We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Manali Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Baan Manali Resort
Ranked #9 of 89 Hotels in Ko Pha Ngan
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

Me and my boyfriend stayed here in August for a few days. We was travelling around the islands so needed somewhere cheap to stay. When we got to Baan Manali we was pleasantly surprised, as it was a nice quite hotel with only a small amount of huts. Making the hotel very intimate. It had a lovely beach and although the water wasnt very clear, it was hot and had a nice view.

The rooms were basic but clean and had everything you needed. You got what you paid for and more. We stayed in a hotel in Koh Toa for the same price and it had nothing on baan manali. The location was also perfect as it was close to the town but quite in the evenings.

The thing that really made the resort great were the owners. They were very helpful when you needed them but wouldnt constantly hassle you. I loved their relaxed approach and their way of life! They were very lovely people.

The breakfast was the best we had out in thailand and although we didnt eat here of an evening im sure it would be equally nice. The only thing the hotel could have done with was a swimming pool but i was told there were plans to build one in the near future. If you are travelling and looking for a small hotel to stop at, where you can go out and do your own thing the Baan Manali is perfect. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annasweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    93
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
54
219
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Awesome place. Bungalows are very clean & pretty. Very comfortable. Staff are great & the owners are always very helpful. Really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pequina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

GREAT People, Great Rooms, Great Price, Great Location.
Tasty French and Thai Food too.
Staff very helpful, ensured all our needs were met.
Close to Thong Sala with it's many shops and restaurants.
Can't wait to go back for longer next time.
Beautiful beach with sunset views.
Had a fun time renting a Hobie Cat sailboat there too!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2010

Yes, it is clean, close to the beach and the pier. But the bungalows are small, no extra's, nothing that special. We've seen more special resorts on the island and travelled around in Thaliand for one month now know that this place is too high evaluated. Main point is that with a more service and hospitality oriented attitude of the (French) owner, more knowledge understanding of local culture and willingness to really help us we would have got a more welcome feeling. EG no 'hello', no 'goodbye', no 'how can I help you'; he just sat behind his desk, very distant. A more outreaching, customer focussed treatment is what this place needs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2010

The beahc huts we stayed in were very well built. We had a double room with mosquito net, A/c and hot water, which was very well priced. The huts were very well designed each with its own hammock on the decking area. Baan manali is excellent location for Thong Sala pier (10 mins walk) and the main shopping and eating area (10 min walk). Also excellent location for the full moon party if you want to attend but don't want to stay on haad rin. Tours can be booked from the main shopping area as can transfers. The beach is not great here as it is not cleaned and the tide was always low when we stayed.

Breakfast was included but took a long time to arrive due to the lack of electricity, but thats expected on the islands. We would stay again if we return to Koh Phangan.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pri14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

I think the title sums it up really.

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of May 2010 to take in a full moon party at Haad Rin beach, which is easily accessible from here (10 minutes in a cab). However, despite being so close to the craziness of Haad Rin, Baan Manali is as relaxing and peaceful as you could want. Although the beach isn't immediately great for swimming, it's very easy to walk out past the sandbar the causes a natural cove to get to the open sea - or even better, you can take a sea kayak out over to a nearby deserted island.

The facilities are fantastic as well, especially considering the price is already very reasonable. Very clean, modern huts with superb beds, a/c and a hammock. The restaurant and bar also do really good home cooked food.

Couldn't ask for more to be honest.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wateja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

If you're looking for a great place to stay on Koh Phangan then look no further. We stayed at Baan Manali for three nights. The rooms were great, the location superb. A ten minute walk brings you to the town at Thongsala pier where we had some of the best food of our entire stay in Thailand at the night market. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenomaniaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Pha Ngan hotels
2.9 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#3 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
6.7 mi away
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
#8 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Phangan Beach Villas and Spa by l'Occitane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tantawan Bungalow
Tantawan Bungalow
#11 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
6.6 mi away
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
Buri Rasa Koh Phangan
#1 of 89 in Ko Pha Ngan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
5.9 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Manali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Manali Resort

Property: Baan Manali Resort
Address: 210/20 Moo 1, | Ao Nai Wok, Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Pha Ngan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Pha Ngan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Manali Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at only 10 min walking from the main village of the island, Baan Manali Resort is a quiet and relaxing nest, surrounded by coconut trees, facing the lagoon. Spread in a tropical garden, our 11 cozy bungalows, built in traditional way, offer all the modern comfort (AC, hot water, new beds, private balcony and hammock). At our bar-restaurant facing the sunset, you will enjoy our cocktails, family Thai cooking or European dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Baan Manali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Manali Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing