We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay here if we visit Koh Phangan again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Longtail Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 91 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We actually stayed at Santhiya Resort which is on Thong nai pan Noi, but we came to this resort every day, as we loved this part of the beach the most! It felt so peaceful and the beach and resort is so picturesque. The food and service was great too. The only reason I would stay on Noi beach is because the village is much nicer there, and has great restaurants, but its only a 5 minute taxi ride away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank BigCez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 356 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for one week and enjoyed our selves very much. Very nice ambience and the best food! We felt well come and at home. The beach is ok but not the best, I recomend that you visit the beach right next to this one, its the best Koh phangan!I truly recommend this hotel if not just for the food :-)
/ Natalia

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nattitacubanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed twice at the Longtail Beach Resort in the summer of 2011 and in 2012. I never imagined to find another place so wonderful, so i will return there again.
If you are looking for a place with a minibar & tv, Longtail Beach Resort is not the right place.
Longtail Beach Resort is attractively basic and run almost in a buddhist like way. You are left in peace there. The location is fantastic, as it is at the quiet end of a beautiful beach, on a wonderful part of a lovely island.
The kitchen is great, and the staff are very kind and accommodating and look after you in a very genuine and caring way.

Room Tip: The rooms with ac might be preferable in the hot summer months, but the rooms with fans are also gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at these Bungalow for about a week. The Bungalows themselves are very nice, clean and basic. We had a room with a fan only, and wish we had got the air con rooms, but that was our fault.

Staff were very helpfull with our booking which we made only the day before we arrived. The price is great (just over £10 per night) and the restaurant has FANTASTIC food at great prices. The location on the beach was lovely in the corner of the bay.

The reasons for a couple lower marks are:

1) the staff were mostly lovely and worked very hard, but the male staff member who was there everyday barely smiled at you, didn't say hello and generally made me feel quite awkward. We had been there 7 days before he finally gave a cheery "hello" when we came in on a morning for breakfast.

2) we needed the internet as we were needing to book onward trains etc but the wifi didn't work unless you were sat in the inside of the restaurant (not even if you were sat outside) and it was quite slow.

3) the price of the taxi from the ferry port to the resort was 200bhat PER PERSON. This meant a round trip to other towns was 800bhat for 2 (£20, twice as much as a nights accom!) We felt this was totally overpriced, given the fact we'd paid 600bhat per person to travel from Chiang Mai to Bangkok. The taxi drivers are obviously cashing in on 'supply and demand'.

Other than those bits, fantastic resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthCliffLodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This place is a gem of a location located on a quite corner of a beach. My wife and i checked in here and stayed in Bungalow #2. The food was great the place was peaceful and the service was excellent. Part of the reason i am writing this review is to discuss how willing a caring the owner Watcharin was when a situation came up with my wife and i.

It was 6am in the morning and my wife and i had a medical emergency situation and needed someone to get us to a hospital. Watcharin got in his car and drove us 45 minutes to a hospital. He insisted on staying with us and making sure we received the treatment we deserved. He refused to take any money for the transport stating that "this is how we treat our guests, we would do anything for them and in an emergency situation i would never take money im just happy everyone is ok".

I would recommend this location to anyone!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BabyJ1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We, a family of 4 (ages 38, 34, 13 and 7) visited Thailand and Koh Phangan for the first time this june/juli.
We were picked up in a 4x4 taxi in Thong Sala and drove for about 40 mins to get to the hotel at Thong Nai Pan Yai beach. First impression of the grounds was great. Its gardens are well kept and its surroundings are just pure paradise, with the sea, the beach, the jungle and the mountains.
We had 2 bungalows, number 1 and 11. They were pretty basic, but absolutely good value for money. There wasnt any luxury about it but it had what U need - only thing I missed was beachtowels. We are use to hotels having beachtowels, so We didnt bring any. We had to buy 4, 1 for each, in the village. It was a bit pricey, cheapest ones was 400THB a piece.
As We just came from a big, busy resort on Samui with poolare and everything, We were a bit nervous that We would get bored staying here for a week. But that was no prob, We, kids and adults alike, instantly adapted to the slow, relaxing pace. And We were NEVER bored.
We also went on a couple of trips round the island and the reception was very helpful in presenting Us with different options.
Over the week We made friends with the staff, especially Myatt and the tiny Burmese girl with the big smile (sry cant remember the name) Watcherin (or Mister A), Who's the owner of the place, are on the resort every day, ready to answer questions and help taking care of whatever need U may have. We always felt that the owner and staff gave Us the best service and advice, They didnt just think off how They could get money out of your pockets. If You had a question about a tour or anything related to Thailand/Phangan it was always a good idea to run it by the staff.
The best thing was to wake up in the morning and have a view over the sea and beach. Also the restaurant was really, really good. Very reasonable prices and excellent food and drinks. The menu are both Thai and western, and everything We tasted was simply perferctly made. Im sooooooooooooo happy We found this place - how lucky can You be??!
We also met some interesting poeple among the other guests at Longtail, and We keep in contact via email.
This is simply paradise, and I'd go back tomorrow if I could. As a matter of fact We allready booked for 10 days in april '13.
We miss U Longtail.....

Room Tip: The closer U to the beach, the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kim Krogh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Came here to stay and was hoping for one of the beachfront bungalows but alas we left it too late to book but they did put us on standby if they had a no show. Instead we stayed in one of the other bungalows (#14) and it was superb.

I spent most late afternoons lying in the hammock reading while the wife went for a walk on the beach. Brilliant shower and bathroom and comfy bed as well...

The restaurant does an excellent masaman curry so don't forget to try if you visit as well as trying some tasty pancake options for breakfast.

Staff were excellent, resort was top notch, location was everything being at one end of the beach so away from any late night bars but closer enough to be at them in 5 mins walk if you want.

Will defo be back soon :)

Room Tip: Aim for room #1 right on the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamkat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
0.4 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#39 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pingchan Beach Resort
Pingchan Beach Resort
#15 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
165 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
1,515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Havana Beach Resort
Havana Beach Resort
#25 of 91 in Ko Pha Ngan
446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panviman Resort - Koh Pha Ngan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longtail Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longtail Beach Resort

Address: Moo 5 Thong Nai Pan Yai Beach, Ko Pha Ngan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#4 Family Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range: $18 - $23 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Longtail Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longtail Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing