We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice chill out beach resort with great staff but overpriced for beachside bungalows” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phangan Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phangan Beach Resort
Ranked #26 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice chill out beach resort with great staff but overpriced for beachside bungalows”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I can't begin to explain how beautiful this place is and what a great team run it...for those two points alone I would stay again.

We spent Xmas in one if the beachside bungalows and we did feel at 4000B a night it was overpriced. For that you get a good room with great views but no added extras. We would have liked complimentary water, tea and coffee as a minimum and perhaps the rooms to have been cleaned daily as they do get a bit sandy. However we had an awesome Christmas dinner and a full days entertainment included in that price which almost made up for it.

We had spent a month in Thailand leading up to this stay and we had better rooms for a fraction of the price. I feel they have hotel prices for guesthouse quality accomodation.

If I stayed again we would choose an ac beach hut as they seemed to have been priced more competitively.

Also the bar plays quite loud dance music all day untill the early hours (or untill last person leaves bar) which although didn't bother us too much it did affect the relaxing vibe some would look for.

I would recommend this resort for young couples or groups of young people - although families with young children were there too and seemed happy.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beattle21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    112
    27
    30
    41
See reviews for
24
164
34
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

we stayed here for 8 days. Is an amazing place!!!! practically on the beach, with great service and very friendly staff.
Very good location, 10 min motorcycle ride to the full moon beach and 5 min to the market.
If u wanna party and rest this is a very good option. I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luangrisani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here with our friend after high recommendations from other friends who have stayed here before.

What an amazing place!! Right on the beach with everything you could need at your finger tips. The staff here are fantastic, very helpful and friendly at all times and happy to help with anything they can! They have a lovely pool, poolside massage salon (which was great) and lots of very cute little bungalows to stay in that are clean and tidy with a little balcony to chill on :o)

The food is Wonderful!!! We ate here almost everyday, breakfast, lunch and dinner!! Every meal was superb and served to us by lovely kitchen staff :o)

They have just completed the outside bar where you can chill there with a choice of all drinks and it's open until midnight. They also arrange taxis to The Full and Half Moon Party :o) Handy!!! The bar man is also a very nice chap with excellent customer service!!!

All together a fantastic time was had!! Couldn't fault it at all!! Even throughout a 4 day power cut on the island we were still looked after with the greatest care :o)

Thank you guys.... We will defiantly be back :o)

Carlie, Darren and Lozza :o))))

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. Unfortunately the weather was terrible when we were there so we were unable to utilise facilites such as the pool and beach.
We were upgraded for free to a beach front villa.
Room was clean and well furnished with effective air conditioner, dvd player and good showers with a reliable h20 supply.
Owners are european and some staff also native english speakers which was great. Free wifi in communal areas but because of the weather, wasn't always reliable.

Nice eatery and bar offering thai and western foods for good prices. Owners happily organised pick up from the pier as well as a taxi to take us back the following day.
Location was good for us as we didn't want to stay in the main town but maybe a 20-25 minute walk to town.

Overall, good accomm and would definately stay there again./ Hopefully in better weather and for longer :)
Overall

Room Tip: lovely private villas :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlo1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhanganBeachResort, Owner at Phangan Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
thank you so very much for your kind words within your response, i assure you i will pass on all the praise to the staff at phangan beach who are dedicated to making sure you have a wonderful holiday while staying with us ,if you are ever on this side of the world again please pop in and see us or if you need any help or ideas regarding travel in thailand please feel free to contact me directly,have a wonderful holiday and safe travels,your pbr team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed in a hut made of zinc for 450 baht,as other comments says pay a bit extra for a room with ac due to the hut is like sauna in day or night time even with a fan.hut is without hangers,table,chair,plug point or any other thing you might think should be in a normal room. Have you own bathroom but not attached to room about 10 steps from the room. It has a nice landscape,pool which you can't bring any f&b items and beach. Beer is at 60 baht which is about 60% higher than normal shops. Reception only work till 6pm which if you arrive after this time you need to search for the person in charge. Has 2 unfriendly guardian dogs until they are familiar with you. Rent a bike once you arrive at the pier at 200 baht a day caused you do need a bike wherever you stay so that it easy for you for you return to pier unless you have big bags

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nyms43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here over full moon period. When we arrived we were a day late (my fault booking the wrong dates) and luckily they still had room. We originally were booked into twin room but had none left. They offered to give us fan room or we could pay extra for beach front. Was quite a lot so opted for fan. However after mentioning it was my birthday the next day they generously gave us the beach front for nothing.
The room itself was lovely with good air con, fridge, comfy bed and tv. Shower was good and all clean. The only minor thing was the lock, a little annoying having to open an lock everytime - maybe something easier can be used? The location was brilliant, we much prefer staying in baan tai when visiting the island - far enough but close enough to full moon and close to the pier, jungle party and restaurants. The grounds are lovely and looked after greatly (more than once a day) and they have plenty of furniture on the beach. The staff were all brilliant both the Thai and western staff (sorry didn't get any Thai staff names), always would ask how you were doing. Aaron and Adam both brilliant, interacting with the guests and good drinking buddies. The lady (manager I think) also lovely and always asking if things were alright. The restaurant was clean and nicely decorated, the food we ate was good (best masaman I've ever tried) my only criticism would be too expensive for portion size for example. Beach bar brilliant and loads of different drinks, was lovely for them to have free BBQ on full moon night too. We also went on the boat trip run by them, it was good to see other parts of the island and we had a small group of about 12 on a fairly large boat. Again my only criticism would be it was slightly overpriced.
Overall we loved our stay here, one of the best resorts we have stayed at over a year long trip. I would definitely recommend Phangan beach resort and will definitely return when I'm back on the island.
Cheers guys!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebeerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We loved our stay here, it felt like somewhere we should be paying lots of money for but it was very reasonably priced. Excellent swimming pool with massage area at the side (you pay for treatments) and the beach is right infront of the hotel with hammocks and bean bags on for you to use. The food and drinks were great and the bar staff were really friendly. We stayed here while the Full Moon was on and got a taxi down to Haad Rin each night (100 baht each), we never had to wait for a taxi and we much preferred doing this than staying in an over priced and noisy hotel in Haad Rin.
The only bad things were that there wasnt many places to eat other than the hotel when we wandered on to the main road. Also you could only use the wi fi in the restaurant, there was no signals in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
5.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#34 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#19 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mac's Bay Resort
Mac's Bay Resort
#45 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#10 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milky Bay Resort
Milky Bay Resort
#17 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phangan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Beach Resort

Property: Phangan Beach Resort
Address: 111 moo 1 | ban tai, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Phangan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phangan Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing