I don't think even this by the sounds of it would please you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I can't understand the good reviews that this hotel receives on Tripadvisor, but then again maybe it is OK for backpackers and young people who attend the Full Moon Party. First of all the rules about surcharges on bringing food or drink into the resort are ridiculous. Abrupt staff member at checkin. Then there was the air conditioner that didn't work properly, shocking old bed and to top it off you were instructed not to put toilet paper down the toilet and to use the wastepaper basket for this purpose. We had booked the most expensive room so I would hate to see the cheap rooms. Anyway we checked out straight away (even though we couldn't get a refund) and booked into the Milky Bay Resort just down the beach for less money and a much better resort.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Bronwyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

thank you for your review , unfortunately i didnt manage to meet you when you where on koh phangan as i was away on vacation but returned yesterday and wanted to reply to your review after talking to the resort manager , as i understand the situation , you checked into the resort but had also made a reservation at another resort also , the comments regarding rules and regulations is not a truth , every hotel in the world has a check in procedure and that is all , there are no rules just a check in process , food and drinks are not permitted from outside , this is true and the reson for this is to control wildlife within the resort , we have a very high standard regarding cleanliness and food and beverages in the rooms attracts unwanted guests ,another comment you made was regarding toilet paper ? , obviously this is your first time in asia as even in 5 star hotels this is not permitted ,even in the resort you booked after pbr it is not allowed as im well aware of . one other things mentioned was the mattress ? again , i have checked with house keeping and by myself and the mattress , along with all of the other mattresses in the resort are brand new ,maybe this was just not the type of mattress you are use to but i can assure you it is not old by any means , the last point i have to make is the air conditioning , again i have checked the maintanance rota and personally checked the units performance myself and it is in perfect working order , im not sure you where even in the room long enough to see yourself if it worked or not , so again i would like to thank you for your review again but please in future stick with facts and not fiction , hope you had a plesent stay on koh phangan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Fantastic resort located right on the beach with a nice bar over looking the sea, food was amazing (best place on the island), staff were very friendly. 10/10 rating couldn't recommend this place anymore.

Room Tip: Bungalow with A/C!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2015

thank you so much , your review was amazing and I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Amazing setting, friendly staff and lovely food!

This place is amazing value, the beach is on your doorstep and looks like something off a postcard!

I would recommend getting a bungalow with air con though as we only payed for one with a fan and ended up feeling like a sauna especially not fun when your hungover!

Would recommend asking the owner and their family for tips on where to go they were a great help to us even picking out some key points on the map of where to go for food, best place to watch the sun go down etc! All in all a great stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Chloebreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2015

thank you so much for taking your time to write such a wonderful review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights mainly to attend Full Moon Party.

We stayed in Beach Hut. The room was basic and everything what we paid for. The bed might need replacing though, but was not a big issue. Beach not good for swimming, but best for surfing. Restaurant average and pricey, but other nice places to eat in close location. Staff friendly and helpful. They helped us to hire a scooter if we wanted to explore the island. Also arranged a taxi to drop off and pickup from Party.


Overall recommended as a stay over for few nights. Good for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esidrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andyrduggins, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2015

thank you for your comments and review, your point regarding the bedding has been looked into and solved, it could have been solved a lot quicker if you had let us know there and then

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
5.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
246 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#5 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
701 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#18 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
V-View Beach Resort
V-View Beach Resort
#23 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
170 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#19 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
770 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beck's Resort
Beck's Resort
#43 of 92 in Ko Pha Ngan
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Beach Resort

Address: 111 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $13 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Phangan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phangan Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing